We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Airport Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259 | Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct & Save!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Airport Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was coming to Amsterdam for work, and instead of making my way into the city I decided to stay near the airport and then make my way into the city the following day. When I arrived it was a bit confusing on where to get on the shuttle, but after a very short search I found it. You end up taking a shuttle to the Hotel Novotel, but the bus is primarily labeled with ibis and ibis budget logos. Once you get to the Hotel Novotel, you have a short (2 minute) walk across the street to the Hotel Herbergh.

Let me start off with what I didn't like - the hotel front desk doesn't have someone 24 hours. I don't know if the doors or locked or what happens when your flight is delayed, but this was really weird.

Now, everything else I really enjoyed about the hotel. It was clean, the staff was kind and the breakfast was fantastic. At breakfast there was fresh bread which is always a highlight. The breakfast is very typical for what you get in Holland with bread, butter, juice, cheese, cold cuts, etc. The rooms were also quite nice, and clean.

If you are booking this on a site like booking.com, be sure to check about the "Non-refundable" or "Refundable" options. If you choose the "Non-refundable" they will charge your credit card after it is booked. I didn't have an issue with this, but it is something to beware of if you think your plans will change.

All in all, come here and enjoy a nice quiet place, and if you can, have the fresh bread at breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    71
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
57
65
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived and easily found the right shuttle bus. The short walk was easy to the hotel. Rooms quiet and comfortable. Good restaurants though not dutch food and a touch expensive. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I went here because I needed an overnight stay at the airport and did not want to have another bland chain experience.
The hotel is ok (considering what you pay), but I was hoping for a bit more. The rooms are a bit tired and there is not that much charm or buzz. What probably put me off most was the hike on the airport shuttle - just a bit too long and with an inconvenient last bit you have to walk. I'd happily do that if the hotel was a real 'gem', ie had genuine charm or amazing value, but now I felt that I spent too much time and effort on it.
On the positive side: the staff was very friendly and it does have more of a family feel to it compared to the chains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvia, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Of course you choose this hotel for its location 15 min from the airport (shuttle bus) and not to visit Amsterdam but it does the job perfectly, for a good price and a special "+" to the quality of the staff. Will come back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orania, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I like to stay in smaller hotels that don't belong to some of the big international hotel chains. This hotel was a good choice. The service was good and breakfast excellent. There was good WIFI. But it was a very expensive hotel for what we've got. The rooms are very basic and the mattress in my room was old and overused.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here on an unexpected stopover. It was a small and personal-feeling place. Staff was very welcoming and helpful. The wireless internet was sufficient for my video conference call. We did not have breakfast here (early train), but the hotel did give us a Saint Nicholas gift :) The shuttle goes to the Novotel, but the very short (2-3 min) walk to this place was very simple and the hotel was easy to find. Overall, we found it to be a great stopover hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a late evening flight into Schipol and an early departure. Normally I hate staying at airport hotels, but this was different. Normal airport hotels are soulless, lifeless places populated by 'transients', with a terrible sameness about the bars and restaurants. The Herbergh is very different. A small hotel, where the staff are very happy to welcome you with a decent bar and a good restaurant. Even at the late hour of arrival a beer and an excellent steak were produced in no time at all. Food was great and the atmosphere was very friendly. It was a typical local hotel that you would find in many a small Dutch town.
Price was very reasonable and the room was extremely comfortable.
I know where I am staying in future if I have to overnight @ Schipol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259 | Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site. 24 hours open. Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Herbergh Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.