We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ugh Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

No H I cinnamon rolls. Warm milk. Bland food. Hotel room was nice and service was good but breakfast left a lot to be desired. That's it. Rest of this is here just to hit the two hundred character expectation for reviews, which is a nonsense requirement.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear TexRex,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you mentioned the good quality of your room. However, I was disappointed to read about your disappointing experience at our breakfast. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate department and we welcome any opportunity to improve.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    172
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
29
104
30
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The excellent service of the staff in this hotel was really amazing. All of them were super friendly, the shuttle drivers who picked us up and drop us in the airport (complimentary drop off and pick up), the lady in the reception, they were all helpful and approachable. They are a great asset of this hotel. The breakfast which was part of the package are also good. We will stay once again when we travel back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed one night during a layover. Close to airport, short ride, complimentary shuttle, all and all a pretty good place to stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. Included breakfast was good, typical fare.

We walked into the town area, about 10 minutes. Restaurants, bars and shopping areas with an outdoor mall with most stores and services. Its not open Monday mornings. Nice park on way to restaurants, provided bikes from hotel if you wanted, safe and wide walkways, separate bike lanes and roads. A good place to spend a layover but probably not a place to spend more than a couple of nights

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
214 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

but it is an airport hotel in Europe, so everything is far more expensive that the same quality accommodations in the US. The posted rate the day we stayed was 249 Euros which was about $330 US. Fortunately, we had booked online & found a rate of $170. Though fare more than a HI Express property could even remotely expect to charge in the US, it was far less than the posted rate. The property itself is nice & pleasant, & while the website does promote their airport "shuttle" service, do NOT confuse that claim with REAL shuttle service. The hotel shuttle runs ONLY 1 time each hour, at 15 minutes before the hour & that is it. If you miss that one, you are on your own. When arriving at Schiphol, the shuttle will be arriving FROM the hotel almost on the hour, so if you miss it, then you have a full hour to wait for the next one. Don't know how they advertise "airport shuttle" service with a straight face. The website also claims you can "walk" to the nearest train station to go into Amsterdam, but the front desk clerk to us that was not advisable, since after walking to the nearest station, you merely RETURN to the airport, before going into Amsterdam, so the advice was to take the shuttle BACK to the airport & then take the train into town, which was also less expensive. Overall the hotel was nice, very clean & had very helpful personnel on duty. The breakfast was better than US HI Express properties, with far superior coffee, which is typical of American Chain hotels in Europe. Rooms are much smaller than the US, but for an overnight there was no complaint other than cost.
As a heads-up: Ask the front desk personnel about the restaurant that is about a 10 minute walk away, next to a children's petting farm, which has outdoor seating & a lovely staff. A VERY pleasant place to pass an evening, & even though we did not eat there, all the food we saw served looked very nice, & the prices were, to our surprise, significantly lower than in Amsterdam. Can't remember the name of the place, but the front desk staff referred us there & we were very appreciative.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

stayed here for two nights while on a europe tour, though its a budget hotel, they have good service..nick and katernka(sorry if i misspelled her name but were just amazing and hospitable. They also have a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport which we makes our access whenever we wanted to visit the Central Part of Amsterdam. It was a lovely two nights stay and will definitely stay again once i return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, MN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Reasonably priced and near Schipol (five minute shuttle). The location worked well to shuttle back to Schipol and catch the main route of the trains to Amsterdam Central for sightseeing, but I wouldn't recommend the location if you are staying more than a day. In that case, stay in Amsterdam itself. But, a decent rate and the promixity to fly out was great.
Breakfast was included and a typical European breakfast is served. Simple rooms (remember this is an Express), WIFI had a strong signal and is included, friendly staff, very quiet area, simple refreshments cooler available in the lobby too. Was not impressed with the particular mattress I had though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Christopher P,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you like the location of our hotel, the complimentary breakfast and WiFi connectivity. It is however, regrettable that the mattress was not to your liking. Please know that we take all feedback very seriously as this is our best resource for improvement.

If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nedless to say that with this Hotel Chain you always get more than you pay, hotel cleanliness, room confort, excellet personnel and free transfer to and from Schipoll airport. Definitively my first choice everywhere i tavel worldwide.

Room Tip: Rooms are all standard and premium rate, enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.