We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly surprise so close to a big airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 259, Badhoevedorp 1171CP, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A very friendly surprise so close to a big airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was not our first choice, but after 2 hotels were fully booked a week in advance I decided to try this hotel.
We were just lucky the others were booked as I doubt they were any better.
We took the shuttle to the Novatel next door, and were told how full most hotels were. A small walk later we were greated in a friendly way you would expect in a 4 star hotel.
B
Perhaps we were just having our lucky day, we saw the bus leave just when we arrived, and there was a long line-up for the other hotels, but another bus to the Novatel arrived when most people were still waiting.
So one of my extra points was just because "Je ne sais quoi"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear sir,
Thank you for your positive response. We are very pleased our team and hotel met your expectations. We hope to welcome you and/or your family or friends in our hotel in the (near) future. Kind regards,

Anke & Rene Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
55
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed her for 1n at the end of our trip and found it to be a small hotel but with good facilities and close to the airport and Novotel for facilities that it didn't have. The only thing we found difficult was that there was no elevator or even a dumbwaiter or something to get our extremely heavy luggage upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene s, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are a small 3 star hotel with 24 rooms. 9 rooms on the ground floor, 15 on the first floor. Unfortunately we do not have an elavator. Our employees are instructed to give assistance with the luggage, we sincerely apoligize that you did not get help.
We do hope we can accomodate you in the future to show you that our friendly staff is certainly able to give you the service our guests deserve.

Kind regards,

Anke & Rene Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days. The positive things for this hotel is the room and also the location that was close to the airport, only about 10 minutes driving.

But we found many negative things about this hotel. (1) No elevator. It will be a problem for senior people (2) We should bring luggage by our self when we check in and check out. It was difficult to bring many luggage through the stairs without any help. Receptionist and staffs only take a look when they saw us bring our luggage up stairs (3) Far from Center of Amsterdam, but it's not a problem if you are looking hotel that locate near Schipol because of your flight (4) The breakfast is very expensive EUR 14 and not included in the room price (5) The restaurant owned by the hotel was very expensive, and there's no choice for diner at other restaurant because the location is very far from the crowds (5) Hotel shuttle to the Schipol was using Novotel shuttle service. The distance between the Hotel De Herbergh and Novotel shuttle service was walking distance, but will be a problem if we should bring many luggage to cross the street located between Novotel and The Herbergh Hotel, especially if we do check out early in the morning, in bad weather (5) No receptionist at night and there's no staff to help you if you do early check out in the morning. It means you should check out one day before, and drag your luggage through the stairs, bring your luggage to the Novotel shuttle service by your self. Off course it is not a problem if you only bring light luggage.

I am personally recommended this hotel for you that have early flight from Schiphol to other destination. But really not recommend this hotel for senior person. Except reservation staff of the hotel promise you to give room at Ground Floor when booking, help you to handle your luggage when check-in and check-out, and also help you to handle your luggage to go to the shuttle near Novotel.

Overall, we enjoy our room because of its comfort, but in our opinion the service of the hotel is below our expectation. We hope the hotel management can improve their services to the customers based on our review. So other customers can enjoy their visit to your hotel better than us.. thank you.

Room Tip: Senior people better choose the room at Ground Floor, because there is no elevator/lift, and no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear sir, thank you for effort in writing your experiences in our hotel. We apoligize that you were not given the assistance with you luggage. We do have groundfloor rooms and firstfloor rooms. Usually our guests travel quite light, but our procedure is to help with all guests no matter how many luggage there is. In case of rainy days we do give a free ride to the shuttle (100 mtrs walk), our receptionist should have offered this service to you at checkout, we are very sorry you had to walk the 100 mtrs in the rain. We are very happy as a small airport hotel we can offer our guests a free airport shuttle service every 20 min. The breakfast is a full american buffet, Euro 14.50 is a fair price for the choices and quality, we do offer roomrates including breakfast as special offer frequently. As we are a small *** hotel we do not have a receptionist at night. In case of emergency we have a nightemployee living on site. We defenitly take your reccomandations seriously and hope to welcome you again in the future, kind regards, Anke & René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Patty and I found the Hotel to be very clean, comfortable and with excellent Internet. Even the roadside is not too noisy because of the very good windows. Two restaurants, (Italian and French), both excellent as was breakfast. All at reasonable prices. The location has good closeness to Expressways and trains/trams. No airport noise. It's an ideal stay for Amsterdam outside the city.

Room Tip: Best is away from the road; but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear sir, thank you for taking time to write a positive review about your stay. And thank you for staying with us! We are pleased you mentioned the free wifi in our hotel. We recently invested in the free wifi and all our guests are very content with this service. We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future! Kind regards, Anke & René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for 8 days and we are very satisfied both with the cleaning of the room every day and the breakfast every day. Close to Schiphol airport for connection to all other places in Netherland. We will recommend the hotel and the good service as well as kindly people working there.

Room Tip: Hotels nearby with shuttle busses to the airport, fitness center by the Novotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear sir, thank you for your nice review. We appriciate your effort! Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you again in the (near) future. Kind regards, Anke & René Somsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

A great little hotel close by Schipol Airport. We stayed one night for a very reasonable price. Good size room, quiet neighborhood with free WiFi. I will stay here again when visiting the Netherlands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The common area downstairs was quaint and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and fluent in English. Overall a very nice place to stay. The only possible drawbacks were 1) rooms on 2nd floor with no elevator 2) located in quiet area, but away from other businesses or restaurants which means 3) you have to eat in the restaurants downstairs, which although good, were expensive and busy. Still, they were nice accomodations. Also, we originally requested and booked 1 room for our family of 4 (4 beds). That room later turned out to be unavailable, but they gave us 2 double rooms for the same total price as the 1. Very pleasantly accomodating move on the part of the management! Using the Novotel shuttle was no problem either, just a short walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Address: Sloterweg 259, Badhoevedorp 1171CP, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Herbergh)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herbergh Hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Schiphol Airport and the train station. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout and free parking is available on site.Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport offers rooms with a TV and private bathroom with free shampoo/soap. They also includes a tray with tea and coffee making facilities.Besides brasserie La Bouche, the hotel offers the Italian trattoria La Bocca. Sit out on the terrace and eat a tasty lunch or dinner.Within walking distance from the hotel, you can use the free shuttle service to and from Schiphol airport and train station. The shuttle runs between 05:10 and 01:30. NS Plaza at Schiphol offers train connections into Amsterdam including Amsterdam RAI and WTC stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbergh Hotel Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.