We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday stay sept 12” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerviola Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cerviola Hotel to your Saves list
Cerviola Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq il-Qaliet, Marsascala, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marsascala
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“holiday stay sept 12”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a nice stay but yes, as other users did experience a lack of hot water throughout our stay, which for two days we put down to the severe storms and the bathroom is tiny.
On the positive side, the staff were friendly, there is a shop on site open 6am-11pm, we had a fridge in our room, nice view and air con that worked.
The roof top pool and loungers were great and the buffet breakfast was far superior to anything we have had on our last few holidays.
I would recommend in the summer when hot water is not the be all and end all, but would definately make more of it if we went again and had the same problem. there seemed to be a number of regular visitors who were more than happy.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, good for pool and view and as noone above, no noise. Wasnt sure if this affec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    14
    10
    17
See reviews for
18
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we only stayed in this hotel for three nights but we found it to be very clean, the staff were nice and friendly, and although we never got to use it i was told by friends wh had been there before that rooftop pool was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is far from the 3.5 stars. Left after a couple of days. No hot water, shower basically had no pressure what so ever to the point it was as if it was switched off. The other room had plumbing problems. Noisy air con, hard beds. Wont ever go back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My room was very big,but the toilette.......I don't know how to describe it! It was very very small,the shower looked like a London booth and it was very dirty. Very often the toilette water didn't work,so if we had to go to the toilette,we had to go to our friends room!!My friends and I always had a shower with the flip-flop,without them,I would never have a shower! A friend of mine found in his room a cockroach..Another friend of mine had a bathroom without the washbasin,which was near the bed!!And what about the swimming pool?? I never had a real bath in that "pool",it was always dirty and,especially during the weekend,full of people! It was so dirty that a lot of hair bundles "swam" in the pool...DISGUSTING! For dinner I always ate chips,because other kind of food was awful...Pasta was uneatable! So...don't book your holiday at the Cerviola!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel, all is very basic, (but so is the price) the room, the cleaningness, the staff, the food, the bathroom and even the noise (due to the boiler in the bathroom). I certainly would not give it 3 stars. I went there end of May 2012 and the swimming pool was not even opened. And when it does, they allow other people to use it, so I've heard it;s packed with kids. But for me it was fine, I was there for visiting the area, and did not stay much in the hotel. They kept my bag till late in the afternoon on my checking out day, so i did not have to carry it around with me. However I liked it's location half way to the fishing harbour with it's restaurants and bars, with a vibrant atmosphere in the evening, particularly at weekends and half way to St Thomas Bay, where you can find a tiny sandy beach, very popular, with a cafe and a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great location with short walk along the prom to the restaurants of Marsacala. Room was comfortable enough for the price, but not particularly clean and the aircon didn't work so was incredibly hot which led to a bad night's sleep. Service was efficient enough but staff were far from friendly or welcoming - in fact, it was probably the worst service we experienced in Malta. We were only there for one night so maybe they were all just having an off day, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for a short break. The hotel is situated on a busy residential street with 2 little all hours convenience stores one opposite and one next door to the hotel.

The room was spacious and clean with a balcony and 4 single beds in our room. Basic old fashioned style that looks like it could do with updating, but it was what we expected in Malta for a 3 star hotel. The beds and towels were new and fresh and towels were changed daily and beds made up.

Staff were friendly and laid back and the cooked breakfast and cereal selection was good in the morning.

The little cafes and bars along the waters edge of Masascara are a short stroll away. We hired a car to get around and found parking outside the hotel easy.

We enjoyed staying here and felt the 30 euros a night we paid in April was good value for what we got in return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cerviola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerviola Hotel

Address: Triq il-Qaliet, Marsascala, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsascala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marsascala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerviola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Cerviola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerviola Hotel Marsascala
Cerviola Hotel Malta/Marsascala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerviola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.