We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if needed to stay nearby airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel if needed to stay nearby airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We arrived late at night. Had a top floor room, with adjacent room with sofa bed for the kids and tv as well a very spacious private deck terrace with pretty view a table and four chairs. Bed is comfortable, toilet clean. Very friendly staff. Breakfast included and it was fantastic! We recommended 100%. Shuttle available from airport, only dislike city-bus like shuttle with makes two aditional hotel stops and was experience as packed to the roof. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Alleunna,

Many thanks for these nice words. Having satisfied guests like you is our greatest reward.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in our new renovated hotel.

Kind regards

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    226
    130
    39
    20
See reviews for
99
131
80
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Unfortunately, I stay at this hotel when this hotel do a little renovation and make it looks messy. Wish they could make it better and maximize the space for the room. The bathroom is nice with a bath tub. Breakfast menu is quiet nice, they give us choice for several cereals and kinds of bread also a lot of jam and kinds of tea. It's near to the Schipol Airport and there's free shuttle bus access. It's nice to stay here

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Feli,


We would like to thank you for the comments and your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to inform you that the renovations have been completed. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the nearer future and let you experience this hotel in a new different way.

Sincerly,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The renovation works are in full swing. The lobby is not in use currently and the friendly staff upgraded me to the new rooms. I would have enjoyed the clean, good room if there had been any kind of sound proofing. But there is not. I have a light sleep and woke up several times, unable to sleep from 5am on when people started checking out and headed for the airport.
Despite the modern rooms, the friendly staff and the decent breakfast i will most likely not return. Too noisy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam

Thank you for staying in the Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam.


We appreciate that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the hotel I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We also have rooms located in the back of the hotel which might sound poorer.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the nearer furture in our new renovated hotel.

Kind regards,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked knowing full well that they were having renovations done, however we were very surprised by the large scale of them. Once we found the reception the staff were very polite and very keen to get us to upgrade to one of the new rooms, after a small negotiation we secured the new room two nights for the price of one on the upgrade cost. There was then an issue with parking, it stated free parking on trip advisor but when we arrived they told us €15 a day for parking. Luckily after explaining to the receptionist that we only chose the hotel because of the free parking, we were let off the fee- fantastic customer service! The new room was excellently furnished- huge comfortable bed, more than enough space in the wardrobe, a safety deposit box which you activities with your credit card, massive TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Instead of ceramic mugs, you are only given paper cups for your coffee which unfortunately let the rest of the room down. The bathroom was spotless, however during the renovations no one checked that our plug fitted the bath, so when it came to drain the water the plug was stuck. We notified the reception and they sent a handyman straight away. Housekeeping were lovely and we didn't want our room cleaning so they provided more than enough towels, new tea and coffee supplies as well as vanity products- moisturiser, soap etc.
The breakfast is an amazing buffet- ranges from pastries, sweet bread and normal varieties of bread, there is an extensive range of jams, honey etc, then a big range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt. The hot food was excellent- scrambled egg, potato wedges, bacon, boiled eggs, different varieties of hot meat. Lastly the cold meats and cheese were tasty and again varied. You basically turn up, claim a table and raid the buffet. Thee is also plenty of hot and cold drinks- a coffee machine where you choose the type of coffee and various hugs if cold drinks like apple and orange juice. If you get chance I highly recommend visiting the sauna, steam room and swimming pool, the changing rooms are very small (and I think you're expected to change etc in your room) but the pool is a good size, with a children area and floats that your children can use. The sauna and steam room are clean and well presented and there are plenty of towels that you can use at that facility. Despite there being revelations taking place we never heard them in our room and only when you went downstairs for breakfast could you see and hear them then. The staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jennie,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to comment our hotel, and would like to thank you for that.

We are delighted about the positive comments regarding your stay with us.

Renovations are almost finished and it is very nice to have positive guests like you who are able to see through these inconveniences.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you in our new renovated hotel,

Kind regards,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were expecting to be staying at the Novotel, but this property has rebranded to Dorint who used to operate an excellent property at the airport that has now been rebranded the Steigenburger to make things even more confusing! Though we recognised that Dorint was a good upmarket brand so were not too disappointed.
One of the main reasons I prefer taking my stopover at Amsterdam airport rather than at Heathrow is because most of the Amsterdam airport hotels still provide complimentary shuttles from the airport, so getting here was quick and easy.
On arrival we found our check in experience pretty frosty and were disappointed to be given an old Novotel style room that had not yet been refurbished. The rooms that have been refurbished to the upmarket Dorint level they classify as superior, though they are just the standard rooms featured in every other Dorint! While I appreciate it may take some time for a full refurbishment they should place all guests in the new dorint style rooms, sincethat is what people expect from the dorint Brand! We did however sleep pretty well and the room was perfectly quiet for an airport property.

They have a pretty nice pool and separate wellness area with sauna and steam, though this is only available till 8:00pm in the evening which seems very early for an airport hotel. Often if I come off a late flight I like to relax with a leisurely sauna about 9pm in the evening before I go to bed, so this facility should remain available till around 10:00pm so guests have more flexibility. Also if you are Not European be aware that the Dutch and German men tend to go to the sauna completely Naked!, while this did not concern me as a man I would have been embarrassed if a female member of my family had of accompanied me. The pool is small but ok for a quick dip. I did not use the gym. Breakfast was very expensive, so since we had lounge access back at the airport we decided to take breakfast while waiting to board our flight since we had it again. While this hotel is perfectly ok I think there are better propertys at the airport my main choices being the Hilton and Steigenburger but if this hotel ups its game and becomes more focused on the needs of the guest I will consider a return visit

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was a great hotel as far as amenities were concerned. Rooms are large, have a refrigerator, bathrooms large and bed is comfortable. The hotel was under renovation but the staff made every effort to see that we were not affected by this. There is a shuttle to the airport where you can access the train into town or better yet, the tram is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the ride takes you through a beautiful area of Amsterdam with a windmill to boot!

Room Tip: Top floor has a great view of Amsterdam
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels placed in tub are laundered, otherwise leave them on the rack.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mrs. Gloriamaris,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay in the Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam.
We are delighted about the positive comments and especially your comments regarding the team is very much appreciated and I will share your review with them.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We hope we may welcome you again as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night before an early morning flight leaving from Schiphol airport. The Dorint hotels generally are luxurious, however this hotel is in the process of rebranding from Novotel to Dorint. We booked the hotel through the internet for a cheap price, so were not surprised when we realized that the construction work was still going on. Our room was not yet updated, so was a bit smelly and old. We had dinner, which was excellent, and definitely worth 4 stars. Good wines were served. Breakfast was great too. Parking and shuttle to airport was good. All in all, not up to Dorint standards yet, hopefully will be after construction works are done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Carl V,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay in the Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam.

Your positive remarks regarding the staff and the restaurant is a big compliment for us with I appreciate this extensively. I will make sure to inform the team about your review.
We are working hard on getting all staff and the hotel back to the Dorint standards which you are used to.

We hope we may welcome you again soon as our guest in the new and improved Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam.



Kind regards,
Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam is a 4 star hotel ideally located in a quiet area around Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, which is only 5 km away. In our hotel, not far from the centre of Amsterdam, a good night sleep is guaranteed. The Novotel is an ideal base for guests on a business trip. All hotel rooms feature free WiFi and airconditioning. The hotel offers 10 meeting rooms, a lobby bar, pub, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna and hamam. Adjacent to a sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Badhoevedorp
Badhoevedorp Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.