We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, but watch out for the upper bunk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Merritt Island, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, but watch out for the upper bunk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I were very satisfied, in general, with our one night stay in your hotel and with your shuttle service to/from the airport. However, my wife hit her head twice on the edge of the upper bunk while unpacking a suitcase on the bed below. It might be well to edge it with some rubber padding. The breakfast was good, but a little pricey at 7.5 euros; we could have had a hot breakfast at the airport for the same price. And one thing I forgot to mention to the clerk: the sink drain in room 155 is flowing very slowly.
We'll most likely visit again when we are next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, I'm glad you had a good stay. I hope your wife is doing well,
we will pass your comment about the bunkbed to the development team of the brand. Best regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    444
    271
    76
    34
See reviews for
242
301
146
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an inexpensive option close to Schiphol as we had an early morning flight out. Got the room for around $100 all inclusive. It is convenient if you are three as there is a bunk bed above the main bed. However, the rooms are spartan. Only 2 small soap bars and the thinnest towels you've seen.

Even though it's a non smoking hotel, the passageways reeked to smoke. May have been the cleaning staff on break.

The shuttle service to and from Schiphol is convenient and reasonably frequent. It serves 3 hotels - the 2 IBIS and the Novotel. So it may take time- plan accordingly.

There is no restaurant on the property but there are a couple on the nearby Ibis. If it costs $10 more, go for the IBIS. If the price difference is greater, go for the IBIS Budget. Better yet, if you're by yourself and don't have too much luggage, stay at the Yotel inside Schiphol. You'll get an extra hour of sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Budget place to stay near the airport. Close to the airport, just 10 min ride. Free transfer to/from airport with shuttle bus every 20-30 min runs 24/7. You can also take local bus 300 and 310 to reach the hotel. The rooms are very basic, but this is OK for overnight stay. The breakfast costs 7 EUR, but it's awlful :(, don't take it. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and in the room as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

After missing a flight we looked for somewhere to stay. Ibis was full so ibis budget it was.

Never going to even stand in the foyer ever again.

The room smelled like something had died in there. There was some used dental floss in the corner and some very strange marks on the mattress and the sheets were awfully crispy.

We opened up the shower cubical and found the source of the smell or well we nearly did, although there wasn't anything in te shower it's where the smell was coming from. We had to leave the room straight away else we would have puked!!! Back to te real ibis for a nightcap to take the edge of sleeping in that room.

Oh one slightly good thing is te free bus but its not specifically put on for this hole of a hotel but is shared with about 4 others so it will be cramped in the morning as its the last stop before the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies. The experience you described causes us deep concern. It does not represent the quality of service we strive for at our hotel. I can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to avoid this in the future. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was unable to cancel my reservation on the Ibis Budget website, so I telephoned the hotel. The receptionist I spoke with had difficulty finding my reservation primarily because she did not listen to the correct spelling of my last name (which consists of only four letters). Eventually she found it and assured me she would cancel the reservation. She did not. Now I will have to fight through my credit card company.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here on a 3 day / 2 night visit to Amsterdam. Friendly staff and a warm welcome. Rooms are obviously small as it is a budget hotel but for one person they are just right. Regular shuttle service but as I had a car did not need it. Had breakfast on one morning and it was very good value. Also had dinner at the adjacent Ibis hotel and there is a good choice of menu there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went to Ibis Budget during Queen's day knowing that the rest of Amsterdam would be expensive. For its price, this hotel was exactly what I expected. Clean linen, friendly staff, and three beds in one room. Even if you book a room for 2, there is a third bed readily available, which is handy as you could have a friend stay over in the hotel without needing to book an extra bed.

One thing that I really liked but should have done from the beginning of my stay is book sightseeing tours from the reception rather than going straight to Amsterdam. They have good discount deals.

If there is one slight criticism, it comes from them not providing three towels even though we were three in a room. I am not sure why that happened, perhaps some miscommunication.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. I'm glad my team made your stay enjoyable, we hope to see you back on your next trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Amsterdam Airport
Etap Hotel Badhoevedorp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.