We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem Solver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Problem Solver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This reviews the full Ibis hotel complex at Schiphol. I slept in the Budget hotel and used the regular hotel next door for services.

My experience solved the problem with Amsterdam hotels of inconsistency and unpredictability of hotel rooms below the 100 euro level. You never know what you're getting, how clean, large, equipped, how many flights of steep stairs you'll have to climb, etc. with these rooms. My favorite reliable hotel in Amsterdam proper is the Rembrandt on Plantage Middenlaan (reviewed elsewhere), but its rates for this trip would have been more than I wanted to pay, while I needed to be close to the airport at the same time. The Ibis Budget room at Schipohl is exactly as pictured and far superior in space, cleanliness, freshness than similar rooms for sometimes twice as much in the city - 55 euro for me this trip. It includes strong, free wifi. As important, it is a companion to a regular Ibis in the same complex with more services, stores, a good and active bar and pretty good restaurant, though both are a bit overpriced. I know we don't travel to eat and drink in suburban hotel bars and restaurants, but sometimes the rigors of travel are eased by those kinds of services.

The premium here is in transportation options. A free hotel bus runs on a continuous loop from Schiphol, about ten minutes away, to the Novotel up the road and back to each of the two hotels in the Ibis complex. So: If you've got early or late flights, it's a quick no hassle transit. Or if you want to take the 15 minute train ride from Schiphol to Centraal Station it takes you right to the train gates there. But there's more: a municipal bus, route 197 (and you can Google it) every 15 minutes for most of the day from Schipohl right into the center of Amsterdam proper. You can take the hotel bus to municipal bus, all in the same location at Schiphol, or you can take maybe a ten minute walk directly out the front door of the regular Ibis to the other end of the large, gray building across the street (KLM catering), and catch the 197 there (not the bus stop you can see from the hotel, but one in a shelter at the other end of the building). From the airport, and a shorter time from the stop near the hotel, you can get to Museumplein through regular city streets in about 20 minutes, then into grid of Amsterdam trams. Buy a day ticket, or 2, 3 day tickets from a van at the airport bus stops, and you can do it all faster and cheaper than train from Schiphol, unless your only destination is the area around CS.

Can't tell you how much easier and more comfortable the Ibis solution made this last trip which required both late arrivals and early departures to/from US and by train from Germany (Schiphol is the end of the line for a number of trains from Germany, probably other countries, as I took from Berlin). And of course we ought to be out in the city streets while we travel, but it was great, for example, to arrive late by train fr. Germany, get to a good, cheap hotel room in 15 minutes, have a couple of gin and tonics at a friendly bar, and a pretty good pizza w Greek salad in the restaurant upstairs. Bus 197 got me into the city easily the next morning, and hotel bus got me quickly to airport for an early morning flight back to US the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your extensive review also on behalf of Ibis Amsterdam Airport. It will be very helpfull for our future guests to make the right choice. I'm very happy we have made your trip easier and more comfortable and hope you will choose again for our airport hotels in the future. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    447
    276
    78
    34
See reviews for
245
304
147
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Could not fault this hotel at all. Easily reached by the free shuttle service and the staff on the front desk were very helpful! All we wanted was a cheap 3 night break in Amsterdam and we got exactly what we asked for. We were slightly skeptical at first about the location but once arriving, we realized that the travel time from the city to center to the hotel was at most 45-50 minutes. Most people do stay here just for a stop over and easy access to the airport, but I would definitely recommend it to people that are looking for a good value city break also!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your advice to our future guests, it's good to hear you are satisfied with our product and services. I will pass your compliments to my team, thank you again for posting a review. Best regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Simple basic hotel which was perfect for a stop-over at Schipol. Free airport bus, free wi-fi, small room with 2 beds (single loft bed over double bed), TV, desk and shower and WC cubicles.
Good breakfast available (extra charge) but no evening meal. Partner hotel just 300 yards away. Their cafe closed early but their restaurant was open late and provided a take away service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope you will choose again for my hotel when you visit Amsterdam the next time or one of our other ibis budget hotels around Europe. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Easily reachable from Schipol Airport, due to the free shuttle. Unfortunately, the bus can get very crowded. Stayed in a triple room, which was quite small, but well designed for moving around. Very clean, fair price, very good for staying near the airport if you leave Amsterdam next morning, instead of staying in the city and paying more, plus taking the train for the airport...

Standard Ibis budget breakfast for 7,50 euro, not fancy, with several cheese and ham choices. Good cofee!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards,
Operational Manager Inge Beek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed here on the 4th October, i found that the hotel was really good for what we had we couldn't complain. I was just looking for a cheap break a hotel very clean just to accommodate me for the 3 nights.
The rooms where very basic but really clean, quite spacious and the facilities within the hotel where also very good. Didn't have a problem once except the fact sometimes quite hard to get sleep with the airport nearby but that would always be something to consider.
Another good thing was the free shuttle service that took you to the airport. These ran every 15 minutes and the service was really good, not once was they late or once have a problem. The only thing i would say is if you want to see the most of Amsterdam then probably spend a little more for the city centre hotels.
Overall for what i paid i can't complain, £35 for 3 nights that is a bargain! this met my requirements and was really happy! i would recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap break!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. And thank you very much for your recommendation. With kind regards, operational manager Inge Beek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Amsterdam Airport
Etap Hotel Badhoevedorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.