We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, beside the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for money, beside the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Since we were traveling to Germany via train, our stay overnight here was convenient and affordable. The breakfast spread was adequate. Our room had the view of cruise ships passing as well as the trains zooming but the noise was hardly audible.

A great stay indeed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nadja Ruiter
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    713
    376
    88
    48
See reviews for
182
443
290
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Free bus shuttle to and from the airport as often as you wish.

Clean and comfortable, albeit in a dreary building. Staff friendly and everyone speaks good English.

2 restaurants and an American style bar.

Good quality American style breakfast in the mornings served from 0400-1200hrs.........amazing.

Room rates fluctuate hugely, best to book as far in advance as possible as prices seem to be better that way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nadja Ruiter
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed three days in yor hotel.My room was not very clean, rooms are small. The air conditioner in my room was not working and it was cold. But hotel staff is helpful and friendly and breakfast is perfect. İ enjoyed it. The shuttle bus of the hotel is good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry for any inconvenience in the room. We will have maintenance take a look at the air conditioning in the room.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nadja Ruiter
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage La Prairie, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you are early , that is, before noon, it costs you 10E each hour early. No indication of this that we could see so we sat in the lobby for 2 hours, pouting.
Room was OK, usual IBIS with the usual thin, small towels. Corporate HQ in Accor Hotels needs to do something about towels.Like adopt N.A. standards of big, fluffy, bathsheets.... not piddly small thin towels that should be sent to rag pickers.
Shuttle was good and the drivers: top class.
we never eat breakfast as it is way over-priced as are most European hotels.
Ya takes what ya get. Location real good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our check in procedure. Our check in time is 15:00 hrs, which should be mentioned on all sites where you can book a room with us. We would therefor like to know through which website you have booked, so we check the information on the website.

There are several things to do in the area of the hotel. Guests can walk around the hotel area. We have a new terras with a view on our pond.
Also guests can visit Amsterdam. Our free shuttle brings you to the airport and from there you can take the train to Amsterdam central station.
You don't have to worry about or carry the luggage, the hotel has a free bagage room where luggage can be stored.

We are sorry to hear about your issues with the towels. We are currently reviewing the amenities in the room and we will use your issues to better our service in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nadja Ruiter
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Let me be Honest first, only reason i chose this hotel was because i couldnt find anything else :) Due to King's day everything was pretty much booked and so only Hotels availalble were near airport. Lets start with positive notes first

- A good Shuttle service: Last one leaves airport at 01:15 AM and first one leaves at 05:00 AM. the frequency varies across day with most travelling between 8-11 and then between 12-3 PM it decreases and then goes back to 3-4 every hour. The bus is a blue big bus has ample place to store luggage but is nearly always crowded, when you get out of airport head for A9 on your right and you will find the name of the hotel written near the Stop. Shuttle bus is white and blue and same bus goes to Ibis, Ibis Budget and Novotel.

- A good luggae storage facility, we came early morning and so our check in time was 1500, but they have a luggage storage facility where you can store your luggae and come back in and check in later. if you are going to be back from City late then better to ask them to block a room for you

- If you need to go to Rijkmuseum, then best thing is go out of hotel head straight and then on your Left, you will find a white storage facility of KLM walk on the road next to it, not the big two lane highway, its called caterinaweg and at the end of the road turn left. there are 2 stops there look for the one on the right side with angled road there it will be written Bus no 197, you can board this and it takes you directly to Rijkmuseum, very convenient in 15 mins or so. Its a connexxion bus so you will need to buy a ticket for 5 euros apart from your usual pass.

- Hotel Staff is very friendly and welcoming.

- There is free Wifi all around, works really well and have few stations as well on ground floor where you can surf internet, lots of seating areas all around.

- 24 hour service center where you can get some sandwiches, water, coffee etc. bar which is open till 1 AM and few other choice of restaurants

Now lets focus on negativities

- Really bad breakfast, dont ever ever pay for it. it costs 17 Euros and not worth it, its good but maybe for 8-10 euros. Nothing is warm its all cold breakfast and they shld really rethink prices

- Aweful restaurants, probabaly the worst Pizza ever, Dont eat here ever

- Not great connectivity to central, you have to go to airport in shuttle then take a train its always a pain and takes 2 hours out of your time in commuting. Not something you want to do when you are on a city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ibis hotel Amsterdam Airport. We appreciate all of your comments, positive and negative.

We hope you had a great kingsday, as it is one of the biggest celebrations in the Netherlands each year.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry to hear about your experience with our breakfast and restaurant.
We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and always learn from them.

We offer a standard breakfast to provide in everyones needs as good as possible. We are very sorry that our breakfast was not up to your expectations. We are currently reviewing our breakfast and we will take your comments into consideration.

We would like to know why the pizza you had wasn't up to the standards. Also we would like to know when you ate in our restaurant. This way we can investigate who was on duty that evening and discuss your issues with our staff.

As I said earlier Kingsday is a great feast in the Netherlands and many people travel from and to Amsterdam around the 26th of April. It is possible that your commute took a little longer because of this reason why usually it takes about 25 minutes to Amsterdam centre.

We hope that, following our improvements, we may count you among the guests of ibis hotels.
We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here as part of a group on 18th April. Had travelled a long way and our group leader was given assurances that some if not all of our group would be allowed to check in early. This did not happen and we were told to come back at 3. This we did and about 90 minutes later we checked in to an unserviced room. We eventually got a lovely room next to the air conditioning / heating just to ensure our opinion on the hotel didnt contain any ambiguity. Would have thought that the unsupervised luggage area, rude courtesy driver and poorly trained receptionist staff would have been enough.... Breakfast was average but again the staff training was poor. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefor we would like to have some more information. We will contact you directly.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 3 restaurants, 24 hour bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.