We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & quiet - beware of parking charges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & quiet - beware of parking charges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable but not much nearby as located in a business park although very convenient for highway. Staff were generally helpful and food could be ordered by them for delivery from local pizza, Thai, Chinese etc. parking is charged nightly but sadly no concession for motorcycles. Shuttle bus really useful to airport to get train to Amsterdam. Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    169
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
27
103
30
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was a good quality hotel and very clean with a nice staff. It is at a good location for airport layovers. The train to the city centre is close by. We will use it again when we are traveling through Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I came too this hotel with my college on a trip too see the flower market in Amsterdam .
The location was a few train stops from the airport and about 20mins train ride from Amsterdam , the train station was within a 5 min walk and you were in Amsterdam before you knew it just take lots of coins then do not expect notes and cards in most of the train ticket machine and if you buy from a person at they charge you more for a train ticket due to service charge as I found out.
The hotel itself was very clean being only few years old I think. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was great. I recommend this hotel for bussiness people or anyone who wants too be out till midnight and no later in Amsterdam as train will stop running by then and will have too pay at least 60 euros for a cab as we asked the cost.
So if you our in a party night to Amsterdam I do not recommend this hotel as be too fat to get back to your bed after a night out.
But Amsterdam I recommed for sure I loved and will go again and I think would even come to the hotel again depending who I am with . But around the hotel itself you have one restaurant and the rest of the area is just office blocks so really you do need to get the train everyday too get some life.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

No H I cinnamon rolls. Warm milk. Bland food. Hotel room was nice and service was good but breakfast left a lot to be desired. That's it. Rest of this is here just to hit the two hundred character expectation for reviews, which is a nonsense requirement.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear TexRex,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned the good quality of your room. However, I was disappointed to read about your disappointing experience at our breakfast. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate department and we welcome any opportunity to improve.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The excellent service of the staff in this hotel was really amazing. All of them were super friendly, the shuttle drivers who picked us up and drop us in the airport (complimentary drop off and pick up), the lady in the reception, they were all helpful and approachable. They are a great asset of this hotel. The breakfast which was part of the package are also good. We will stay once again when we travel back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed one night during a layover. Close to airport, short ride, complimentary shuttle, all and all a pretty good place to stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. Included breakfast was good, typical fare.

We walked into the town area, about 10 minutes. Restaurants, bars and shopping areas with an outdoor mall with most stores and services. Its not open Monday mornings. Nice park on way to restaurants, provided bikes from hotel if you wanted, safe and wide walkways, separate bike lanes and roads. A good place to spend a layover but probably not a place to spend more than a couple of nights

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

but it is an airport hotel in Europe, so everything is far more expensive that the same quality accommodations in the US. The posted rate the day we stayed was 249 Euros which was about $330 US. Fortunately, we had booked online & found a rate of $170. Though fare more than a HI Express property could even remotely expect to charge in the US, it was far less than the posted rate. The property itself is nice & pleasant, & while the website does promote their airport "shuttle" service, do NOT confuse that claim with REAL shuttle service. The hotel shuttle runs ONLY 1 time each hour, at 15 minutes before the hour & that is it. If you miss that one, you are on your own. When arriving at Schiphol, the shuttle will be arriving FROM the hotel almost on the hour, so if you miss it, then you have a full hour to wait for the next one. Don't know how they advertise "airport shuttle" service with a straight face. The website also claims you can "walk" to the nearest train station to go into Amsterdam, but the front desk clerk to us that was not advisable, since after walking to the nearest station, you merely RETURN to the airport, before going into Amsterdam, so the advice was to take the shuttle BACK to the airport & then take the train into town, which was also less expensive. Overall the hotel was nice, very clean & had very helpful personnel on duty. The breakfast was better than US HI Express properties, with far superior coffee, which is typical of American Chain hotels in Europe. Rooms are much smaller than the US, but for an overnight there was no complaint other than cost.
As a heads-up: Ask the front desk personnel about the restaurant that is about a 10 minute walk away, next to a children's petting farm, which has outdoor seating & a lovely staff. A VERY pleasant place to pass an evening, & even though we did not eat there, all the food we saw served looked very nice, & the prices were, to our surprise, significantly lower than in Amsterdam. Can't remember the name of the place, but the front desk staff referred us there & we were very appreciative.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.