We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantashtishe :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantashtishe :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel to be out of the city and what a find! Beautiful, clean rooms! Very friendly staff! This is a nice homely feeling hotel, very close to Schipol Airport & Amsterdam Centre! No noise, considering how close to the airport it is! Two lovely restaurants, tho personally I preferred the French one! Would recommend this place :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Eigenaar at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience. Nice to read you also tried both our restaurants, thank you. We shared your compliments with our staff!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    62
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
59
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here March 2013 with husband and kids age 9 and 11. Quiet and quaint in a rural setting but right by airport. Two good restaurants. So easy to hop on the shuttle to the airport and then take the train in to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

1. Not quite airport location - a courtesy coach ride away - but away enough to not be aware of planes overhead.
2. Room (301) slept 3 comfortably and would have done so for a family of four. Tea & coffee making facilities and hair dryer in room too. Fold-out sleeper bed was just as comfortable as a normal bed.
3. Continental breakfast was delicious and varied, certainly varied enough to cope with my fussy eater. Breads, meats and cheeses were quality artisan faire.
4. Option of dinner at Brasserie on site, or a fantastic Italian restaurant (great atmosphere, excellent food and better prices than Brasserie) literally next door to Herbergh.

Only criticism is that BETTER DIRECTIONS would be nice. Their website describes the hotel as 'opposite the Novotel' (No, there is an open field opposite the Novotel) and Novotel reception had a long queue so waiting to ask them for directions was a non-starter. Clearly not just me, as the next morning I was asked for directions from a Japanese tourist who hadn't been able to spot the hotel either.

So my advice is: coming out of Novotel look left to the intersection that has traffic lights. Herbergh is on that corner. Don't worry about its intersection location, there is barely any traffic and we didn't hear a thing (and yes, our room overlooked the intersection from above).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here because the hotel where I stayed was full for my last night.
This hotel was 40% more expensive, but according to me not worth the difference.
Actually I preferred breakfast at the cheaper hotel.
If you have to carry a heavy suitcase like I did, the stairs are a hassle.
Rooms were large though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We chose a smaller hotel over the larger airport hotels. Excellent choice with very comfortable bed, plenty of room and excellent walkin shower in spacious bathroom. Hairdryer included ! Extremely kind and friendly staff, the best service and very good food in both restaurants. Staff were very approachable and always helpful, English speaking of course so no problems. Easy access to FREE shuttle bus via short stroll to Novotel, frequent and punctual, short trip to airport. Excellent breakfast buffet, hot scrambled eggs bacon and sausages, beautiful range of breads, pastries, jams. Cereals, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, we had the very best fresh STRAWBERRIES at 6.30 a.m. on day of departure ! Yogarts, coffee and tea. This set us up for our full days out.

Room Tip: As we are a mature couple, we asked for a ground floor room if possible. This was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here between a week in Maastricht and an early morning flight to London. I liked the price point and given the hotel's close proximity to Schipol thought it would be fine. As earlier reviewers have noted, the shuttle service drops and picks you up at the Novotel Hotel down the street. NOT ideal with loads of bags and also not very quick since the bus makes two additional stops after the Novotel. The room itself was fine for a budget hotel although the beds were a bit soft. There were hotel options at the hotel, but we wanted to watch a football match and needed a little pub. The hotel receptionist told us there was "nothing" in town and we needed to go to Amsterdam. If we wanted to go to Amsterdam, we would have stayed the night in Amsterdam! We walked around and did find a small local pub (Jane's Bar) where the locals were very friendly and directed us to a bar on the dike. We walked (1.5km) to the bar, had a good meal next door and watched the game. All's well that ends well, but unless you just want a place to sleep, I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try the second floor if possible. I found the bottom floor to be a little creepy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Herbergh is a gem of a hotel for travelers using Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport. Access by shuttle from the airport is frequent and efficient. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Rooms are comfortably furnished, and the hotel is in a quiet area.

Twice during my recent trip, the hotel was able to give me access to my room early in the
morning--without an extra per hour charge, as is a feature of some of the other airport hotels! Coming off overnight eight-hour flights in economy class, this was greatly appreciated.

The restaurant has a good selection of both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes, very well prepared. I hosted a small family gathering in the French section one evening and all agreed the repast was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site.Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.