We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport, modern and clean, but service lacked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hoofddorp
Marin County
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport, modern and clean, but service lacked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bed was uncomfortable and in poor shape. I saw down on lower end and it sagged to the point of collapse.

Hyper-modern design of room. Functional enough. No American style outlets.

Poor elevator maintenance. 2 inch gap between elevator and room level on ground floor.

15 euros to park at a Holiday Inn Express? The clerk said they all charge for parking in the Netherlands. The staff were there to collect money, in a polite way. They made no effort to be helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    145
    43
    19
    6
See reviews for
25
84
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel overall was very good,the staff were excellent. The bed was awful very uncomfortable and the breakfast was very average. We knew the hotel was about 20 minutes from Amsterdam on the train, however trying to get change for the ticket machine at the station was a nightmare. If I return to Amsterdam I would stay in the city itself as when you add the train fares to the price of the hotel it isn't as reasonable as you think

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Airport hotels, like all other lodging, probably exert the greatest effort to keep their guests safe. Right up there with safety for an airport hotel is getting the wake-up call right. Bring a wake-up device to this property!

Luckily we awoke by ourselves, about 35 minutes after the wake-up time we had requested, but in time to get some breakfast, board the shuttle, and get to Schipol. The hotel does not provide alarm clocks, so bring your own. We would definitely stay here again, but not without our own wake-up equipment.

Hoofddorp is a short walk from the hotel. There are shops and restaurants, even a shopping mall. The hotel provides a list of restaurants, and a map of how to get to them. There is everything you need in an airport hotel for that one-night stopover...except a wake-up guarantee!

Many TA contributors have criticized the hotel's charging for the shuttle ride to the airport. First, a word on how to get to the hotel from Schipol. At the airport, outside at the curb, there is a metal device with buttons. Press the Holiday Inn Express button, they answer, and they tell you when to expect the free shuttle. As for the trip to the airport, someone has to pay for the van, the fuel, and the driver. (We noticed that no one else tipped the driver.) They can raise the lodging rate or charge for the shuttle.

Perhaps Priority Club members could get a lower rate, pay with points, or get points for the shuttle fee. There could be some joining enticement from non-members: join, and your shuttle ride will cost less, or nothing. But somehow they have to pay for that ride.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel itself was lovely, staff were very welcoming and friendly. When we arrived we had a little trouble with the key for our room, but as I said staff we're friendly and couldn't apologise enough. Rooms are fabulous, smart and modern, with everything you need. Although when I booked I specifically asked for a double bed and on our printed receipt it had in capitols "DOUBLE BED PLEASE", and we had two singles, but we didn't mind, we just pushed them together. If you've forgotten anything i.e toothbrush, razor etc they have complimentary ones you can ask for at reception. We also ordered a takeaway through the reception which was very good. Breakfast is lovely also, plenty of choice and the staff were always stocking up with more fresh food! Couldn't fault the hotel itself, although we didn't realise it wasn't all that near Amsterdam central. There's a train station which is about a 5/10 minute walk from the hotel, but to buy a ticket to Amsterdam Centraal (which is roughly 9 euros pp) you have to have coins which was a bit of a nuisance. We once asked the staff at the hotel for change for the train and she couldn't change 20 euros for us so she said we could use the hotel bus, which is usually 8 euros each but she'd let us go for free as she didn't have any change - but apparently it's meant to be complimentary anyway. You can also get a taxi to Amsterdam Centraal (which by the way is about 20 minutes on the train) and they charge 60-70 euros for one way!!!!!!! So if you're travelling to Amsterdam Centraal, I'd suggest the train, we got the hang of it quite quickly and once we did it once we found it really easy during the rest of our stay. On a whole this was a very lovely hotel for a short city break, had everything we needed and staff were fab. I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was fab. Hotel is generally quite quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with excellent rooms, good breakfast.

It is a few miles from Schiphol Airport but only a 10 minute walk to Hoopdorf rail station for good access to Amsterdam centre.

The hotel blurb says " complimentary shuttle from Schiphol airport". The shuttle from the airport worked well on arrival. BUT, on check out and using shuttle to get back to the airport they CHARGE 8 euros per person to use the shuttle. We think this is disgusting. We got to the hotel complimentary, so why charge to get back ?? This is simply outrageous. There is no other option if with baggage except getting a taxi which can charge in excess of 40 euros. As a gold priority club member I think they are not giving a good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had just returned from a tiring trip to India and Nepal and needed some rest and familiar comforts for a couple of nights close to Schiphol....this property did not disappoint !!

Very quiet, efficient shuttle, local amenities, wifi, excellent staff / service and delicious breakfasts !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The key positives are it's a nice modern hotel, staff always pleasant both at reception and breakfast. There's a free shuttle from the airport (5-10 mins)
Not sure if it's free going back, we get the train as we work near the hotel €2.30 back to the airport or stay on to Amsterdam.
Quiet location on a business estate.

The key negative is known to the staff and that's the mattresses being too soft. I guess it's not something you can fix easily. I do struggle to get a decent nights sleep and it's a new hotel so clearly a manufacturing issue.

Room Tip: This is a tip for dinner as there's no restaurant in the hotel. L'Hirondelle is a 5 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear StocktonHeath,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to see that you found our hotel nice and modern and staff pleasant. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the mattress may have caused you. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.