We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    515
    310
    87
    37
See reviews for
278
348
175
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brescia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is basic, but the quality - price balance is over the top. Rooms are basic, but the athmsphere is nice in the hall too. Free Shuttle from and to the airport is on almost 24 hours a day (check the timetable in the lobby, the printed one, not the one on display) and from the airport it's easy to get downtown in 15 minutes by train. I paid about 60 euro for one night on Saturday while an Ibis Style downtown asked me 250 (and I paid 230 for 2 nights). The hotel is easy to reach by car too and in the end of October 2013 was full of runners for Amsterdam Marathon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It's good to hear you are satisfied with my hotel and I'm looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards,
Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This reviews the full Ibis hotel complex at Schiphol. I slept in the Budget hotel and used the regular hotel next door for services.

My experience solved the problem with Amsterdam hotels of inconsistency and unpredictability of hotel rooms below the 100 euro level. You never know what you're getting, how clean, large, equipped, how many flights of steep stairs you'll have to climb, etc. with these rooms. My favorite reliable hotel in Amsterdam proper is the Rembrandt on Plantage Middenlaan (reviewed elsewhere), but its rates for this trip would have been more than I wanted to pay, while I needed to be close to the airport at the same time. The Ibis Budget room at Schipohl is exactly as pictured and far superior in space, cleanliness, freshness than similar rooms for sometimes twice as much in the city - 55 euro for me this trip. It includes strong, free wifi. As important, it is a companion to a regular Ibis in the same complex with more services, stores, a good and active bar and pretty good restaurant, though both are a bit overpriced. I know we don't travel to eat and drink in suburban hotel bars and restaurants, but sometimes the rigors of travel are eased by those kinds of services.

The premium here is in transportation options. A free hotel bus runs on a continuous loop from Schiphol, about ten minutes away, to the Novotel up the road and back to each of the two hotels in the Ibis complex. So: If you've got early or late flights, it's a quick no hassle transit. Or if you want to take the 15 minute train ride from Schiphol to Centraal Station it takes you right to the train gates there. But there's more: a municipal bus, route 197 (and you can Google it) every 15 minutes for most of the day from Schipohl right into the center of Amsterdam proper. You can take the hotel bus to municipal bus, all in the same location at Schiphol, or you can take maybe a ten minute walk directly out the front door of the regular Ibis to the other end of the large, gray building across the street (KLM catering), and catch the 197 there (not the bus stop you can see from the hotel, but one in a shelter at the other end of the building). From the airport, and a shorter time from the stop near the hotel, you can get to Museumplein through regular city streets in about 20 minutes, then into grid of Amsterdam trams. Buy a day ticket, or 2, 3 day tickets from a van at the airport bus stops, and you can do it all faster and cheaper than train from Schiphol, unless your only destination is the area around CS.

Can't tell you how much easier and more comfortable the Ibis solution made this last trip which required both late arrivals and early departures to/from US and by train from Germany (Schiphol is the end of the line for a number of trains from Germany, probably other countries, as I took from Berlin). And of course we ought to be out in the city streets while we travel, but it was great, for example, to arrive late by train fr. Germany, get to a good, cheap hotel room in 15 minutes, have a couple of gin and tonics at a friendly bar, and a pretty good pizza w Greek salad in the restaurant upstairs. Bus 197 got me into the city easily the next morning, and hotel bus got me quickly to airport for an early morning flight back to US the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your extensive review also on behalf of Ibis Amsterdam Airport. It will be very helpfull for our future guests to make the right choice. I'm very happy we have made your trip easier and more comfortable and hope you will choose again for our airport hotels in the future. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Could not fault this hotel at all. Easily reached by the free shuttle service and the staff on the front desk were very helpful! All we wanted was a cheap 3 night break in Amsterdam and we got exactly what we asked for. We were slightly skeptical at first about the location but once arriving, we realized that the travel time from the city to center to the hotel was at most 45-50 minutes. Most people do stay here just for a stop over and easy access to the airport, but I would definitely recommend it to people that are looking for a good value city break also!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your advice to our future guests, it's good to hear you are satisfied with our product and services. I will pass your compliments to my team, thank you again for posting a review. Best regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Simple basic hotel which was perfect for a stop-over at Schipol. Free airport bus, free wi-fi, small room with 2 beds (single loft bed over double bed), TV, desk and shower and WC cubicles.
Good breakfast available (extra charge) but no evening meal. Partner hotel just 300 yards away. Their cafe closed early but their restaurant was open late and provided a take away service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope you will choose again for my hotel when you visit Amsterdam the next time or one of our other ibis budget hotels around Europe. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport 1*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Amsterdam Airport
Etap Hotel Badhoevedorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.