We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weigelia 22, 2262 AB Leidschendam, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - Greenpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leidschendam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“my stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very nice breakfast. The rooms and the hotel need some updating - paint, carpet, etc. Looks a little run down. The air conditioning in the room also did not work properly. Enjoyed the stay though and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagall_Hotels, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear George S,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are constantly updating and renovating our product including the furnishment and painting, we will share your comments in our next meeting.
Regarding the airconditioning, we are happy to fix these problems during your stay with us. If you let the reception staff know we will take care of it immediately.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel

With kind regards,

Kristel Berendsen
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    26
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
48
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tervuren
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I arrived here late at night for just one night.
Welcome greeting was standard.
Room was ok but you could see the hotel needs some refurbishment.
Breakfast was ok, great staff
Average hotel. You won' be disappointed but after just having stayed in a Ritz hotel, this was a trip back to normal life....
Not cheap by the way.
Ample parking space for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a really nice hotel and was a very nice surprise. I arrived to a very friendly welcome. Check-in was efficient and took only a few minutes.
The hotel is nicely laid out and has a good feel about it. My room on the 4th floor was clean, well organised and contained a double bed, flat screen tv with BBC1/2 and Channel 5 from the UK amongst the list. Two lounger chairs, a mini-bar, kettle for coffee/tea and glass doors onto the balcony overlooking the lake were also nice features. The bathroom was modern and contained a bath/shower.
I tried the restaurant at the hotel and it was excellent. The food was perfectly cooked. The breakfast area is served on a buffet basis and contains a large range of cold/hot food. Coffee/Tea is served by the waiters/waitresses and had a tendency to be slow at times.
Whilst at the Mercure I tried the gym, but I actually found it very disappointing. There is just one cross-trainer, one bicycle, one running machine and one weights machine. Its a very small room. It's an odd arrangement, because the changing room is not used and its as big again as the gym. I think my score for the hotel would have been a 5 if this had been better.
Overall though, I recommend this hotel if you are in the area. Its very nicely situated next to a lake. There is a shopping centre right next door as well as a good selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas_reader
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. There are many nice things about this hotel, but the best reason for staying here is the staff. They really are very friendly and helpful. Kristiaan, the Front Office Manager, was especially helpful and always asked if he could do anything for me. I had a beautiful view of the lake and park, so every morning and evening I could see the birds on the water and the people walking their dogs. The daily breakfast is really extravagant, with many choices, including smoked salmon and creme fraiche. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked this hotel by mistake and what a treat it was. The staff were very helpful and the young man on the front desk could not have been more attentive in making us feel welcome. The old town was a beautiful piece of Dutch history with great cafes and restaurants. And for the shoppers the hotel is located adjacent to a shopping mall with lots of well known brands. Free parking was an added bonus. Went to the restaurant, don't expect a cheap meal but excellent and well worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Request a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagall_Hotels, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Carlene Y,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that we surprised you with our hotel.

Hopefully we may welcome you back at the hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Kristel Berendsen
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We choose the Mercure Hotel Leidschendam for a few weekends at the beach. Though this hotel is clearly NOT at the beach, it has plenty of free (!) parking and is just max 10min drive either from the buzzling Den Hague beachfront or going further N-E to more family, relaxing parts of the beach as Wassenar. Given we knew we would use the hotel just for sleeping a few hours, we didn't need any pool, spa or children activities at all (which I think the hotel is not offering anyway). We choose this hotel cause of the (for us) good location, affordable price (c EUR80 p room p night for 2 adults and a 4Y with own roll-in bed) and good reviews from prior travellers.

Room:
We had different rooms in different times we stayed there. 3rd floor is good because no real noise from the street or parking (our room was facing the backside to the lake, not sure how noisy the frontside towards the parking area is, though I personally believe it should be ok given there is nothing to do in this close vicinity at night) but the room we had was a bit small but absolutely fine for a few nights. Seocnd time we were in a much bigger room facing directly the lake with a big balcony (room 118?). Both times the room was clean and the roll-in bed for our little son was there - as we asked for it at booking). The bathroom had a bathtub. Room also had AC, TV, one room even had a coffee machine, fridge. Beds were ok, medium hard mattress. All in all everything was good and definitely ok for a few nights if you just want to head to the beach during day time.

Restaurant:
We didn't use the hotel restaurant because we felt it to be quite pricy and other reviews said not worth the money in generally. For breakfast we felt it was a bit expensive (EUR20 p adult and EUR10 p small child). But it is not a big problem as c 200m on the lakeside there are two restaurants/bars/bistros that offer breakfast and we probably saved 50% in total. For dinner we preferred some smaller restaurants either in Den Hague or Wassenar.

Others:
Staff and reception were very, very friendly and accomodating.
A shopping centre is just across the road and a Jumbo markt only 200m away.
An indoor swimmingpool we used once at bad weather close by (5min drive) was "De Fluit". It was ok but not great.

Summary:
If you are looking for a clean, affordable but not fancy place within a few km from the beach, this is definitely worth a try. We will for sure come back if we are heading for beach weekends in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed once on the 3rd Floor (can't remember room 325/326?) which was good, overlooking parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagall_Hotels, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Andreas B,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

Great to read that you experienced a good stay.
I would like to inform you that the price of a breakfast is 15 euro on the Mercure site but when you book it at the hotel the price is 20 euro. This is because of the early booking offer. The breakfast includes a buffet with a large variaty of products.

Hopefully we may welcome you back at the hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Kristel Berendsen
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here since practical location with respect to meet the people I was seeing in this town.
Rooms where functional and fair enough, clean but no fancy dancy stuff.
Had problem w GPS since adress of Hotel got me to the end of a one way road.
Sorted that out and arrived to large parking place outside hotel.
Location of breakfast had nice view over a small lake or canal with some birds swimming in it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagall_Hotels, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Tore_Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay.
Regarding the problem with the GPS system, we are working hard to get the road correct into the GPS systems. For now it is better to insert ‘heuvelweg’ into your GPS system.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Mercure Den Haag Leidschendam.

With kind regards,

Kristel Berendsen
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam

Address: Weigelia 22, 2262 AB Leidschendam, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - Greenpark)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Leidschendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leidschendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will enjoy a stay in the modern and luxurious Greenpark Hotel. Its 84 Comfort rooms, 4 Suites and 8 business suites offer you modern and warm comfort. In addition to the Chiparus Restaurant, the Hotel also offers guests the Bar/lounge were you can have a snack or drink, a business centre, a laundry service, a fitness centre and its renowned room service. The hotel also has a free car park with accommodation for 3500 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Leidschendam
Hampshire Hotel Greenpark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.