We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with nice personality, convenient to Amsterdam airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with nice personality, convenient to Amsterdam airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at the Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport so that I could easily make an early morning flight. Free shuttle service to/from the airport via the Novotel just one block away. Great Italian restaurant at hotel (as well as a French brasserie that I didn't have time to try) that is popular with the locals. Friendly staff; clean, modern rooms in a charming hotel that has a nice personality and is nothing like the 'standard' hotels usually encountered at or near airports. The hotel's residential neighborhood is great for walking about (wonderful goat farm nearby!). Good variety of breakfast items and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear mr. Stan,

Thank you for your positive review! We do hope you are able to travel to the Amsterdam region again so we can welcome you, and you are able to try our Brasserie La Bouche! We will compliment our hospitality team! Kind regards, René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    61
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
57
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florham Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I arrived at the hotel early from New York and the staff were quick to get me nito my hotel room wihtin the hour! This was excellent as i was then able to freshen up and get on with my day and allowed me to prepare for business meetings the next day in comfort. I have stayed here on several previous occasions, some involving using their meeting facilities which have been most useful for a European based sales team to fly in for meetings to Schipol and then saty at this hotel. The hotel and restaruant staff have always been cheerful and helpful in making our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter although shutting the window helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear mr. George,
Thank you for taking the effort and write a postivie review. As we are a (small) airport hotel we will always try to check in our guests upon (early) arrival, happy to hear that it worked out for you!
We and our team hope to welcome you again to you next (business) trip to the Schiphol region.
King regards, René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend it. The rooms were clean and quiet and the staff very helpful. The free shuttle to/from Schiphol airport was great, even if you need to walk a couple blocks!

Room Tip: No elevator, rooms on back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear mrs. Karen,

Thank you for your positive review. We do have groundfloor rooms and firs tfloor rooms, as we do not have an elevator our staff will be help with carrying the luggage! Kind regards, René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth. UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Ideal if travelling by car, a ten minute drive to Park & Ride for the city,only 8 Euro to park all day including transport to city centre.
Very friendly hotel, breakfast was excellent and staff all very helpful

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking the effort in writing a positive review. We will compliment our helpful staff and chef for his excellent choice for breakfast! From our hotel there are many easy ways to visit Amsterdam, Haarlem, Delft, tulipfields(april/may) etc. Public transportation is in walking distance or by (rental) car from a close by park&ride. Hope to welcome you again in the (near) future. Kind regards, René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, it was a very enjoyable stay the staff were very friendly and helpful.The rooms were clean and comfortable with a nice wet room. There is a shuttle service to Schipol airport every 20 minutes from the Novatel Hotel just across the road, from there it is easy to be able to get to Amsterdam, Haarlem, Den Hague, etc.
The hotel has 2 very nice restaurants one french and one Italian, prices were very reasonable,
the only criticism I do have is the breakfast, which at an extra cost was quite expensive considering it was only a buffet.But I would still stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for writing a positve and very elaborate review of our Hotel. As you stayed for 6 nights we can conclude that you had plenty of time experiencing our hotel and both restaurants. The breakfastbuffet we offer for Euro 14.50 per person is full american.For certain nights we also offer roomrates including breakfast on the bookingsites, depending on the special offers we are able to make that week. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the (near) future. Kind regards, René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very fine stay for 5 nights in a quiet and really confortable place . Nice and beautiful rooms , abundant breakfast , good restaurants , very friendly staff and a close and regular bus-connexxion to the place I had to be in town . Although I appreciated to be out of the city in an airy space at night.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and dinner during your 5 night's stay. We are honored you chose our hotel above a hotel in the city centre. It is good to hear our staff was friendly and the bus connection to the centre of Amsterdam was to your needs. We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future. Kind regards, Anke Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was not our first choice, but after 2 hotels were fully booked a week in advance I decided to try this hotel.
We were just lucky the others were booked as I doubt they were any better.
We took the shuttle to the Novatel next door, and were told how full most hotels were. A small walk later we were greated in a friendly way you would expect in a 4 star hotel.
B
Perhaps we were just having our lucky day, we saw the bus leave just when we arrived, and there was a long line-up for the other hotels, but another bus to the Novatel arrived when most people were still waiting.
So one of my extra points was just because "Je ne sais quoi"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear sir,
Thank you for your positive response. We are very pleased our team and hotel met your expectations. We hope to welcome you and/or your family or friends in our hotel in the (near) future. Kind regards,

Anke & Rene Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259, 1171CP Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site.Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.