We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short visit to amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“short visit to amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

we choose the hotel as it was close to the airport, free shuttle service, value for money accommodation

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    763
    402
    98
    55
See reviews for
207
486
307
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Arriving in Amsterdam for the first time, we exited the airport to discover that the hotel has a free shuttle bus to and from the airport. As we went into the city often, having the free shuttle made commuting to and from the city quite easy. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a pleasant person who quickly checked us in. Although the rooms are quite small, everything was clean and the bed was comfy. There is also free wifi and vending machines on all floors. The hotel also has a gift shop which is reasonably priced. On our last night we got some take out from one of the restaurants, which was really handy. The hotel has a few different restaurants/bars, so if you don't feel like leaving the hotel or if you get in late there are still reasonably priced options. Check out was also really easy. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel as part of the Contiki tour and this is the final stop.
This hotel is close to the airport and has a free shuttle bus to the airport (very smart). the bus comes very regularly and there's no need to book.
There is 4 floors in this hotel (gosh!) and it spreads out like the Pentagon (the rooms has a location system eg block-floor-room). Breakfast is on the 4th floor.
The rooms are alright, not that fancy and it's small as well. They have 2 twin beds push together to make it a double. the bathroom is tiny too and again one of those hotels that you don't have the space to open up your suitcase. There is also not much space for hanging winter clothes.Must be a Ibis design because the Ibis in Prague is almost the same design.

I didn't get to use the facilities but I believe this must be one of the favorite with tour groups because there's so many coaches in the car park.

Nice big lobby area and there's internet stations that you can pay to use. the staff at the reception are pretty friendly as well.

Nice hotel but I would rather pick something in the city. It's about 20-30mins drive into the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever! Due to flight technical problems we were checked in to the Ibis airport hotel with a food voucher for the buffet restaurant. Everything in the hotel was so disgusting and old, the food in the buffet restaurant was looking very uneatable, so we chose to eat in the "Italian" restaurant instead. The food here was ok.. At the end of the dinner a mouse suddenly came through the restaurant from the kitchen. The waiter, kitchen staff and the manager didn't seem to think this was a problem, and later we found out it actually was a common guest there along with it's friends & family! We got out of there quite fast after this. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone - EVER!!!! I'm surprised it can even exist!

Room Tip: Don't ever think about visiting this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was very pleased with picking this hotel. I arrived around 11:00am after my overnight flight. The shuttle bus is easy to find (NOTE: you may have to go to the very front of where the hotel buses are lined up to get onboard.) Upon arrival, I did have to wait about 15 minutes to check in; after that I had my room key in about 2 minutes. (I noticed afterwards there was a kiosk next to the check in - but not sure if they worked.)

I took a midafternoon nap. Yes, you could here the cleaning crew and yes, the doors are a bit loud when they close, but the rooms was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the heating worked just fine.

Wonderful, Wonderful shower (by the IBIS - I really like how you designed your bathroom area - very smart!) Nice bright mirror although not much room to place your toiletries on a counter. Oh well, a good chance to improvise.

Wifi in the rooms worked GREAT. Connected the first time (wish that would happen in the U.S.!!)

I didn't opt for the breakfast - 11 Euros seems a bit much and I don't need a buffet. As I left early in the morning, a simple sandwich at the airport will suffice.

I did take the bus back to Schiphol and then caught the train to Central. It was very convenient.

My only complaint - the lines are forever when they get busy at the front desk. I think the hotel really needs to look at hiring more personnel to expedite anyone waiting to check in to get a room - especially after an overseas flight.

Bottom line, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room down the hall from the escalator or the lift. Avoid the first floor rooms due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport

Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 3 restaurants, 24 hour bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.