We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of four” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259 | Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct & Save!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family of four”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Hotel, the room and the breakfast are not Holiday Inn, but being a family of four (two teenagers), the options in Amsterdam is limited, and this hotel turned out to be everything we needed. A bit dated, but clean, spacious enough (one double and two single beds) and a breakfast that easily kept us going until lunch. The eggs and bacon often a little cold and the coffee never hot, but then just have a cup in your room, cup, kettle and coffee already provided for you – although not filled up during your stay even when empty packet are left next to the kettle as a clue (stayed for five nights). Maybe you should wash the cup first though, it seems that it is only wiped with a cloth and not washed. Location is good. If you are in Amsterdam primarily for the city center, maybe you should look elsewhere. However, if the city is only on for one or two days and you are going elsewhere, north, south, or maybe to the tulip park, the location is good. The hotel provide good descriptions for different ways of reaching the city center. The city center is reached in approx. 30 min. The are two restaurants in the same building. One over our budget and the other good but maybe a little expensive for what it is, but very convenient. Burger bar and supermarket within walking distance. The airport is very close by, but the noise is not an issue. One night we went plane spotting. McDonalds nearby is one option, FedEx on the other side of the airport is another option.

Room Tip: Beeing four we stayed in the "Comfort King Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    71
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
57
65
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Arriving at Schipol , late .after a difficult train journey .we found the Novotel bus waiting , and reached our hotel without any problem .
The staff was welcoming ,room was clean and modern and the restaurant served an excellent pizza to 2 weary travellers .
Next morning after a very good breakfast we returned to the airport on the waiting shuttle .
A very convenient stop-over

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was coming to Amsterdam for work, and instead of making my way into the city I decided to stay near the airport and then make my way into the city the following day. When I arrived it was a bit confusing on where to get on the shuttle, but after a very short search I found it. You end up taking a shuttle to the Hotel Novotel, but the bus is primarily labeled with ibis and ibis budget logos. Once you get to the Hotel Novotel, you have a short (2 minute) walk across the street to the Hotel Herbergh.

Let me start off with what I didn't like - the hotel front desk doesn't have someone 24 hours. I don't know if the doors or locked or what happens when your flight is delayed, but this was really weird.

Now, everything else I really enjoyed about the hotel. It was clean, the staff was kind and the breakfast was fantastic. At breakfast there was fresh bread which is always a highlight. The breakfast is very typical for what you get in Holland with bread, butter, juice, cheese, cold cuts, etc. The rooms were also quite nice, and clean.

If you are booking this on a site like booking.com, be sure to check about the "Non-refundable" or "Refundable" options. If you choose the "Non-refundable" they will charge your credit card after it is booked. I didn't have an issue with this, but it is something to beware of if you think your plans will change.

All in all, come here and enjoy a nice quiet place, and if you can, have the fresh bread at breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived and easily found the right shuttle bus. The short walk was easy to the hotel. Rooms quiet and comfortable. Good restaurants though not dutch food and a touch expensive. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I went here because I needed an overnight stay at the airport and did not want to have another bland chain experience.
The hotel is ok (considering what you pay), but I was hoping for a bit more. The rooms are a bit tired and there is not that much charm or buzz. What probably put me off most was the hike on the airport shuttle - just a bit too long and with an inconvenient last bit you have to walk. I'd happily do that if the hotel was a real 'gem', ie had genuine charm or amazing value, but now I felt that I spent too much time and effort on it.
On the positive side: the staff was very friendly and it does have more of a family feel to it compared to the chains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvia, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Of course you choose this hotel for its location 15 min from the airport (shuttle bus) and not to visit Amsterdam but it does the job perfectly, for a good price and a special "+" to the quality of the staff. Will come back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orania, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I like to stay in smaller hotels that don't belong to some of the big international hotel chains. This hotel was a good choice. The service was good and breakfast excellent. There was good WIFI. But it was a very expensive hotel for what we've got. The rooms are very basic and the mattress in my room was old and overused.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259 | Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site. 24 hours open. Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.