We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife, daughter and I used this hotel as a base for a weekend in Amsterdam. The free shuttle from the airport was very handy - about a 15 minute ride plus 2 or 3 minutes walk from the Novotel. The room was comfortable - not huge for a double and a single but adequate and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was good. We didn't eat in the restaurant but they looked nice. It is easy to reach central Amsterdam by using the free shuttle to the airport and then taking a train to Central Station which costs about €8 return per person. Other people have commented on aircraft noise at this hotel; we barely heard anything - maybe we were lucky with the wind direction but it was very quiet. Would definitely stay here again. It saves on the expensive city centre hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    60
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
58
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ten Boer
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I live some distance from Schiphol Airport. So, when it comes down to taking an early morning flight, I prefer to take a hotel nearby on the evening before. One could choose a hotel on the Schiphol grounds or nearby, but this time I decided to go for Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport in Badhoevedorp. Some 4 kilometers from the terminal. And the reason for my choice was the reasonable price (99 euro's incl. breakfast).
The hotel is small. Despite it being a little distant, it is easy to reach via the complimentary shuttle bus that brings you to the Novotel (15-20 min drive). From the Novotel you just walk a 100m/yrds back and you are there.
And then you are in for a nice surprise. I got a recently refurbished room on the backside of the hotel. And hospitality is warm from the first minute.
Two restaurants (French/traditional cuisine and Italian) are attached to the hotel. But that is subjects for another review.
I have no hesitation to recommend this little surprise. And it will certainly consider it for a next time when I have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Well located close to the Airport with a free shuttle service. A little bit too far from Amsterdam Central and a little costly via Taxi. The Hotel itself is very clean and with friendly staff. We did not get there until very late and the staff waited for us an extra 30 mins as there is no night check in available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Extremely courteous, welcoming staff, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast. THis is a wonderful hotel, close to the airport where the only alternative is big chain hotels. The shuttle from the airport dropped us off across the street at the Novotel and it was a short walk to the Herbergh Hotel. THe receptionist was very welcoming, walked us upstairs to our room, made sure that everything was in order--just like a hostess would do welcoming us to her home. Two small bags of cookies were waiting for us--a wonderful surprise. Breakfast the next day was excellent: eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, freshly baked bread, cheese and ham and juices. Well worth its price. The Herbergh Hotel has become our new favorite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The night before my arrival, I booked from Internet a room inccluding breakfast.
At the hotel I noticed that breakfast is served from 7:00AM, too late for me, my train being earlier.
I asked then not to pay for the breakfast or for any arrangement as I also had diner at the hotel restaurant.
Not possible was the answer as it is ALL INCLUDED. Here is the first hotel owner who cannot disconnect a room from a breakfast.
No arrangement proposal except a big effort of giving me a yogurt and a small sandwich which will be stale by tomorrow morning.
I travel all over Europe all year and I can say: NOT GOOD ENOUGH for Dutch Tourism image.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to write your experiences in our hotel. It is of great value for us and our future guests. Our breakfastbuffet starts at 6.30 (not at 7) we inform our guests at check-in, If you book a room including breakfast we do not refund if not taken. This is a hotelpolicy, we do offer to take a breakfastbag in the evening instead, in all rooms is free coffee and tea. The rate incl. breakfast is a special offer and cannot just be seperate in room and breakfast. I do hope we can welcome you again and then we will offer you a free breakfast afterall. (just refer to this review)

Kind regards,

Anke Somsen-Wynia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel closes their doors at 22 o clock!! And the bar at 23. They asked to finish my drinks in the lounge area, i went there and they put all the lights out, we were sitting there in the dark!! After 22 there is no employees in the hotel so if you have a problem its a big deal !! Its very invitable for robbers to put a hotel in the dark without lights!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest, first of all we apoligize we did not take care of you and relatives the way we supposed to. We appreciatie you share your experiences with us and our future guests allthough we would have more happy for you and us if you enjoyed your drinks not in the dark. Our bar closes in between 23.30-24 hrs. depending on if there are still guests, so our team did not follow our hotelprocedures. You should have been able to drink in our bar. Again we apoligize for the inconvenience; We do hope to welcome you again, and one round of drinks on us!


Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location if you are departing from Amsterdam airport and want a comfortable room in the proximity of the airport. From here it is a mere 10-15 minutes drive to Schiphol Airport.
Rooms are comfortable and breakfast offer is extensive. All of this at a fair price, especially if compared to the mostly expensive hotels situated at the airport terminals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us and our future guests. We appriciate you took time to do so. We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.

Kind regards,

Anke Somsen-Wynia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site.Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.