We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed one day at this hotel. Its close to the airport and can be arrived at both via shuttle or taxi. The number of people on the hotel shuttle can vary. It stops at the Ibis, Etap and Novotel. We noticed that most people boarded or alighted at the Ibis. We stayed in an execute suite and therefore had an extra meeting room with a table and chairs. The hotel had air conditioning, refrigerator and a hair dryer. Overall, pretty good although we never tried the restaurant. There is not much near the hotel (typical of most airport hotels). Best option is to take the shuttle + train to get to wherever you want to for dinner, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    193
    108
    34
    17
See reviews for
93
103
70
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bozeman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is adequate, but definitely not 4 star in my opinion. I travel a lot, and usually stay at 4 star properties. Upon arrival at the hotel, there are about 7 steps that lead to an outdated revolving door at the entrance. There is no bell staff at the hotel, so if you have a lot of bags or a back broblem, not having access to bell help may be a problem as it was for me. I had a layover day in AMS, and wanted to do some sightseeing...there is not a concierge service at the hotel either, as you would find in most "4 star" hotels. The lobby is small, and there is not a gift shop or place to purchase water other than a small refigerated cabinet at the front desk (the water is excessively expensive). The business center is a couple of computers set up in the lobby area. The "complimentary breakfast" is a croissant and coffee available in the lobby between 4:30 and 6:30am. The hotel is unattractive, and needs updating. The small screen tube television in our room is the first tube type TV I've seen in a hotel room in many years. I have to assume that the star rating given is because there is a fitness center near the hotel, and they have a pool. If you are expecting a 4 star property, I would think twice about staying at the Novotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Good quiet room with a frig and electric kettle. Have to pay for Internet if you use the in room cable but the wireless is free - very odd. Free bus to the airport/train station about a 15 minute ride since the bus stops at two other hotels. The Novotel is the furthest of the three. from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed on business in March 2012 on a stopover between Amsterdam and Paris. My office had booked me in so I had no expectations but it was perfectly good for an airport hotel. The staff were really friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The room itself was pretty basic and not exactly modern but it was hardly an unpleasant environment and worked perfectly for my needs that day.
I didn't have breakfast due to an early flight and a reluctance to get out of bed but the free bus to the airport was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Must say, I have stayed in better Novotels elsewhere. But the proximity to Schiphol airport and the free shuttle service makes it a good overnight stay option in transit.

The bus ride takes 15 minutes and it stops at all the Accor hotels - Etap, Ibis and lastly at Novotel. This hotel has a pool and fitness centre, in addition to a cosy bar underground supplementing the restaurant at the lobby.

The rooms are decent and if you get a Schiphol view, it is actually a nice sight of unhindered view from your window.

I did face some problem with the staff though, when they seemed to be either ignoring you or to understaffed to handle a crowd. Airline crews stay here and they seemed to get preferential treatment. Even a A-Club counter beside the reception has not helped me with a fast checkin despite being a gold member.

Overall, so-so.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Good Hotel
Friendly personnel
Clean Rooms
Rooms big enough to fit in addition one or two childrens beds
Excellent breakfast facilities with enough food choices
Good parking facilities and safe
Shuttle service is frequent and on time

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sloterweg 299, 1171VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam Airport is a 4 star hotel ideally located in a quiet area around Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, which is only 5 km away. In our hotel, not far from the centre of Amsterdam, a good night sleep is guaranteed. The Novotel is an ideal base for guests on a business trip. All hotel rooms feature free WiFi and airconditioning. The hotel offers 10 meeting rooms, a lobby bar, pub, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna and hamam. Adjacent to a sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Badhoevedorp
Badhoevedorp Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.