We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 185, Badhoevedorp 1171 , The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you are looking for a good and clean room for a low price, then this is the place to be. Be aware of the noise of the aircrafts (less then 15 minutes away is Schiphol airport) and there is no bar/restaurant in the hotel (although they serve breakfast in the morning)

You can have dinner in the more luxiourious Ibis at the opposite of the parkingplace or you can go to the Macdonalds just a few hundred meters away. There are canned drinks and snacks in a vendingmachine. we first had a room where the television was not working and we get to the counter and we got an other room instantly, no problem.
In the room there is a very small shower with a (matt)glass door without a lock so little privacy if you want to take a shower., but when you are with the family it should not be a problem.

Do not expect the luxioury of a 5 star hotel, because then you will be dissapointed.
It is just a good value for money. we payed ca. 50 euro's for the night and there are 3 sleepingplaces in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    443
    266
    75
    33
See reviews for
240
298
145
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010 via mobile

We happened to book etap online as it was an Accor hotel & we needed it for the night.
The staff service is horrid as they seem to be ill trained, unprofessional & need to go to courtesy school.
The rooms are pathetically small, with plastic claustrophobic cabins each for the shower & toilet.
The staff would speak only in Dutch as if hurling abuses. Th €7 breakfast isn't even worth €3.
We were made to check our online invoices twice, once before check in & the other before breakfast, as they tried overcharging us.
Overall they made us feel we had checked in at a charity home.
Would never recommend anyone to this hotel.
Btw they charge for parking as well.
Would be in 2 minds to opt for an accor hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Date: 17 May, 2010

We stayed at The Etap because we didn't get a room at The Ibis which is next door to it.

I don't like to criticize but this is definitely one of the worst properties I have ever lived at!

The only thing which I would give a plus to is the cleanliness. The rooms and hotel were very neat and clean besides that all else was a disaster.

Firstly, the rooms are really really tiny. There is a double bed with a single bunk bed over it which makes it very uncomfortable to sleep. The wash basin is in the bedroom, yes open. The shower area is a small cubicle next to the bed which you cannot lock and has an opaque glass door, so no privacy. The toilet is another cubicle which does not lock but thankfully no glass door at least. The reason I'm saying cubicle for each is because it really was a tiny cubicle. There is barely any place for your luggage.

Secondly, there are almost no amenities available. They just give you one small bar of soap and 2 bath towels. No hand towels, you need to go to the reception and ask for more if you run short. You can borrow a hairdryer after paying a refundable deposit of 20 Euros.

Another thing, the rooms are not sound proof at all. You can hear every sound your neighbor makes or sounds from outside which makes it difficult to get any sleep.

The buffet breakfast at the lobby is also just average. They don't even give you plates, just the serving trays in which you take your food and eat as well.

Selection is not great. No eggs or any hot preparations. Just the basics.

I would not recommend this property to anyone ever.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targu Mures, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was OK. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. It's not hard at all to get to the city centre. All you have to do is to catch a free of charge bus for the airport which comes in front of the hotel approximately every half an hour. From the airport you can take a train for the Central Station and it's 7.5 euros for a roundtrip. Even if it's close to the airport, the rooms are very quiet. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stayed at the Etap for 11 nights for work. The hotel is close to the airport but very far out of town. The rooms are basic but recently refurbished to a reasonable standard. The room was clean but very noisey. I could hear everything from all the surrounding rooms!!!

The bed was very uncomfortable (as were the pillows!). Breakfast was ok with a choice of cereals and breads. There aren't many places to eat around the hotel, the restaurants in the Ibis next door are awful, there is a McDonalds across the road. However there is a very good Chinese in Badhoevedorp, but this is a half an hour walk from the hotel.

You have to pay for parking.

This hotel seems designed for one night stays only (stopovers for the airport which is a 20 minute shuttle ride away).

I would not choose to stay in this hotel nor recommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

They have been renovated and expanded since I have been there last time, but I can't say this is a big improvement. This mainly has to do with their services: No internet (or a very expensive use of their hotspot service (?)) A small machine for snacks (not even worthwhile to mention) Uninterested employees who can't seem to smile once, also my room hadn't been cleaned after I came back from Amsterdam (at 15.30hrs!!), but no excuses whatsoever... I wouldn't choose to go back there again and rather book my hotel else!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Simple and straight forward review. Right next to airport, though we were not getting a flight. Basic but comfortable rooms and very quiet. Free shuttle to airport and 1.5 euro to catch bus into main town. We used it just as a place to stay while visiting amsterdam. Breakfast was very very good. As a group we would definately use this place again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 185, Badhoevedorp 1171 , The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Amsterdam Airport
Etap Hotel Badhoevedorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.