We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, friendly, old fashioned hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerviola Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cerviola Hotel to your Saves list
Cerviola Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq il-Qaliet, Marsascala, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marsascala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional, friendly, old fashioned hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for a short break. The hotel is situated on a busy residential street with 2 little all hours convenience stores one opposite and one next door to the hotel.

The room was spacious and clean with a balcony and 4 single beds in our room. Basic old fashioned style that looks like it could do with updating, but it was what we expected in Malta for a 3 star hotel. The beds and towels were new and fresh and towels were changed daily and beds made up.

Staff were friendly and laid back and the cooked breakfast and cereal selection was good in the morning.

The little cafes and bars along the waters edge of Masascara are a short stroll away. We hired a car to get around and found parking outside the hotel easy.

We enjoyed staying here and felt the 30 euros a night we paid in April was good value for what we got in return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    11
    10
    17
See reviews for
18
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

A lot of dust everywhere in the room, sheets and pillows dirty, air conditioner broke and so on. Don't stay here, avoid this area!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Just in Roseland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Lovely friendly family hotel. Very basic but thats all we wanted the food was good the room very clean the pool very clean. We loved the fact that Laurence and others who worked there were in shorts and flipflops it put us at ease no stuffy waiters showing us to our table at meal times the children loved it and it was also very relaxing for us.

We took a travel kettle and coffee etc which proved to be very useful.

The little shop next door but also part of the hotel sold everything but best of all were the amazing cakes they were delicious.
The town is only 5 mins away and there is an area for swimming and 15min walk away ia St Thomas bay which was a great little beach.

Room Tip: Travel kettle really good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlehampton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

my other half and my 3 year old stayed here for 7 nights the location is amazing depending what your going on holiday for we wanted to go for a relaxing one theres a beach about 10 15 min away and is always quiet the bars and eating out are a walk away 47 summers night is very cheap and has great food.We were very happy with the hotel we had a nice sea view even tho we didant book 1 theres a swimming pool on the roof the owner opened it all up for us as i was the first person to go in it for the year.The weather was great hot even tho it was the first week in may we will def coming back next year

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and we were very very pleased with the location the staff were excellent so helpfull and friendly you have to get to know the owner Lorenzo he s a bit serious but once you get to know him hes very nice he even cooked rabbit for us cause he usually does it only on the weekend but we wouldnt be there also you get a full breakfast bacon or sausage and eggs and beans and lots of cereal yogurts toast only think its instant coffee but for that price whose to complain we payed 30 canadian per night for both of us and if you want dinner its 5 euro each for buffet the location is excellent its only a few blocks from bus stop and the promonade the promenade alone is 2 or 3 miles long and everyone is out there every night they meet there sit around and visit eating pizz a and ice cream everywhere and very very friendly people they speak italian and lots of english too try the canole pastry its to die for better then the ones in sicily all in all the hotel does need alot of alterations but its clean has a pool at the top which they kept clean rooms are clean so if yoy dont expect a 4 star hotel for us it was great

Room Tip: overlooking the water cause overlooking the street is noisy and not too attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

First stayed there over 10 years ago.It was advertised under Southrays Holidays and was so cheap we couldnt believe it. We liked it and the area right away. Been back 4 times.
It was never posh but clean and tidy. The food was a bit boring but you would never starve.
Have read lots of things about mine host Laurence and his shorts and flip flops but would not want to change him. If you want posh suggest you try The Phoenecia but it will cost you!
.
We wondered why Laurence rushed us in to dinner until about twenty Bulgarians arrived and
demolished everything in sight. Last visit.this May and saw the last of those lovely old buses.
Going to Qwara Palace next May. Really going to miss those buses which were part of the
whole Malta experience.There are plentyof pics and videos of the old buses on PC.
Best wishes Keith and Patricia Lewis

Room Tip: If you are disabled,there is lift but the upper floor(s) are on two levels and there are a few steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and it wasn't long enough so now we're planning on going back. This hotel was a great place to stay. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were very clean. The shower was clean and the water pressure was fantastic. We got a fridge, tv, desk, couch and balcony. There's a swimming pool on the roof. We got our washing done for free by the hotel staff, that was a big help. They provided a buffet dinner for only 5 euro, all you can eat and drinks are available too. There is a small store with groceries in the hotel. Internet is not free, it is 2 euro for 1 hour. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerviola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerviola Hotel

Address: Triq il-Qaliet, Marsascala, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsascala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marsascala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerviola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Cerviola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerviola Hotel Marsascala
Cerviola Hotel Malta/Marsascala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerviola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.