We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night due to a layover for our flight the next morning. It was easy to find the shuttle bus stop and the wait was short. The room was very small but clean and very functional. We didn't eat at the hotel but the food prices were typical hotel food prices. The next morning the shuttle service was punctual. Wouldn't recommend for a long stay but would definitely stay here for an overnight stay before a flight the next day.

Room Tip: Face towels are not provided so you should have your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at [Hotel name], I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Miriam Groenveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    739
    387
    94
    54
See reviews for
203
471
301
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

*The key for storing your luggage in the room is given to anyone. The desk attendants just handed to key to anyone to put their luggage in the room. No one supervises the room. Anyone could walk in there and take whatever they want. When my husband went back to pick up our luggage, there was a pile of poop in the corner of the room. (literally a pile of crap!!)
* Asked if would be possible to have a handicap accessible room - the entire hotel has only one room.
* Ibis claims to be air conditioned. But the dials don't work or adjust the temperature. I called reception about this. He said that customers don't control the temperature - the hotel does.
*When we go to the room, we found the door's dead bolt didn't lock. (1105). Hotel was booked full - no other rooms were available.
* The towels for the shower were threadbare.

First and last stay at an ibis hotel!! I can't imagine what the ibis budget hotel experience would be.

Room Tip: My tip to choosing a good room - stay at any hotel that isn't an ibis hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss with you in person. Please could you call me on 0031 20 502 5278. I also send you an email to you, it also possible to answer my email.

Kind regards,

Miriam Groenveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, UT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed one night at the Ibis, due to a forced layover. You do have to take a shuttle to the Ibis, but it is only 10 minutes. The free shuttle bus arrived soon after I got to the curbside (and located the right area to stand). It appeared that the shuttles were running every 20-30 minutes during the afternoon. The staff were very helpful upon our arrival, and I paid for the room right at the beginning so I would not have to worry about checkout the next morning. They gave me a flyer with the scheduled shuttle departures to the airport, and the shuttle was running right on time. The room itself was very basic, as you might expect for a low-price alternative like this. Very clean, and I had no problems with air conditioning. It was comfortable enough, and I did not have any problems with noise. Wi-fi was decently fast. I found the bed to be quite comfortable, as well. All in all, it was a good night's sleep. I did not take breakfast in the morning as it was very expensive. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on the website. We are very glad that you gave us a 5 out of 5 score on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Miriam Groenveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

First off never been a fan of central air unless you are able to keep it fairly cool. Some of their rooms have air conditioning built in so you can control and others don't. Stayed in one room that did and was comfortable and able to sleep. Stayed in one that doesn't. To add to that the windows basically open a little and have a huge holes in the screens. Its not super cheap, so I would expect a better experience for the cost. The shuttle was nice to and from the air port. However I don't consider this a perk for a hotel that labels themselves an airport hotel. It is to be expected I would think.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Unfortunately, not all our rooms are air-conditioned. I will advice you for your next stay to give airconditioning as a preference. When there is a room available with airconditioning we will do our best to arrange this for you.

Kind regards,

Miriam Groenveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We decided fairly spur of the moment to stay here for two nights. All-in-all it was a good experience. A few things...
It was clean although the floors seemed a bit sticky. Perhaps due to whatever they use to clean the floors with. The bed was comfortable. We booked 3 rooms and one of them was really quite hot (no air/con). There's no tissues, hand towels, no hooks in the bathroom. Good water pressure in the shower.

The breakfast was fine. Lots of selection and everything was tasty.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Our three rooms weren't together and she went above and beyond to call housekeeping and get us all three together. The service desk also helped us out on at least 3 different occasions. When I had trouble with the lobby computer getting us checked in for our flight, they immediately took my information and checked in for me on their computer, printing my boarding passes for me.

The parking is exorbitant. 17.50 Euros for a day but we had to leave and come back in order to fill our car with gas as we had to be at the airport for 5am in the morning. It cost us 32.50Euros to get out that time and then another 17.50 Euros when we left. They've got you over a barrel on that one.

One tip... they sell large bottles of water for 5 or 6 Euros (I thought 5 but my dad said 6 and he's the one that bought one). We went to a grocery store nearby when we got gas and paid 0.85 Euros for the same bottle...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. This is very important for us to be able to improve our quality of service.

Kind regards,

Miriam Groenveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is practical, well located to the airport (with free shuttle bus) and has all the amenities which provide excellent value for money. The shuttle can take you back to Schiphol if you wish to catch the train to Amsterdam Central or the rest of Holland. We booked for our arrival to allow for a stress free first night before touring Holland the next day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nadja Ruiter
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If only I had a lot of nice things to say about this hotel but I don't. We had booked a disabled accessible room two months in advance of our stay at this hotel and when we arrived - only a standard room was available! I asked how his was possible and I was told 'someone else has booked the room' I then said that we had booked if over two months ago and I was told 'the other person booked it in advance as well' - I don't see how that is my problem? All they had to do was let us know that the room was booked and we could have looked elsewhere, instead of us flying all the way from Australia to confronted with this situation! The management did help somewhat and they were as accommodating as they could be but I strongly advised my mother to move hotels but she didn't want to make a fuss and she had done enough travelling - she needed rest. She said that she would 'make do' again this was against my advice so I spent the whole time worrying if she might have a fall somewhere in her room because it was not suitable for her. Then no one showed us where the lifts were to take her to the restaurant in the forth floor - we were just shown the escalators (which she cannot use) and to top it all off she put laundry out the day before we were to leave so that she would have it back in time before we left but it was not taken on the day and was left till the next day - check out day - they need up having to get the laundry to bring the dirty clothes back so that we could make our onward connection. Which we made ... But my mother only had a pile of dirty clothes to wear when we got there. We have stayed in other IBIS and there has never been this problem - Heathrow was fantastic! I joined the Accor loyalty program especially so I could book the disabled rooms easily and it turns out it was for nothing! So to put it in simple terms - if you are a standard person looking for a standard room - this place is great! If you need any sort of special requirements - go somewhere else - if only we had known this before hand - it would have made for a much nicer stay somewhere else ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear mr. guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We understand that a mistake has been made in our system, causing multiple reservations to be made for our disabled accesible room. We have spoken with our staff and found the problem that could cause for this to happen.

I understand that we have given you two rooms for the prize of one room to compensate for your inconvenience.

We would like to offer you a voucher for a free night at the hotel. This way we can show you that what you have experienced is not standard in our hotel. Would you please be so kind to give me your address details, so I can send you the voucher?

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nadja Ruiter
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 3 restaurants, 24 hour bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Agoda, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.