We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The weather was warmer than the staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotels van Oranje

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotels van Oranje to your Saves list
Hotels van Oranje
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 20, NL-2202 Noordwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Noordwijk
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The weather was warmer than the staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My wife and I, and our daughter, her husband and their 4 month old baby traveled to the Netherlands primarily to see the tulips and the magnificent Keukenhof Gardens. We temorarily live in Germany so we thought we'd stay at a hotel near the ocean and so choose Hotels van Oranje in Noordwiijk.

The hotel is right across the beach and we enjoyed four days and three nights of unbelievably warm sunny weather. Unfortunately, this is the first hotel I've stayed in for a very long time (last year I traveled well over 150,000 airmiles for business and leisure in US and Europe) that I felt unwelcome. It is primarily a large business hotel in a seaside resort town so perhaps they really don't want to cater to tourists this time of year? All members of the staff, except one waitress in one of the restaurants, were efficent but cool. She was very helpful and fun to talk with. The manager of the restaurant where breakfast is served was colder than the scrambled eggs on the buffet... and that's saying something! (But to be fair, everything else about the breakfast buffet was quite good.) This experience was so unlike that we had in other bars and restaurants around town. We were welcomed warmly, enjoyed great conversations with staff, etc.

Another quirk of this hotel is that they have a good number of bars and restaurants and they give you a "score card" upon registration informing which is open on what days and hours. But we found that on two occasions we entered one of these establishments that was listed as open and was serving people but were told it was a "private function." (They were--no "keep the baby out of here" was going on.) But wouldn't a sign simply saying "private function" been possible in such an organized hotel?

The rooms and location of the hotel are great. It has a wonderful large indoor pool which is open many hours each day. On the days we wanted to use it after long walks and bikes rides (around 4 PM) we found that swimming lessons are given to small children so the pool was busy and loud. The lessons finished at six. There is also a very nice spa/whirlpool in the spa area which is apart from the pool and also includes saunas. The downside for some: it is, as they say in this part of the world, "textile free." Plain English: no clothes alowed. Naked men and women just share the space and the water...

All in all, it is difficult to decide if I would recommend this hotel to a friend. The location is great if you want nice rooms on the beach, but if you expect a bit of hospitality for the price, I don't know. We all enjoyed the town and may go back again next spring, but I'm not really sure where we'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
32
60
4
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Hotels van Oranje is ideally situated near the beach.
It has large very nicely decorated rooms where peignoirs await you to go to the pool/fitness area. This is one of the nicest pool/spa facilities I've encountered in business hotels. Not just a wave pool but also several saunas, hammams, natural showers etc all included in the hotel price. The price at that period and during a weekend was very reasonable considering the service.
Breakfast can be taken in one of the many small bars/restaurants on the beach next to the hotel or in the village (as 25€ for breakfast we found a little excessive).
Reception booked us tickets for the Keukenhof - the tulip/bulb event - so we wouldn't have to queue there..

So a very pleasant relaxing experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This hotel is right on the beach and has excellent service. Several restaurants (one more formal, another cozy and excelent food and service), great fitness center and gigantic indoor swiiming pool. The breakfast buffet is superb. Ideal for a romantic getaway as well as a nice place to stay with the kids.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed in Noordwijk for one night in April as a stop-over on a trip to visit Keukenhof. With 2 kids in tow (and traveling with another family with two kids), we wanted to be near a beach in case the weather was good enough, and a pool just in case it wasn't. The Van Oranje delivered on both counts. The beach is directly across the street and the wave pool was well-maintained. The children were a little disappointed that the waves were not operating b/c a local swimming class was in session, but the next day we were able to swim in the waves. The hotel is an easy and quaint 15 minute drive from Keukenhof Gardens.

My main complaint was in the costs. The hotel doesn't have its own parking, so we had to pay to park in the public lot next door to the tune of over 20 Euros. NO DISCOUNT for hotel visitors! And breakfast was not included in the room rate we agreed to, which was fine b/c we assumed we could find a cafe/bakery nearby much cheaper. Maybe due to the off-season and the crappy weather, nothing around the hotel was open, so we were forced to eat at the hotel. Granted, the buffet was sumptuous and well-tended, but we paid 70 Euro for 2 adults and 2 kids (ages 3 and 6) which I think is RIDICULOUS. This would all be easier for me to swallow if they delivered 5 star service that comes with a 5 star price tag. Having stayed in many bonafide 5-star hotels throughout Europe, I have experienced the service that comes with that: valets to help unload/park car (there were none), carry baggage to room (no one), a concierge to answer questions, friendly service at every turn, etc. Van Oranje did not deliver. In my opinion, this is a nice hotel that has begun to believe in its own hype and stopped delivering on its reputation as a 5-star hotel. It's a nice hotel, but I don't think the service justifies the cost.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Awful hotel. A maid stole a necklace from my hotel room!!! I confronted the maid, who obviously lied, and then reported it to the manager of the hotel, who called me a liar! The hotel was completely inconsiderate and refused to do anything in an effort to find my necklace. Rotten place! Do not go there.

The service was horrible, the food over-priced and poorly cooked, the staff was ignorant and very rude. Everything was slow.

Really, do not go here, it was completely unsatisfactory.

  • Liked — When I left
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We visit the Hotel van Oranje several times a year, mainly for the pool and sauna facility, which is simply the best I have come across. But if you are shy be warned that Sunday evening is "Sauna Avond", when swimming without bathing costums is compulsory.

The rest of the hotel facilities are good, but not outstanding considering the price. Some of rooms are not very large and only a small number have balconies. The quality of the food is unremarkable and the room service menu very limited. The Grand Cafe Het Elfde Gebod has a very pleasant atmosphere and is my favourite amongst the large selection of bars and restaurants.

If you are there on the weekend Sunday Brunch is a pleasant option, followed by a long walk in the dunes. There are three 5* hotels in Noordwijk, but this is definitely my favourite of the three.

  • Liked — Pool and sauna facilities
  • Disliked — Rooms overlooking courtyard are small
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myob
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Great hotel with friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast.
Right by the beach which is great for windy walks and some kite surfing if you feel up to it. The (big) wave pool was a big plus on the one rainy day we had during our stay. Most enjoyable.

  • Liked — beach and pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotels van Oranje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels van Oranje

Address: Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 20, NL-2202 Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Spa Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noordwijk
#4 Business Hotel in Noordwijk
#4 Luxury Hotel in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotels van Oranje 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels van Oranje includes the Luxury Hotel Oranje and is located along the beach and lively boulevard of Noordwijk. Aqua & Sauna Oranje includes a 30-metre subtropical wave pool, saunas and a gym. Guests can make free use of these facilities. The wellness facilities also boast a mist garden, solarium and relaxation rooms. The luxurious rooms at Hotels van Oranje have views of the North Sea or the village. They are equipped with a multimedia flat-screen TV, a minibar and a seating area. Free Wi-Fi at High Speed is available throughout. The Keukenhof gardens are within a 25-minute car journey from the hotels. Leiden and the Hortus Botanicus, are 20 minutes away by car. Amsterdam is only 30 minutes by car and Schiphol Airport is 29.7 Km from this accommodation. Hotels van Oranje benefits from 6 restaurants and 4 bars including the Imperial Bar, 't Elfde Gebod and Bentley Bar & Lounge with an eye-catching fireplace. Beach Club O includes a restaurant with a modern interior and a spacious beach terrace. Guests can enjoy spending time in Beauty Oranje which offers a wide range of choices including massages, facials and slimming treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotels van Oranje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels Van Oranje Hotel Noordwijk
Hotel Van Oranje
Van Oranje Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotels van Oranje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.