We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Novotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stay in this hotel because our flight, was delay , so the Airline give us hotel voucher.
Easily to reach the hotel since they have shuttle bus from the airport, we reach the hotel almost mid night, they servicing the simple dinner,
the room was clean and comfort. in the morning breakfast was fine,
Location of the hotel close to airport, with lot parking spot,
Unfortunately we have the room in the smoking floor, so the smell of cigarette still in this room.

Room Tip: For non smoker people ask non smoking room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mr, Mrs

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out the questionnaire.

Sorry to hear that there was a strong smell of cigarettes in the room, the hotel is officially a non smoking hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that we are renovating the hotel, hopefully there will be no smoke smell anymore.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the hotel,

Kind regards

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    212
    120
    39
    20
See reviews for
96
117
77
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, Brazil
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The welcoming started weeks prior to my arrival, when communicating with reception regarding it due to logistics; she had the most friendly tone and all my requests were seen into!
The shuttle bus at Schippol is most punctual and at no time one reaches the hotel, in a dead area near the airport, so do not count on anything to do outside the hotel, except for the local restaurant 2 minutes away!
The Dutch are always very kind people and really service-oriented, always chatty and with a smile to offer - so was welcoming at check-in!
My travel partner had checked in before me and all amenities and complimentary items were already available then, unlike in other hotels of the chain, where one needs to beg to have their status acknowledged!
The two beds in the suite are huge, a whole family can stay in! However, I couldn't help feeling transported back to the 80s with the decoration, rather too woody and a bit tacky - a frequent Novotel guest, businessperson or not, expects the modernness the brand implies, not the feeling of being in an old building! This is actually the sole negative aspect of the hotel!
Breakfast is most assorted, dinner/lunch menu is concise and not expensive, internet is fast and reliable; the pool and sauna in the basement don't seem used often, which means they kind of belong to you, excellent!!!
If willing to have some more comfort than at neighbouring Ibis Budget and Ibis, and if there is a good offer for a little bit more euros, take my advice and do book your stay tthere!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Vitor,

Many thanks for your nice comments and motivating words.

May I ask you if you have a name of the person who assisted you before arriving to our hotel? I would like to personally thanks our receptionist for a job well done.

Also I am happy to inform you that we are planning a renovation this summer. So I hope we may welcome again soon in an completely remodeled and improved hotel.

Again many thanks and my sincere appreciation for informing us about your stay.


Kind regards,


Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Novotel Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Being close to the airport this hotel has facilities you would expect to appeal to businessmen.
Staff was well mannered and spoke perfect English.
The room was standard size, clean with a comfortable bed and a decent size bathroom.
Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the questionnaire and for your positve comments.

These comments are very inportant for us, so we can inprove our services in the hotel.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward .

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.


Kind regards
Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenfeld, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Typical Novotel. No real surprise. Shuttle service to and from the airport is good, other than that the location is terrible. You're stuck in a residential neighborhood with nothing to do around. Breakfast is OK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is localized in a good region, however, the service is not that good, the parking is very expensive and it is impossible to pay for the breakfast. Good aspects, it is clean, close to the airport and has free shuttles.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Eduardo,

Thank you for your stay in the Novotel Amsterdam airport.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to answer our questionnaire.

We are very sorry to hear that you had to experience some difficulties concerning the breakfast, please accept our apologies.

Thanks again for sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better our services in the near future.

Kind regards
Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed 1 night for business. overall ok without exceeding expectations. fitness is in neighbouring fitness center open 7-23 - large facilities but cost 10€ pr. day.

bed quality ok - and sleep, bath etc. ok. walls seems thin (could hear neighbour during night).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sir,


With reference to your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Amsterdam Airport.

Your feed back is very important for us and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write your review on the site.

I am excited to inform you that we are planning a renovation mid 2014 for half of our rooms and the entire ground floor. I hope we can also do a moderation to improve the soundproof in the rooms.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope we may welcome you again as our guest in the near future.


Sincerely,

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Novotel Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel just for a night for early departure the next morning. I did not know where I can take the hotel shuttle so took a cab instead. It was during the rush hour in the evening and it took 20 min and cost 32 euro! The driver said I should have taken the shuttle and I will do that next time. The shuttle goes to two other nearby hotels and the next morning, the first shuttle bus to the airport was very packed. Several people missed the shuttle because of too many passengers. I had dinner at the hotel, and it was not bad at all. The atmosphere was just OK and most customers are solo. Not many selections, and what I chose was the daily special, which was hearty and tasty. The room was comfortable enough and quiet. The bathroom was pretty clean and the tub was large enough to ease my stress. I may come back to this hotel for the transit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5330, General Manager at Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Kon'nichiwa Mr. Niigata,

Thank you for staying in the Novotel Amsterdam Airport and also that you have taking the time to share your comments with us by filling out the survey.

We are very sorry to hear that you could not find our shuttle bus at the airport. All the hotel busses are located outside the arrival hall at bus stop A9. If you have any questions just contact the hotel.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind regards

Stefan Bernstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam is a 4 star hotel ideally located in a quiet area around Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, which is only 5 km away. In our hotel, not far from the centre of Amsterdam, a good night sleep is guaranteed. The Novotel is an ideal base for guests on a business trip. All hotel rooms feature free WiFi and airconditioning. The hotel offers 10 meeting rooms, a lobby bar, pub, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna and hamam. Adjacent to a sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Badhoevedorp
Badhoevedorp Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.