We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand China

Grand China
St Anthony Street, Marsascala, Island of Malta, Malta
77008899 / 21636100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 51 Restaurants in Marsascala
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had another lovely meal at the Grand China last night. Our usual chicken and sweet corn soup, followed by a selection of our favourite dishes. We have eaten here regularly since they opened and have always enjoyed the meals. The set menus are very good, but usually end up with us taking half the main course home as there is so much.
I would, however, recommend the a-la-carte menu over the buffet, which although better than other Chinese buffets we have had in Malta, is never quite as good as the freshly cooked dishes from the a-la-carte menu.
The restaurant is very brightly decorated and has a number of large round tables which are great for a family or group of friends. The staff are always friendly, in particular the owner Lina and we hope to continue eating there regularly in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasteful decor warm welcome lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went there yesterday and were recieved by a Chinese lady with a sweet and friendly smile. We chose banquet 8 had chicken mushroom soup the other dishes were made up of Chicken pork and sizzling beef. Egg rice and noodles were very good as well as spring rolls and other similar bite sized food. (these were brought after d soup)had fried ice cream to top it off. We could have chosen fried banana instead. Food was piping hot and prices are very reasonable. Very filling as well. Infact when we told the lady that we might not be able to eat it all she suggested they pack it up for us to take away. They are offering buffets as well and if ine order take away there is a 10%discount.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zejtun
1 review
“Great Chinese Food, Good Atmosphere, and Wonderful & Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Yesterday, we have been at the Grand China in M'Scala, and we were very satisfied by the Wonderful Atmosphere, Wonderful & Helpful Staff, and most of all, and by the Great Chinese Food, they serve. We would Highly Recommend the Grand China, for those who love, Chinese Food.

NI HOA

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, Ambience is not number 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went to eat at this restaurant yesterday, the staff were nice, although not what usual waitering staff would be like, it more maltese style friendliness.. tourist might not like it, but if you looking for a more authentic service then you should go here. We had the buffet amongst other food. The duck is great, although they use normal onions and not spring onions for the pancakes, the normal dishes were also very very good! The Chicken soup however was not very good, it had carrots, very abnormal for a chinese restaurant. The decor is tacky. All in all best chinese in marsascala... worst ambience and decor however.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Food I have ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Upon our arrival we were cordially met by Lina, a Chinese Lady, wearing a pretty warm smile, who we later discovered, is the chef's wife.
We were led to our reserved table, handed over the menus, and given a detailed description of the set menus.
Dinner started being served about 10 minutes after we placed our order.
Service was great and wine was served as it should be.
We all thought the food was super delicious, and all the sauces for all the various dishes in the set menus we chose, tasted so different from one another.
It seems like no expense has been spared to finish the interior to the highest possible standards. The original Chinese furniture give an authentic and luxurious Asian touch to this restaurant.
Probably it also has the finest entrance to any Chinese Restaurant in Malta.
It is centrally positioned opposite HSBC Bank in Marsascala.

There is a’ la carte, as well as three set menus, all very reasonably priced which include Crispy Aromatic Duck and Pancakes, Satay Beef Skewers, Steamed Dumplings or Soups, Beef, Lamb, Pork, Seafood, Vegetarian and Gluten-free options.
Other house specialities include Sizzling Beef, Chicken with Cashew Nuts, Lemon Chicken, Spare-Ribs, Beef in Oyster Sauce, etc.

Set 7-Course Menus start from €17.50.

I liked the Crispy Aromatic Duck best, and my wife thought the Beef in Oyster sauce was delicious.

There is of course a fine selection of both local and foreign wines to choose from.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand China also viewed

Marsascala, Island of Malta
Marsascala, Island of Malta
 
Marsascala, Island of Malta
Marsascala, Island of Malta
 

Been to Grand China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.