We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dorint instead of Novotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Dorint instead of Novotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Okay, for starters we had booked the Novotel because of our Accor membership andbesides we had stayed at the Novotel 2 years earlier, so we knew it to be alright and handy for our purposes. When we arrived it had a new name, no Accor membership anymore and we were Not advised of the changes. We had booked many months ago and they had taken our money already, so you would think we would be advised of the changes. But no we were not.if we had known we would have definitely changed to Ibis.

When we checked in at around 9.30pm the man at the front desk did not seem to care one bit. He was unfriendly and just insisted we pay the tourist taxes before we were allowed in.

Our room was okay, but basic. Paper cups for coffee and tea, plastic "glasses" in the bathroom, very cheap. An old television that was unable to get English spoken tv. When we asked they sent someone to help us and this person informed us that if we wanted English then we would have to pay extra. This hotel relies heavily on aircrew from different airlines so one would think that an English spoken tv channel would be very important to them. But no, pay extra (we did not).

Floors 3 and 4 are being redone. All floors are in desperate need for that.

Breakfast was good. Friendly staff and plenty of choice. No complaints there. Also our best evening was when we just sat in the lobby having a drink with Dutch "bitterballen" which are a round meat croquette. Very nice and pleasant. The lobby is very good and comfortable. Nice souvenir shop as well.

Must say I miss the bowl with "drop" on the check-in counter that the Novotel used to have.

Room Tip: Try to get a newer room, they must be better than the old ones. We were on level 5 and they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Catrina,

Thank you for your time and the comments concerning your stay.

We are surprised to hear that you have not been notified about the rebranding, please accept our apologies.

The renovation should be finished in September, we hope we may welcome you again in our are renewed superior rooms.

Kind regards,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    212
    120
    39
    20
See reviews for
96
117
77
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is located close to the airport and offers free shuttle service. We stayed there at a special, reasonable rate (park, sleep and fly). The room was okay, not very big, limited wardrobe space and the bathroom had all we needed. Staff at check in was very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again if we fly from Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam

Thank you very much for your time and to reward us with these positive comments.

We experience these comments as our greatest compliment.

Kind regards,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel changed it's name from Novatel to Durint last week, so imagine trying to find the well advertised shuttle to the hotel without this information. Using the push button board to contact hotel for shuttle, I asked when the shuttle for the Novatel Hotel would be by. They Said 15 minutes
But did not mention the name change. Finally a shuttle driver for a different hotel dropped us of.
This is a very tired hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, old big heavy tv's, dirty ceiling joints and air conditioners. Lighting in bathroom belonged in a bar it was so low.

Venturing to the restaurant (there are no other options anywhere nearby) the buffet looked as if it had been out and left alone for some time. agree anted this was mid evening, but it still was un appealing. They did make a deliciousness tomato soup. The Bar manager, Carlos was the one really bright spot in our stay. He helps us with our food order and we had a very pleasant conversation with him. We skipped the 20 Euro breakfast and opted to get something at the airport.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comments and we are sorry that you have experienced some inconciences during the rebranding.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better our services in the near future in our renovated Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was charged EUR 199 per night to stay in a miserable cheap and nasty room that, in common with the entire hotel, desperately needs a massive makeover.

I can't remember when I last stayed in a hotel with an old fashioned tube TV instead of a modern flat screen. Everything about my stay was just depressing and awful - topped off by a stranger entering my room on the second night of my stay! Turns out the 'new reservations system' (reception staff response) didn't know I was registered in the room and allowed someone else to be checked in... The manager was apologetic, and so he jolly well should be. Suppose I'd been a lone female guest??!

The hotel gave me a EUR 99 rebate for the trouble but still the final bill of ver EUR 300 for 2 nights was outrageously high for such a miserable dump of a property.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were looking for a hotel nearby Schipol. As a family of 4 is always hard to find a room for our needs. It exceeded our expectations. Reception was painless and friendly. We were appointed a top floor room, 616, it has a king size bed and adjoining room with a sofa bed and even a little terrace with a table and four chairs overlooking green fields. Bathroom has all the amenities and shower is great. The mattress was really comfortable. The breakfast was very complete, bread was fresh. Overall if you want to be close to the airport, this is a good option. Shuttle runs from and to the airport every 15 minutes or so.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

its a decent hotel located close to the airport.though quite far from the city.we stayed for one night here n it was a just abt ok experience.the hotel being far from the city,we had to take a cab back since we were returning late at night.it did cost us a lot!the rooms are just abt ok,not the usual novotel standard.comfortable beds n a clean bathroom,and enuf space to move around in the room.the doors wouldnt lock n it was a weird feeling to sleep like that with a partly latched door.the plus point was the lovely breakfast,a huge spread n plenty to choose from.also very helpful staff at the restaurant.overall a good stay though the hotel could improvise on a few aspects.

Room Tip: please check the door if it closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Jun 2014 and we were never ever so traumatised by a hotel stay. In the middle of the night my husband and I were startled to see a guy walk into the room! He claimed to be a hotel staff and needed to check on the room. He did not even do the basic ie knock on the room and opened the door and walked straight in! Now in this hotel there is no latch from inside the room so the service staff can access the room easily. What kind of lousy security is it! He apologised and left the room shortly and feeling insecure, I called the reception to double check (in case he is not a staff!) and they wanted to offer me a drink to appease me. Why would I want that in the middle of the night and to be honest, we were totally shaken by the experience and did not rest properly for the rest of the night. This is totally unacceptable and this hotel has failed terribly in my opinion, as
they cannot even provide the sense of security, a very basic requirement that a traveller is seeking.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam is a 4 star hotel ideally located in a quiet area around Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, which is only 5 km away. In our hotel, not far from the centre of Amsterdam, a good night sleep is guaranteed. The Novotel is an ideal base for guests on a business trip. All hotel rooms feature free WiFi and airconditioning. The hotel offers 10 meeting rooms, a lobby bar, pub, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna and hamam. Adjacent to a sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Badhoevedorp
Badhoevedorp Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.