We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit tired - not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astrid Boulevard 5 | Postbus 85, 8522 Noordwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Noordwijk
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Bit tired - not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Huis ter Duin in Noordwijk is a upmarket beach hotel.
its out of the way - about 30-40 car minutes from Amsterdam.
Location is prime - right on the beach - not overly busy.
The hotel is tired - and needs an overhaul.
The rooms are ok - but the decor needs an overhaul.
one thinkg that bugs me i that the curtains are not light proof
bathroom is old. Its very clean though.
Outside balcony looks like it may fall apart - it probably wont but the concrete/paint is flaking off.

Room Tip: seaside only
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    108
    66
    22
    7
See reviews for
27
91
8
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I attended a conference for 2 days and stayed in a sea view room with balcony. The drive toward the hotel was slightly disconcerting as it is not a pretty building from outside. It is vast and concrete, but once inside the hotel has a definite 5 star feel. The conference facilities were excellent and the outside seating areas were charming, as was the beautiful beach and Beach House restaurant. As for the room itself, it felt a little dated, especially in the bathroom. However, the bed was comfortable, the toiletries well presented and the furnishings tasteful enough.
The bar area was lively in the evening (the Dutch football team were staying) and thankfully I didn't have to pay for the drinks!
Dinner in the Latour Restaurant the following evening was exceptionally good even for a set menu. Again though, I'm pleased not to have had to foot the bill.
Reception staff were bright and friendly, answering my various queries and needs, though
I never did find out why the place is full of dire clown paintings.
I'd recommend for couples if you like that sort of retreat and for business definitely. This is not a spot I would personally choose for a short break but am glad to have stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with balcony were spacious with wide views of the long beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Grand hotel Huis ter Duin in Noordwijk at sea is a very nice and comfortable hotel. It's not that far from Amsterdam Schiphol and in the middle of 'bollenvelden'; fields with tulips (april/may). The hotel needs some updates and could be refurbished. But you can smell the chiqueness. Especially the breakfast is super! With a large amount of spreads, types of fish, champagne etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

2 night stay with a conference. Very well presented and definitely a place to experience. Could to imagine staying unless I was at a conference as its vast and lacks the personal touch. Gym poor, needs updating and needs to be 24hr. Staff a little stand offish but reception staff are 1st class. Room was good although not well equipped for the traveller. Free Internet - thank goodness! Room overlooked the sea which in the summer I am sure is great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Huis Ter Duin is located on a very beautiful spot in the coast. One day it has sure been a luxury hotel. Nowadays it would require a large sacle update - rooms are worn, technic in business center is failing occasionally, wlan is slow, etc. But still the facilities are in a way nice and the feeling is somewhat upscale and food was actually very good.

In the summer time visit might still be worthwhile.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Room was in dire need of updating. Carpet was dirty and furniture worn. Only plus was that hotel was on the beach. Save your money as we were there in July and the weather was like being in Northern Ireland! Much better hotels and the staff also wasn't friendly, especially at the reception area. Also there was a charge for parking! Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Huis Ter Duin is a classic old world hotel located on a hill overlooking the beach in Noordwijk I was once in Noordwijk at a different hotel when all the European heads of state were meeting in the Huis Ter Duin. The hotel is a short walk from all the restaurants along the strand. My room was very comfortable and I slept well with no noise from the outside. The bathroom was well equipped though the water temperature varied a bit during my morning shower. The staff was very helpful and efficient. I didn't eat in the hotel except for one night when a friend and I decided to have a quick dinner in the bar. We ordered reuben sandwiches and what arrived bore virtually no resemblance to a reuben. Even allowing for cultural differences between the U.S. and Europe, this was a bit too much. If you have a car, the steep entrance at the gate house where you get your parking ticket is a bit tricky, especially if you are driving a stick shift. I was traveling on ESA business and the ESA rate for the Huis Ter Duin is virtually the same as for much lesser hotels in Noordwijk, yet included free parking and free internet. I think I'll be staying here regularly from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin

Address: Koningin Astrid Boulevard 5 | Postbus 85, 8522 Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Noordwijk
#5 Spa Hotel in Noordwijk
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Noordwijk
#8 Luxury Hotel in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5-star hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi less than 100 metres from the beach in Noordwijk aan Zee. It features an indoor swimming pool, spa and gym. The rooms at Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin have seating area and satellite TV. They also feature a minibar, work desk and come with a robe and slippers. Some rooms have North Sea views. The centre of Leiden, featuring the National Museum of Antiquities and the Hortus Botanicus, is less than a 20-minute drive from Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin. The Hague is 25 minutes and Amsterdam is 40 minutes away by car. The Michelin star rated Restaurant Latour serves French cuisine and has panoramic sea views. The hotel also includes the more informal Brasserie La Terrasse, a restaurant which features 2 terraces overlooking the beach. Huis ter Duin has many leisure facilities, a bicycle rental service and Breakers Beach House pavilion where you can enjoy lunch, dinner and drinks. MC Wellness offers a range of treatments including facials, massages and body scrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Noordwijk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.