We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start for your trip departing from Amsterdam Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Antwerp
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent start for your trip departing from Amsterdam Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location if you are departing from Amsterdam airport and want a comfortable room in the proximity of the airport. From here it is a mere 10-15 minutes drive to Schiphol Airport.
Rooms are comfortable and breakfast offer is extensive. All of this at a fair price, especially if compared to the mostly expensive hotels situated at the airport terminals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us and our future guests. We appriciate you took time to do so. We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.

Kind regards,

Anke Somsen-Wynia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    62
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
59
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here during my layover at Amsterdam, and everything met my expectations--staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and nice (though a little small if you are 3 people), and the shuttle service to/from airport was convenient and reliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest, we appriciate you shared your positive experiences on tripadvisor. We and our future guests can provid from real evaluations. We do hope you come to visit us again, in the (near) future.

Kind regards,

Anke Somsen-Wynia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

1. Hotel team is friendly and helpful.
2. Room is well designed and facilities are well maintained.
3. Food is delicious, especially the sea food and pizza.
4. Free parking space and free WIFI.
5. Easy access to both airport and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your positive review. We and our team appreciate your effort to share your experiences with the travel community. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,


Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Negatives. Other reviewers noted the stairs with no elevator. Yes, they are very steep, yes they are dangerous carrying up the luggage. Don't go here if you have heavy baggage to bring up. Other reviewers noted the closing at 11 pm. What if your flight is late during the busy season? The front desk clerk was very clear that the hotel locks up at 11 pm. Our reservation noted they would charge our card anyway. Thanks for that. We checked in about 9:30 pm on a late flight, we were lucky, what if we weren't? The image on the website is the restaurant on the quiet street. Many of the rooms are on the busy highway, 15 feet from it. Traffic started at 4:30 am, can't sleep with such noise.

Positives. The Hotel clerk was wonderful, the rooms were clean.

Summary. Take the $4 Euro, 20 minute train ride into the city and get a quieter hotel that won't charge your credit card if you are late because of late flights or stay at one of the bigger hotels at the airport with 24 hour front desk service. You can do better in Amsterdam for the price they charge, whatever the owners of the hotel do for a response to this an other not so positive reviews. Perhaps they can install an elevator, sound proof the rooms next to the highway, and have access to travelers running late?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your positive and critism. You are right about the late check in, we do not have night reception. (is not affordable for a 24 room family owned hotel) We do have an night employee, sleeping in the hotel for emergencies also to give the key in case of late (after midnight) arrival. If you do have heavy luggage we are always willing to give assistence with the stairs. As we have also rooms at the groundfloor (comfort rooms) you do not have to reserve 1st floor rooms (standard rooms) The hotel is not located next to a highway. It is a local two lane road. As we also have rooms at the backside of the hotel not facing the road we will always try to accommodate the wish of our guests. Thank you for complimenting our reception staff and housekeeping,

We do hope to welcome you again, so you can try our groundfloor comfort rooms at the backside of our family hotel.

Kind regards,

Anke and René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a lovely small family run hotel, 24 rooms. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. We absolutely loved our last dinner at the Brasserie La Bouche French restaurant. The wine and food was delicious. We enjoyed a vegetarian meal (fish) with a lovely salad and the lamb chops with frites, which was not greasy. This meal was the best part of our day. It was a bit pricy but definitely worth it.

We had to leave early the next day and could not take advantage of the breakfast which was included in the hotel rate. I am sure it was delicious!

Our room was located on the front of the hotel close to the main road. It is not very noisy at night and we had no problem sleeping, There is no elevator to the 2nd floor. If you have issues with stairs, then ask for a room on the 1st floor ahead of time. The staff answered all my questions via e-mail before our trip to Holland.

From the airport, the FREE Novotel Hotel shuttle runs all day which is extremely convenient to travel to and from the airport/train station.

Wifi and parking is free. I look forward to staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are looking for absolute quite. No elevator to the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your positive and eloborate review. We and our team appreciate your effort to share your experiences with the travel community. Good to hear our staff made the difference in assisting you. Breakfast starts at 6.30, unfortunately you could have it. Our breakfast is a full american buffet with local cheese etc.
Good to read you enjoyed the food and service in our Brasserie La Bouche, thank you!

We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.

Kind regards,


Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After a slightly disappointing experience in our hotel at Disneyland Paris it was a breeze to check into a hotel prior to our flight from Schiphol and simply have a good clean room, friendly and personalised service and a descent restaurant.

The hotel provides free parking whilst only 5 minutes from Schiphol (ask for the backroute to the departures terminal) and has a small, young, but extremely efficient team. Check in happened in a blink, help was offered for the luggage and dinner reservations done on the spot.

The room was spacious, modern and clean; only set-back was no Airconditioning which, in Holland you typically wouldn't use (we had a fan ;-). The restaurant was excellent and buzzing. Had a great night sleep and were at Schiphol in the blink of an eye.

This combined with a fantastic rate (think it was 70 Euros) made this hotel an absolute winner!

Room Tip: The hotel borders a road so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face this road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Special to read that the Herbergh Hotel is a winner:-))
Thank you for your taking time to compliment our hotel and staff. And taking time to share you experiences for our future guests. Good to hear the taxi trip was efficient. We do offer free shuttle service to our neighbor hotel : Novotel. Take the white Accor bus to the Ibis then the Novotel. We are located 2 minutes from the shuttle stop at the Novotel. The shuttle runs 2-3 times per hour and is free of charge. You are right about the AC usually not needed...

Kind regards,


Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Extremely accommodating and friendly managers and staff, both over the phone and in person. Very nice, clean, and functional rooms. For me it was one of the easiest places to find on our Netherlands trip by rental car. Also used the shared hotel airport shuttle three times and it was very effective--schedule was frequent enough for our needs, and the trip time was short enough. Can't comment on the restaurant though, as we hadn't planned to eat there.

Room Tip: Bit of road noise on the South side (toward the airport), but not problematic, and, expected of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site.Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.