We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not exactly the best hotel ive ever been to!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aan Zee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aan Zee to your Saves list
Hotel Aan Zee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aan Zee
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Parallel Boulevard 206, Noordwijk 2202 HT, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Noordwijk B&B and Inns
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not exactly the best hotel ive ever been to!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

i went to this hotel this week and have arrived back a couple of days ago, and to be quite honest, while reading these reviews i was really not looking forward to this hotel at all as most if the reviews are bad. i don't know where to start really. first of all i must give the hotel some credit for the cleanliness of the bedrooms and hallways they were exceptionally clean and always tidy. however, the bar area and breakfast area wasn't as clean and the floor looked quite grubby like it hadnt been swept or mopped for a long time, but the breakfast was actually pleasant, it was rather basic though, bread and cereal was on the menu every morning and that was about it,but the fact that we could make a packed lunch for our outings was a nice idea and the hotel gave us lots of cartons of drinks for the week. the dinner was mostly alright. we had chips almost every night and the soup was literally just lots of water with stock cubes and about 100 teaspoons of salt in. the soup was watery and very salty but it didn't actually taste too bad. one night we had a curry which was actually very tasty. on the first night the manager came to speak to us and being 12-13 year old teenagers we was very excited because it was our first night and we was talking and didn't realise he was trying to talk to us, so he shouted really loud at us and told us we don't need to be so loud and i think that wasn't a good attitude to have to a large group of children who have payed to come on this trip and we are giving him custom, the waiters/waitresses were nice though, an could speak very good english. one time someone in our group rang the reception bell because they needed a member of staff so one lady came up and started shouting saying we can't ring the bell and told us off even though we needed a member of staff. it was such a disgraceful attitide! that night a boy was feeling restless and decided to have a lay down in the bar chairs then the same lady came along and literally dragged him out of the chair and told him to wake up and she handled him really roughly. overall i think the hotel was very clean but the rooms were too small and the showers were tiny and not even enough room to move about, there was balconys on some rooms and they were very stable and safe and looked nice. i think the hotel is suitable for a big group of school kids but not a family who are thinking of having a nice time. i recommend another hotel that is actually opposite aan zee and looks much nicer. so if you are looking for a luxurious hotel PLEASE DO NOT COME HERE YOU WILL BE DISSAPPONTED.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I loved Hotel Aan Zee! Would definitely recommend anybody thinking of going to go! Absolute AMAZING location as situated beside a sandy beach and lovely town with great shops and things to do! If you don't think the Hotels pool is up to scratch you can always easy access the 5 star hotel just up the road! I feel as many other reviews are very unfair and false. Others are saying the food was awful? What a lie! I loved the food and would give it 5 stars out of five!

Room Tip: Book Room 5 - more space and lovely window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Aan Zee as part of a large party travelling to Holland for a Sports tour. The hotel was said to be an upgrade as it was one of the better ones in the resort. Well it certainly live up to that. The rooms were comfortable but freezing cold or boiling hot. The bathroom was basic and the socialising areas were fine. The food was however the worst thing about the Hotel. We had to take the party out on two of the nights to get some more food as it was not enough and of a very poor standard. I would have to say if you want just a bed for the night and its not a cold time of year fine, other than that, sorry but look else where.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came to this 'hotel' in the September of 2012. it was evident from the moment we entered that the manager hated children. (we were a bunch of teenagers on a school trip). As the manager gave us all a talk, me and my friend both thought that this was a bit like a fawlty towers sketch, which isn't a good start in my opinion. The room was, small, cold, depressing, and music from some nearby apartments kept me and my friends awake until 2 in the morning. The shower was either hot or cold, so it was a hard decision whether to get 3rd degree bruns or catch hypothermia, tricky. The food was sloppy and disguisting. The portions were smaller than an ethiopians, and one thing they called a burger, I'm pretty sure it winked at me. Overall a poor hotel.

Room Tip: Therei is no swimming pool or fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I thought that the hotel was great apart from the temperature in the showers that changed from boiling hot to freezing cold while you were in there .Because i went with my school it was great fun in the rooms but there were other parties in the hotel that were noisy and didn't go to bed until 11:00 pm . The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. All the other comments make it sound horrible but it is not. it has very tasty food that all my friends loved so overall it is a very friendly family run hotel .
p.s and the hotel manager was nice to us and welcoming

Room Tip: if you have a choice sleep in room 27
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed with a school group who had rooms on various floors, a shame not all rooms could be together. Rooms were comfortable and functional, bunks and singles for the kids. Bars for the edge of the bunks are kept in the cupboards. Walls are very thin, and any noise from the floor above resonates through the hotel! Clean bathrooms although showers tend to go from scorching to freezing several times during one shower! Good food, three course dinners. Breakfast and packed lunches are one and the dame, kids make their own lunch from the breakfast offerings - only so much bread one person can take! Staff were very good and efficient and replenishing things as they were used up. The beach is gorgeous and justover the road (up the steps, through the courtyward and across the road). Massive sandy beach, plenty big enough for beach games! The loading bay is just over the road so teachers need to watch the kids crossing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Aan Zee with a school party in Feb 2013. I was really impressed with the standard of the Hotel. The rooms were comfortable and functional, with fold-down bunk beds for rooms of 4 students. The rooms were spacious with two single beds, a desk, 2 chairs and a built-in wardrobe. The en-suite bathroom was plenty big enough. We had all but one of the rooms on the first floor and not one had issues. The decor looked fresh and everything was in a great state of repair. The location was also good (literally 2 mins from the beach) and space opposite for easy coach pick-ups.

On the lowest floor there is a bar area, 2 rooms used for serving meals and a pool table. At times this got busy with lots of school groups in, however, it was manageable. We had a buffet breakfast and then dinner was a soup starter, main and dessert - all of which was tasty and they came around asking if anyone wanted more. Considering the price, the food was excellent. I think some people need to be realistic about what they are going to get.

The thing that really set this hotel apart was the friendly service provided by the staff. We had a really welcoming greeting and nothing was too much trouble. Every evening they asked how our day had been. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they really cared about doing a good job. In particular Tom was excellent - very friendly and approachable.

Any school teachers thinking of using this hotel as a base for a school trip - I'd thoroughly recommend it. I had been skeptical after reading reviews by students on this site, however, found them to be unfounded. I'd use this over a Stayok hostel everytime.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 23 which was a good size. Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aan Zee

Address: Parallel Boulevard 206, Noordwijk 2202 HT, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aan Zee 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aan Zee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.