We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afar from the madding crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afar from the madding crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

I stayed at the Ibis while sightseeing in Europe with friends. It was extremely convenient to stay there, because the night life in Amsterdam is worth dying for. We did not need to bother with taxis, as the airport is so close by. There is a train station in the basement of the airport that offers services to the centre of town. One can hop on or off anytime.
As for the hotel itself, the rooms were spacious, and especially the bathrooms offered lots of space to unwind in. Staff was courteous, and food was great. Overall, great place to spend a few days in.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    716
    379
    91
    52
See reviews for
195
454
297
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who cant locate somewhere within the budget in Amsterdam central. Me, my partner and a friend went in March and had a great time (besides the snow!!!) The hotel has a smoking and non smoking selection of room, me and my partner although smokers chooose non smoking rooms and my friend smokig. I can honestly say....Opt for NON-SMOKING rooms. The furniture was ALOT better and didnt stink half as much. There was a safe on table by door which was handy and flat screen on wall at end of bed. View non exsistant but realisticly...how long do you want to be in the hotel!! The transport to and from Schipol Airport is great, although i found the train fairs into central Amsterdam a bit steep. It IS a good stay and deffinatly worth trying out!!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardabaer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

I stayed at this hotel my last day of my trip to Amsterdam. It's a beautiful hotel with nice helpful staff. I loved our room there with comfy beds, lovely smelling soaps in the bathroom and over all great accommodations.
The breakfast there was grand, delicious and reasonably priced.
You can hear the planes from the airport all through the night but it's not so bad at all and that's to bee expected when you stay at an airport hotel :)

The hotel is also quite far from the center and the main terminal to the airport but you can take the hotel shuttle to the airport terminal where you can get on a train to where ever you want to go. The ride to the airport is reasonably priced and it is free to ride from the terminal to the airport.

The stay at this hotel was very nice and i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Efficient room configuration for business overnighters, full-wall desk for computing, etc. Bathroom shower ceilings are *very* low and the walls are thin. Since the hotel is popular with youths and bargain-minded party people in for an Amsterdam weekend, it can be noisy in the halls at night be warned. Pizza restaurant in hotel is surprisingly good.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Stayed here overnight having arrived late at the airport and feeling tired.
The room was OK and very much geared for what I wanted, late arrival, early departure.
Staff friendly
Breakfast not so good though.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Like a lot of people at this hotel we were taken here when our flight out of Amsterdam broke down. 2 flights from different airlines broke down at the same time and around 200 people were then waiting at the 'shuttle bus' stop. When it finally arrived after about a 30 min wait the pushing and shoving to get onboard was hilarious. Again probably not the hotels fault but it was laughable.

Upon arrival at the hotel it got no better, all desks were open and the queues were out the door, lucky enough we managed to get to the front of the queue and checked in fairly quickly.

Room was, as all Ibis's, pretty basic, also found the room pretty stuffy, only had 1 towel so my partner had to go downstairs and battle the queues again to get a 2nd towel.

Next morning the buffet was I guess acceptable.

All in all a pretty basic hotel, but as others said it's huge and sort of like a cruise ship. It really is built for the airlines for when their flights breakdown and can send a planeload of people there!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

I stayed at the Ibis Schipol for 1 night as part of my Contiki tour. The check-in/out was very easy and the room was great. I booked a single and got a nice big room to myself. It was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good as well.

Having been to Amsterdam before, the only drawback was the hotel was a bit of the city. However there was a shutte that would drop you to the airport and from there you could catch the train into town.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — A bit far from the city
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 3 restaurants, 24 hour bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, HotelsNL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.