We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewer smell in the showers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
1 review
“Sewer smell in the showers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A serious drainage smell in the building. My kid and I were unable to breath on our last night. The smell of sewer coming out the shower area was horrible. My sons eyes are still red from the smell. I noticed a plumbers truck in front of the hotel but the problem was not fixed. The experience of little sleep affected negatively our overall trip to Amsterdam as we were tired and my son waa agitate and complaining abt his eyes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm aware this was a bad experience for you and I'm very sorry for the inconvenience. We had a problem with the waterlocks in the showers, so the smell from the sewer came into the room. I hope your son is doing wel again. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    634
    381
    93
    45
See reviews for
331
432
218
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good price for an expensive city. Shuttle to Schipol and metro runs frequently. Breakfast is kind of a ripoff. Overall, not many complaints. Don't expect luxury here. Just use your room as a crash pad and spend your time exploring an amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fantastic price and good for a short stay, however when we arrived the staff was not friendly. When we were checked in, the room was not clean! Although staff moved us to another room , then the AC was not working.
Free WI-FI which is great, free shuttle to Schipol airport runs every 20 mins(fast and convenient).

I did see rats outside the hotel crawling around which kind off put me off eating anything from there!.

Seating area outside the hotel for fresh air at night and beautiful sunlight.

Also when I requested for extra pillow, I was offered more towels to use it as pillows! Not satisfactory!

Recommend it for short stay but watch out for 17 euros parking charges! (Parking expensive).



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here before and has not changed. It is cheap, basic and does the trick.

Free pendles to airport upto 01:00 and this starts at 05:00, so if you want you can visit Amsterdam and use this as a base.

Enjoy your trip and be safe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed with family for one night. Very easy to find using Sat Nav from the airport. Staff friendly in reception and Hotel was quiet with an uninterrupted nights sleep. Paid extra for a breakfast which was a basic buffet, all fresh food etc. Shuttle bus comes frequently and takes you 10 minutes or so to the airport where you get the main trains into Amsterdam center (short journey).
Paid about 10 euros return ticket but no one ever checked the tickets.
No air con in room but we didn't need it as it wasn't to warm for us.
Rooms are small but we knew this. They are modern/functional and clean. We stayed in lots of places this summer and for the price, this Ibis and those in Germany cannot be matched.
Only gripe was the parking charge which was around 18 euros overnight (check site for accurate cost). Other Ibis' where free.
One TA review advised leaving cars in McDonald's but this is a 6/7 minute walk away and unsecured. I also spoke to one of the restaurant staff who said I could leave the car, but they shut at 3am and then the Police patrolled due to the proximity to the airport. How they would deal with and abandoned hire car is anyone's guess, so we didn't leave it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accomodation choice during your recent visit to Amsterdam. It's good to hear you are satisfied about my staff and the hotel. I understand your remarks about the parkingfee but the prices are conform in this area and we have to follow it. We try to communicate the price as much as possible to prevent this to be a surprise for our guests.
Thank you for your review and hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badhoevedorp
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
7.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
1.9 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#121 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Amsterdam Airport
Etap Hotel Badhoevedorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.