We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service in an express way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quality service in an express way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The excellent service of the staff in this hotel was really amazing. All of them were super friendly, the shuttle drivers who picked us up and drop us in the airport (complimentary drop off and pick up), the lady in the reception, they were all helpful and approachable. They are a great asset of this hotel. The breakfast which was part of the package are also good. We will stay once again when we travel back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    141
    43
    19
    6
See reviews for
25
84
27
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed one night during a layover. Close to airport, short ride, complimentary shuttle, all and all a pretty good place to stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. Included breakfast was good, typical fare.

We walked into the town area, about 10 minutes. Restaurants, bars and shopping areas with an outdoor mall with most stores and services. Its not open Monday mornings. Nice park on way to restaurants, provided bikes from hotel if you wanted, safe and wide walkways, separate bike lanes and roads. A good place to spend a layover but probably not a place to spend more than a couple of nights

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
207 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
416 helpful votes 416 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

but it is an airport hotel in Europe, so everything is far more expensive that the same quality accommodations in the US. The posted rate the day we stayed was 249 Euros which was about $330 US. Fortunately, we had booked online & found a rate of $170. Though fare more than a HI Express property could even remotely expect to charge in the US, it was far less than the posted rate. The property itself is nice & pleasant, & while the website does promote their airport "shuttle" service, do NOT confuse that claim with REAL shuttle service. The hotel shuttle runs ONLY 1 time each hour, at 15 minutes before the hour & that is it. If you miss that one, you are on your own. When arriving at Schiphol, the shuttle will be arriving FROM the hotel almost on the hour, so if you miss it, then you have a full hour to wait for the next one. Don't know how they advertise "airport shuttle" service with a straight face. The website also claims you can "walk" to the nearest train station to go into Amsterdam, but the front desk clerk to us that was not advisable, since after walking to the nearest station, you merely RETURN to the airport, before going into Amsterdam, so the advice was to take the shuttle BACK to the airport & then take the train into town, which was also less expensive. Overall the hotel was nice, very clean & had very helpful personnel on duty. The breakfast was better than US HI Express properties, with far superior coffee, which is typical of American Chain hotels in Europe. Rooms are much smaller than the US, but for an overnight there was no complaint other than cost.
As a heads-up: Ask the front desk personnel about the restaurant that is about a 10 minute walk away, next to a children's petting farm, which has outdoor seating & a lovely staff. A VERY pleasant place to pass an evening, & even though we did not eat there, all the food we saw served looked very nice, & the prices were, to our surprise, significantly lower than in Amsterdam. Can't remember the name of the place, but the front desk staff referred us there & we were very appreciative.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here for two nights while on a europe tour, though its a budget hotel, they have good service..nick and katernka(sorry if i misspelled her name but were just amazing and hospitable. They also have a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport which we makes our access whenever we wanted to visit the Central Part of Amsterdam. It was a lovely two nights stay and will definitely stay again once i return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Reasonably priced and near Schipol (five minute shuttle). The location worked well to shuttle back to Schipol and catch the main route of the trains to Amsterdam Central for sightseeing, but I wouldn't recommend the location if you are staying more than a day. In that case, stay in Amsterdam itself. But, a decent rate and the promixity to fly out was great.
Breakfast was included and a typical European breakfast is served. Simple rooms (remember this is an Express), WIFI had a strong signal and is included, friendly staff, very quiet area, simple refreshments cooler available in the lobby too. Was not impressed with the particular mattress I had though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Christopher P,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you like the location of our hotel, the complimentary breakfast and WiFi connectivity. It is however, regrettable that the mattress was not to your liking. Please know that we take all feedback very seriously as this is our best resource for improvement.

If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nedless to say that with this Hotel Chain you always get more than you pay, hotel cleanliness, room confort, excellet personnel and free transfer to and from Schipoll airport. Definitively my first choice everywhere i tavel worldwide.

Room Tip: Rooms are all standard and premium rate, enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is located a few miles from Schiphol airport in a place called Hoofddorp. We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend and as it is on a business park, it was very quiet indeed.

The hotel operate a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport every 30 minutes and it is important to book when going to the airport as it can get full.

Travel into Amsterdam Centraal costs EUR 4 from Schiphol station by train. The ticket machines do not accept notes, only coins and cards. If you travel from Hoofddorp station, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, the cost is EUR 4.80 but the ticket machine only takes coins or Dutch cards.

The rooms were clean and functional and the breakfast was quite basic but adequate. There was a choice of packaged meats and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, juices, hot beverages, pastries, breads and toast.

The hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner, with L'Hirondelle being the nearest option nearby. It does have a small bar.

Whilst I would happily stay at the hotel for a brief stay again, it's probably worth getting a hotel located in the centre of the city if you're staying in Amsterdam for any length of time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.