We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Thank You .... a lovely, warm hospitality"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259, Badhoevedorp 1171CP, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Thank You .... a lovely, warm hospitality"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First and foremost ... it is a lovely hotel, clean and offers a very warm hospitality.... thus I recommend it for those planning to visit sites away from the City life of Amsterdam.

It has a very good Free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport which is very useful to transit to various attractions and sites such as Keukenhof, Alkmaar, Lisse or Zaanse Schaan.

The hotel is in a quiet location with nice views and a short walk to Sloten Mill. We stayed here for 4 nights on two occasions and both stays were great, big clean lovely modern comfortable rooms with very comfy beds and with tea-coffee facility, spacious shower or bath and central heating. They offer free WiFi and free Dutch TV.

Breakfast was good and fresh with a variety of dutch cheese and ham and locally baked bread.
Both my partner and I loved this place and surely I recommend it. We are also proud to be able to dine at their Italian excellent restaurants - Trattoria La Bocca.

Room Tip: The ground rooms are much bigger and lovely. Their bathrooms are great ....clean, good water pressur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us (twice) and sharing your positive experiences with our future hotelguests. We are very pleased to hear you appreciate our service and our hospitality. We and our team try to make a difference to personalize and put genuine warmth in our hotel to make the stay memorable and worthwhile. Nice to read you enjoy our fresh regional breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
55
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

You know that feeling, the one when you open the door and immediately realise you made the wrong hotel choice? Yes, that.

I was there for 3 nights whilst on business in the area. I only chose this place because of the reviews here, so i felt completely let down an underwhelmed on opening the door to Room 12.

I booked via BookingDotCom and got an advantageous pay upfront non cancellation room only rate – so I didn’t take breakfast, nor eat at all at the hotel so I can’t vouch for that aspect.

What I can say is that my room was basic, old fashioned, dark, with an uncomfortable bed. I booked a single occupancy for what I thought was a double room – instead I got a triple made up of single beds. Oh, but then the spare 3rd bed disappeared after the first night? Bizarre!
The room had no aircon, and it was warm, but there was an old fan - great!
There was an unpleasant stale odour in the room, unfresh. Plus there was smell emanating from the rear of the hotel when this room overlooked, because this is the back of the kitchens, so not only do you get odour, but you also get noise. Before unpacking on arrival on day 1 I rang down and asked to change room, and this request was met with an uncompromising “No, sorry, we’re fully booked” (which frankly I didn’t believe). The receptionist asked if it was because of the kitchen noise, I said yes, then she said that they close at 10, so “it will be alright” – well, it wasn’t, and there was disturbances right up until at least 23:45, and then again from 0530.
Mind you, not that 0530 was early, as I could hear people moving around and doors being left to slam shut at around 430am on one morning and overall, this was the experience of the hotel – not so much noise from aircraft, but noise in general. Not forgetting that the hotel is located on the cross-road junction of busy roads, so you do get road traffic noise more than aircraft noise.
The shuttle bus from the airport, (2min walk away) via Novotel was fine, albeit, it stops (annoyingly) at both the IBIS and BIS Budget on the way to and from the airport, meaning the bus gets packed during the peak morning times, journey time typically 20-25min. Plus one or two of the drivers where very unhelpful and jobs worths in not waiting for people who were clearly aiming for the bus and were alongside and yet they drove off. I saw one Indonesian lady in a panic because the driver told her they don’t stop at the Novotel, when they did.
Bathroom WC was clean and functional, albeit, a strange room layout, oh and as for having the tea and coffee making stuff in the bathroom next to the basin? Crazy!
I’m struggling to think of a single redeeming feature of this stay that would want me to go back – so I won’t be. Maybe I was just unlucky with having been allocated Room 12, so beware, and take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt…

Next time, I’ll go back to the IBIS.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12, or any facing the rear where the kitchens are. But rooms at the front will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the travelcommunity. We are dissapointed to read we did not meet your expectations. Our receptionist should and could have changed you to a room on the frontside for the last 2 nights. She was right about the fact that we were fully booked! Our hotel is small so if you have a late arrival we do not have the flexibilitiy to change rooms. The smell in your room was from the new carpet. That you hear people during the night is quite normal in an airport related hotel, guests leave early to catch their flights. Our rooms are quite soundproof but some travellers find it very normal to slam doors also in the middle of the night. sorry about that. A lot of (plane) travellers use earplugs in hotels and planes are also noises you are not used to, but I assume you know as a frequent traveller..just for their own convienience. Our ground floor rooms have lighter furniture. It is a matter of taste and preferance ofcourse. I wish you a pleasant next stay at the Ibis hotel, allthough we hope you choose us a next time... and hope we will see you in one of our restaurants only one kilometer walking distance from the Ibis.

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed overnight at the Herberg Hotel. I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The two restaurants are slightly expensive but the food was good. The breakfast included in the room rate had a variety of choices. One caution, the stairs to the rooms are quite steep and long. There is no lift. The hotel staff were very willing to take my luggage up and bring it down the next morning. I would recommend this hotel when wanting to be near the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for compliments and recommendation to future hotel guests. We are always willing to help our guests with the luggage in reception hours (6,30-23,30) There are groundfloor (comfort) and 1st floor (standard) rooms. Good to read you enjoyed the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is close to the Airport. A free shuttle service is provided by the hotel to and from Schiphol every 30 minutes or so, where there are trains in to central Amsterdam. The hotel is in a quiet location with nice views. The rooms were clean and modern, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much, and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for compliments and recommendation to future hotel guests. We are so happy to read you had a convenient stay and you enjoy our quiet location, although in airport region.

We hope to welcome you again next year.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we wanted to visit Amestrdam but i was looking for a hotel with car park,which is not well caterd for with more centrally located hotels.nice, big rooms.clean and a quiet location, easy and free access to airport and from airport only 20 min to center of Amsterdam. overall, very happy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for compliments and recommendation to future hotel guests. We have free shuttle, free WIFI and free parking. As that is what we if we travel appreciate also in hotels.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Schiphol is a major hub, so if you need a good night's rest, this is a good place. If your luggage is heavy, you may consider leaving it at luggage deposit in Schiphol (EUR 7 for 24 hours) as the stairs to the rooms are pretty steep! Connections to the airport are regular and free. The restaurant and adjacent pizzeria seem to be good, but the prices are steep! Think in terms of EUR 15 for a pizza. You're better off eating from one of the eateries at Schiphol Plaza.

If your booking includes breakfast, well and good. It offers a good selection by Dutch standards, and you also get sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs. But if it's not included in the price, have breakfast at the airport. At over EUR 14 per person, it's definitely not for those on a budget.

The rooms were good and clean. Bathroom was spacious with a good bath. No airplane noise at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Dear guest thank you for your review. We have 2 restaurants, an Italian Trattoria La Bocca and french Brasserie La Bouche. Also for budget travelers choices for good food but if you have no budget it is hard to travel. We are sorry to hear that all you can eat (and drink) breakfast for Euro 14,50 did not fit in your budget. If you make a future reservation we offer rooms including breakfast for euro 10,00 more (depending on availability and season) So in that case you pay only Euro 5,00 per person...

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here due to flight is on early of next day. The staffs were very good and helpful. Room is good, and clean. Highly recommended to try the restaurant when staying in this hotel. Excellent food! Getting around is quite ok, can use the airport shuttle bus/van, and it's free. Overall had very good experience in this hotel. Would love to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259, Badhoevedorp 1171CP, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site.Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.