You know that feeling, the one when you open the door and immediately realise you made the wrong hotel choice? Yes, that.
I was there for 3 nights whilst on business in the area. I only chose this place because of the reviews here, so i felt completely let down an underwhelmed on opening the door to Room 12.
I booked via BookingDotCom and got an advantageous pay upfront non cancellation room only rate – so I didn’t take breakfast, nor eat at all at the hotel so I can’t vouch for that aspect.
What I can say is that my room was basic, old fashioned, dark, with an uncomfortable bed. I booked a single occupancy for what I thought was a double room – instead I got a triple made up of single beds. Oh, but then the spare 3rd bed disappeared after the first night? Bizarre!
The room had no aircon, and it was warm, but there was an old fan - great!
There was an unpleasant stale odour in the room, unfresh. Plus there was smell emanating from the rear of the hotel when this room overlooked, because this is the back of the kitchens, so not only do you get odour, but you also get noise. Before unpacking on arrival on day 1 I rang down and asked to change room, and this request was met with an uncompromising “No, sorry, we’re fully booked” (which frankly I didn’t believe). The receptionist asked if it was because of the kitchen noise, I said yes, then she said that they close at 10, so “it will be alright” – well, it wasn’t, and there was disturbances right up until at least 23:45, and then again from 0530.
Mind you, not that 0530 was early, as I could hear people moving around and doors being left to slam shut at around 430am on one morning and overall, this was the experience of the hotel – not so much noise from aircraft, but noise in general. Not forgetting that the hotel is located on the cross-road junction of busy roads, so you do get road traffic noise more than aircraft noise.
The shuttle bus from the airport, (2min walk away) via Novotel was fine, albeit, it stops (annoyingly) at both the IBIS and BIS Budget on the way to and from the airport, meaning the bus gets packed during the peak morning times, journey time typically 20-25min. Plus one or two of the drivers where very unhelpful and jobs worths in not waiting for people who were clearly aiming for the bus and were alongside and yet they drove off. I saw one Indonesian lady in a panic because the driver told her they don’t stop at the Novotel, when they did.
Bathroom WC was clean and functional, albeit, a strange room layout, oh and as for having the tea and coffee making stuff in the bathroom next to the basin? Crazy!
I’m struggling to think of a single redeeming feature of this stay that would want me to go back – so I won’t be. Maybe I was just unlucky with having been allocated Room 12, so beware, and take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt…
Next time, I’ll go back to the IBIS.
Avoid Room 12, or any facing the rear where the kitchens are. But rooms at the front will give you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for sharing your experiences with the travelcommunity. We are dissapointed to read we did not meet your expectations. Our receptionist should and could have changed you to a room on the frontside for the last 2 nights. She was right about the fact that we were fully booked! Our hotel is small so if you have a late arrival we do not have the flexibilitiy to change rooms. The smell in your room was from the new carpet. That you hear people during the night is quite normal in an airport related hotel, guests leave early to catch their flights. Our rooms are quite soundproof but some travellers find it very normal to slam doors also in the middle of the night. sorry about that. A lot of (plane) travellers use earplugs in hotels and planes are also noises you are not used to, but I assume you know as a frequent traveller..just for their own convienience. Our ground floor rooms have lighter furniture. It is a matter of taste and preferance ofcourse. I wish you a pleasant next stay at the Ibis hotel, allthough we hope you choose us a next time... and hope we will see you in one of our restaurants only one kilometer walking distance from the Ibis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.