We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed this time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Julianaweg 98, 8453 WH Oranjewoud, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oranjewoud
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Somewhat disappointed this time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

For a family event, we came from Canada and stayed at Tjaarda Orangewoud from Sept 03 to Sept 10, 2013. We selected this hotel as our good experiences with it in the past. However, this time we have been disappointed because the hotel does not honour its offer "stay 3 nights, get 1 night free" even we did book the room since Jan 28, 2013 on line via "Golden Tulip.com" as required.
Our confirmation number for this reservation is 295325323492. Our room number was 002. By the way, due to poor air ventilation, we had to open the veranda door which has no screen, we were visited by Mosquitos!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business for 2 nights with 9 other collegues. On check in 4 of the rooms weren't quite ready so we were given a complimentary drink at the bar while we waited. The bar had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and staff were happy to help.
We went for a walk around the local woodland area even though it was raining but saw some beautiful houses and streams.
The room itself was very spacious, I especially liked the bathroom with a large walk in shower with 2 types of shower head.
We ate in the restaurant one of the nights and had the 4 course set meal. The steak was beautiful however we weren't asked how we would like it cooked which I found a little strange but it did fall apart on the plate so I didn't complain. The only thing that I wasn't overally impressed with is the fact it took nearly 4 hours from sitting down to signing the bill at the end of the night and we ended up pouring our own wine as none of the waitresses seemed to notice we had empty glasses. This may have been becuase we were a large group however quicker service would have been nicer..
The breakfast was lovely, the coffee machine being in the buffet area where you serve yourself is a great idea, hot coffee everytime. The selection was also good however one morning I did fancy toast but the only option is bread but this is a continental thing I believe.
Overall it is a lovely hotel, I would stay here again on business however due to the location being far away from many things I wouldn't recommend it to people wanted to see places around Jaure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good points. The location is pleasant, if you are looking for a quiet hotel in the country. The rooms are spacious. The swimming pool is relatively small, but attractive.

The big disappointment was the service in the Grand Cafe. We paid 120 Euro for a two course meal for two, so it isn't exactly cheap.The service was very poor and the selection of food was boring and not well prepared. As a main course I had cod and white asparagus, which was served with seriously undercooked boiled potatoes. We were told that 20:30 was too late to reserve a table, so we agreed to book one at the latest possible time, which was 20:15. We then sat at the table for 15 minutes waiting for a menu to be given to us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed two nights a week ago, very quiet place and good breakfast and restaurant in general, but I dislike the room starting to the strong smell of cigarette ash and then to the absence of air conditioning and the heated was there only as decoration, once no pipe connected to anywhere. My room was n.10.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The biggest thing going for this hotel is it's location. I have stayed here twice during visits to the Assen TT races (about 1 hour away), it's very quiet and secluded, somewhat off the beaten track.

The rooms are a decent size and comfortable but could do with updating sometime soon. The ground floor room I chose had it's own small terrace and the hotel has a very pleasant bar/terrace/eating area which is perfect on a summers evening.

I have not eaten in the main restaurant and the meal I had on the terrace, whilst not haute cuisine, was perfectly acceptable. I did not have breakfast on either visit, in my opinion the 08:00 start time at the weekend isn't early enough.

A free WiFi service is available to all guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in Golden Tulip Tjaarda Orangewoud during the latter portion of May 2012. The weather during our stay was exceptionally nice and we truly enjoyed our stay partly as a result of this. The hotel is situated in a forested area, not very far from Heerenveen and its famous ice-skating arena. Nature is beautiful for walking and biking. We had a room at the back of the hotel, looking straight into the forest. We had the screened windows of our room open, and we were awakened in the morning by singing birds. The rooms were good; the personnel was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of items (much more than the simple continental breakfast).

We noted from comments by other guests, that the terrace in front of the hotel could be noisy, so it is best to select a room on the back side. Of course, during this weather extensive use of the outside terraces was made: for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found lunch and dinner service on the slow side. The food was good.

Our reason for staying in this hotel was proximity to a major family event and we extensively reviewed other lodging options. We were very satisfied with our selection and we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room on the back side. If the terrace is used, the front rooms can be noisy according to ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The area around the hotel is perfect, very quiet !
The food and service in their restaurant is also very good but... the rooms really need renovation and the cleaning is not good at all!
There was a dirty ashtray on the terras that wasn't cleaned in our 4 days stay and a lot of weedage on the floor.
Very disappointing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud

Address: Koningin Julianaweg 98, 8453 WH Oranjewoud, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Oranjewoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oranjewoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oranjewoud
Oranjewoud Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.