We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Amsterdam Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    195
    109
    35
    18
See reviews for
92
103
70
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I usually stay at the Ibis when I want to be near the airport. This was my first time staying at this Novotel, which is also near the airport. There is a shared shuttle with Ibis from Schiphol. The hotel is a level up from the normal Ibis. There is a gift shop, bar, restaurant, and even a pool in the basement. The room was larger than your typical crammed Ibis room. The bathroom was a decent size. There was a free buffet breakfast with my room which was decent as well.

The only negative thing about the hotel is that has not been kept well. The building needs major face lifting and refurbishing. The carpets in the hotel look old and worn out (includes the rooms). The furniture in the hotel also looks dated and needs to be replaced.

Nevertheless, for the money you pay compared to other hotels in Europe it is a good deal.

The staff were very friendly during my staff.

Room Tip: Don't get to the hotel before 12pm as they might charge you extra to get you into a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night after our flight was delayed until the next morning. We were given a voucher for dinner in the hotel which was absolutely the most horrendous buffet I've ever experienced. Food was congealed and soggy and disgusting.

Room was a decent size but there was a constant hum from the air conditioner which I could not turn off. There were air con controls in the room but there seemed to be a building-wide humming air con system on constantly, as you could hear it in the hallways as well. It was very annoying when I was trying to sleep.

Pillows were floppy and there was a hilarious note saying there were 'firmer' pillows in the wardrobe - they were even worse than the original ones!

Breakfast was just as disgusting as dinner and the staff all looked fed up to be there. I would be too if I had to spend any more time there. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel close to the Schiphol airport.The shuttle bus runs regularly to the airport.The rooms are modern,clean and good quality beds and linen.Very goog value for money.There is a good restaurant in the hotel .There are free Internet and WiFi

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you are on a budget. Its a quick bus trip from the airport (although be warned that the blue Accor Bus stops and the IBIS and IBIS Budget before it gets to Badhoevedorp so it can get a little bit packed!!)

I've reviewed it once before when I had a huge exec suite with a bath in the middle of the room. This time I went for a basic room in the hopes of getting a normal bathroom - which I did. It was OK - a small balcony and a view of Schiphol in the distance. They've also added a Nespresso machine. The furnishing is basic (a bit aged - the headboard has turned yellow!) and the TV is ancient. But they are OK for one night. However the bathroom was grim - small and very dark despite 3 eco-bulbs. The shower was disgusting and had mould all around it so I used the shower over the bath which was at least very clean.

The best bit about this hotel is the pub in the basement which is now open from 7pm during the week. This has a large screen showing sports and it serves a great selection of beers and wines. We had Pizza and a large plate of bitterballen (guilty pleasure!!) both of which were incredibly hot and really tasty (EUR 10 per dish) - it was a great surprise and we had a really enjoyable evening there. The barman was great - very friendly and he spoke perfect English for us (thank you!) There isn't much around the hotel so if you want to relax I really recommend the bar in the basement - I'd go back for the bitterballen alone!

Room Tip: Relax in the "pub" in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Missed connection at Schipol and KLM put us in here. It had the look and feel of a contracted room rate, check in process extremly efficient, hand over voucher & sign, dinner was a simple cafeteria food, - nothing wrong with it - but the room was passed it best, still had a small CRT TV and the bath was not as clean as it should be. on plus side it had a good free shuttle bus service both ways to airport,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam Airport is a 4 star hotel ideally located in a quiet area around Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, which is only 5 km away. In our hotel, not far from the centre of Amsterdam, a good night sleep is guaranteed. The Novotel is an ideal base for guests on a business trip. All hotel rooms feature free WiFi and airconditioning. The hotel offers 10 meeting rooms, a lobby bar, pub, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna and hamam. Adjacent to a sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Badhoevedorp
Badhoevedorp Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.