We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotels van Oranje

Save Saved
You added Hotels van Oranje to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Hotels van Oranje
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 20-31, Noordwijk NL-2202, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in Noordwijk
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here while biking through the Netherlands. The rooms were only okay. The common areas in the hotel are very nice. The location is excellent. Across the road is the North Sea. We stayed in the Beach Club side of the hotel, so it was quite a walk to the restaurant. Breakfast was very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    64
    35
    8
    10
See reviews for
19
39
3
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel over four days, but only stayed at the hotel for one night due to lack of availability. The hotel is a bit of a maze and it was easy to get lost, but it had a good location on the beach front.

The rooms were pretty standard, but generally well maintained and clean. However, I had a nicer room at the other hotel I stayed at. Over the four days of the conference I had all my meals at the hotel. The food was OK, but nothing to write home about.

The staff were usually pretty helpful, although I did encounter a few surly staff over the conference period.

I would stay here for a conference again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Located about half hour from Schiphol in the quaint city of Noordwijk, Hotels van Orange stands prominently across from the statue of Koningin Wilhelmina. The city is breathtaking especially if one visits in mid to late Spring when the tulip fields are in bloom. The rooms at the hotel are very spacious and clean, but nothing too exciting when compared to any other ordinary hotel room. If you happen to get room with a view of the ocean, you will notice that the corridor to the rooms in that area seem very maze-like. On the plus side, visitors are only a step away from the lovely North Sea with many diverse restaurants lining the area. If you prefer less adventure, the hotel boasts of 2 or 3 restaurants that serve Dutch food. My husband and I usually ate breakfast at Orangerie, which provided THE BEST and most delicious breakfast spread we've ever seen.

All in all, a great hotel with a great location.

For the adventure-seekers, the bus stop Vuurtorenplein is right outside with the 20 bus taking you straight to Leiden where you can hop a train or another bus to all the major cities. (http://9292.nl/en helped us out a lot!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked a room with sea-view which was very nice. The room was quite simple, could use some refurbishment. The airco is not really functioning, it only blows a little cold air (situated under the window) Luckily we had a room in the front so we could sleep with the window wide open. The parfume scent on the hallway (4th floor) was a bit too strong.
The price of 23 euro's for breakfast is crazy. There were so many people in the restaurant for breakfast, all walking around in different directions, grabbing food,.... The buffet should be re-ordered in such a way that you can walk around it.
Tip: don't take breakfast at the hotel, go to beachclub O, just arcross the boulevard at the beach and have a nice early lunch there.
However, given the other hotels in Noordwijk, would I stay here again: yes

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel nearly two weeks ago for one night. We paid €237 to stay in an whoopwhoop EXECUTIVE room, lucky us, I thought...
When we arrived at night after a wonderful day at the beach, we had to pick up our bag in the other building. No problem, then we arrived in a mouldy retro-room that as frequentflyer197 already stated should have been refurbished in the 90s.
It was quite hot in the room, so let's switch on the AC...... Where is it? Let's call the desk, his reply (totally serious):"Eeeeh, the only AC available is opening the balcony door"
OK problem: loud music everywhere outside, no option, switching to another room, not possible.
We had 65 dB in our freakin hot mouldy room until 2 am....... After complaining the next to the staf, there was no compensation nor excuse possible. It just wasn't their fault, so also not their problem!
THE HOTELS OF ORANJE HAVE GONE FROM SOME PRESTIGE TO WHAT WE SAY IN HOLLAND: 'VERGANE GLORIE'
Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Just don't book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

While the staff are very friendly and professional the Hotel is quite run down. The rooms should have been refurbished 10 years ago.
The location is great - on the boulevard across the beach.
However it is very cheap. In all honesty next time I will try a different Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel in a small nice village with awesome beach just outside the entrance.
The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated.

Breakfast and lunch was great.
I think they should expand the free Wifi so that it should be available on the rooms.
Nice pool area with relaxing spa-area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotels van Oranje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels van Oranje

Also Known As:
Hotels Van Oranje Hotel Noordwijk
Hotels Van Oranje Hotel
Hotel Van Oranje
Van Oranje Hotel
Address: Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 20-31, Noordwijk NL-2202, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noordwijk
#5 Luxury Hotel in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotels van Oranje 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels van Oranje includes the 4-star Beach Hotel and 5-star Hotel Oranje and is located along the beach and boulevard of Noordwijk.Situated at the cleanest and widest beach along the Dutch coast, the Hotels van Oranje have an unique and beautiful location. Noordwijk is surrounded by nature and has a central location at less than half an hour drive from International Airport Schiphol, Amsterdam and The Hague.The unique location at the boulevard and the beach, the charming, friendly village centre, the refined shopping arcade and renowned entertainment centre, Noordwijk and the Hotels van Oranje offer you unprecedented possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotels van Oranje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotels van Oranje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.