We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brass not Gold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 8, 2202 GS Noordwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Noordwijk
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brass not Gold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is excellently located near the beach and local bus stop. But our twin room was small , pokey and not suitable for two people . Access to the wardrobe was restricted. The beds were small singles , uncomfortable and ill fitting to the headboard. The 3 tea bags and 2 paper cups were sad to behold. The breakfast room, lounge and hallway were fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. I chose this hotel when I visited Noordwyjk last year but regret that I did not check the rooms last year.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view but be prepared to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    44
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
30
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've stayed here many times, back when it was the Mercure Hotel and even before when it was the Hotel Nordsee. The location is great, right on the beach and within easy walking distance of many fine restaurants. The staff is both helpful and friendly. The quality of the rooms has improved over time but they are still small and minimally equipped. The only toiletry provided is soap. The single bed is small, in keeping with the rest of the room. The bar area off the lobby is quite nice and a good place to meet friends. The breakfast, at 12.50 euros, is good but get there early as the hot food gets pretty stale by the end of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel is nice from the outside, has a beautiful hall and breakfast/lunch room (as any other hotel here in Noordwijk,anyway). But my single room looked more like a loculus (without view) than like a decent room to be paid 84 euros in November! The "walls" are plasterboard so you can hear anybody in the adjacent rooms, even talking not loud. From the door you can see the light in the corridor outside. The floors are made with wooden boards covered by a dark moquette (so there is no need for them to clean it, but also no way for you to see how really dirty it is..). When you walk on the floors, the boards creak and squeak: the problem is that you can hear also creaks and squeaks generated by the guest in the room above you, and that's not nice, especially if you have a maniac sleepwalking all night over your head.
My bathroom was really small and the shower was "closed" by a damned fabric curtain that continuosly adhered to my body. I really wonder what is the concept of hygiene that the owners of this hotel have in their mind.
Breakfast is not included and very expensive (16 euros) and not excellent.
Wi-FI Internet is also available (as written in the hotel page), but you have to pay a lot for it! DEAR OWNER OF GOLDEN TULIP NOORDWIJK: IN A FEW DAYS WE ARE IN 2012. THERE ARE FREE INTERNET HOT SPOTS EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD!! JUST TRY NOT TO BE SO GREEDY!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed for 1 night with the intention of relaxing following a sports tournament in Den Haag where we stayed in a superb 4* hotel. What a let down this supposedly 4* place was. Old fashioned, tired, poor service, shown to a room about the size of a postage stamp, views of the adjoining block with several air conditioning units directly outside the window. It was smelly and unfit for human habitation. The bathroom had been created, as in many older European hotels, by taking part of the bedroom. And you wouldn't believe the 'swimming pool' that was more like a footbath! Two people in there and it was crowded.
Rather than check out which was our first inclination, we complained, and were given a large sea view room. But why should we have to complain before being shown to a room which clearly was available? Any hotel that treats its patrons this way does not deserve our business. It gets 2* only because of the upgrade, otherwise 1* in every respect.

Room Tip: Complain, complain, complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for two nights: first night in a room with sea view (in tower section), but due to stormy weather it was too noisy (wind litterally hauling against the window). Second night in a room on city side. Both rooms were a bit small but okey. Both very clean and complete (desk, very comfortable beds, wifi, tv). The room with sea view had a bath/shower. The city view room only a shower. There was no mini bar.
The sauna and relax centre with inside swimming pool looked very nice but i didnt bring my swim trousers.
Service is friendly, buffet breakfast very okey.
But i dont know if this hotel is worth the money. Tje cheaper alternatives that i had in Noordwijk are a bit more shabby. I guess Noordwijk is simply very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesworth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

tiny room basic not four star very dear breakfast better to go to family restaurant in morning 7 euros cheaper no english newspapers not returning

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Right on the beautiful sea-front in Noordwijk with sandy beaches right across the road. Hotel has a nice bar and breakfast was OK (though completely serve yourself including collecting your cutlery before finding a table). Staff were friendly and cheerful. Room was the main disappointment - rather small and basic, though not cramped. Room (and and bathroom) were clean but otherwise unexciting. And internet was very expensive.

Room Tip: The Harbour Lights pub next door is worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach

Address: Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 8, 2202 GS Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is directly situated on the boulevard and the beach in the city center. The hotel has landview rooms, seaview rooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, terrace, bar, relax centre with swimming-pool/ Jacuzzi/hydro-massage, sauna, solarium and steam cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.