We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-38 rue du Moulin, 92170 Vanves, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vanves
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Perfect location for the exhibition centre. Great hotel,newly refurbished. Great room excellent breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Quality of service second to none. Many languages spoken as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLEBRUN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Gabriel,

Thank you for having taken time to give your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks and we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, breakfast and quality of service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon at the Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo.
Best regards,

JM. Lebrun – General Manager - Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    228
    110
    26
    14
See reviews for
86
92
41
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel claims to be 4 star, but really it seems more like an upgraded 3 star hotel. The corridors and rooms are fairly basic with "painted pebble-dash" wall finish.

Overall nothing in particular to rule-out or rule-in this hotel. It is very close to the exhibition centre if that is important. Room was OK but nothing special. Cleanliness was good. Aircon in room was very good - you cannot always expect that in Paris!

Breakfast was nice experience - not too busy. One strange thing was the jams - they only had Apricot and Cherry jams (yuck!) - no strawberry, raspberry, blackcurrent jams or orange marmalade. Maybe I was unlucky.

Checkout was a bit slow - I did not see a facility for fast checkout - so allow plenty of time for that if you are on a tight schedule. Also the person before me got stung for a very large phone bill phoning China - so be careful if you are in the habit of using hotel phones!

I've rated the hotel 4 - a bit high for my experience, but 3 seems unfairly low.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food was really good and the lobby area was pretty nice, however, when I got to my room, I was surprised at how poor they were compared to the other parts of the hotel and taking into account the cost of the room. It really is a business hotel, so don't go here for a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLEBRUN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We carefully read your comments after your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the food and the lobby.
This is true that some rooms need to be refreshed. We recently entirely renewed the bar and the restaurant, the 388 rooms are regularly and floor by floor renovated and we plan also to modernize the lobby.
We welcome all year round 50 % of business customers and 50 % of leisure tourists.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon at the Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Average but practical.
Not cheap, I paid a bill well over EUR 1,000 for a 5 night stay.
The property needs to be updated. But rooms are OK.
The breakfast is excellent. Parking is not cheap (EUR 25 per 24 hr). Service is minimal.
And there is no fitness facility, which, in 2013, seems incredible for a 388 room hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLEBRUN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We carefully read your comments after your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the room and breakfast.
Prices are established according to the period. As June is a busy month with lots of trade fairs, prices are higher, but we offer different rates as e.g. the no change and cancellation rate which is the cheapest one.
This is true that some parts of the building need to be refreshed. We recently entirely renewed the bar and the restaurant, the 388 rooms are regularly and floor by floor renovated and we plan to modernize the lobby.
The parking fares are indeed expensive but nevertheless less expensive than prices in Paris.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon at the Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I called ahead to look into an early check in
Was informed that the hotel was close to full ( 80%), probably not a good chance
Therefore, I booked a room for the night before I arrived so that it would be avaialble at 7AM

Upon arrival, there was no room avaialble even though I prepaid
They sent me to another hotel, that I paid for the taxi AND I paid for hotel room
The front desk people were arrogant and indignant
What a bad joke, I'll never stay at this hotel again nor will I stay at a Mercure hotel again...anywhere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLEBRUN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We carefully read your comment about a recent booking in our hotel. The reservation for the first night didn’t mention you would arrive on the following morning that is why the receptionist considered your absence as a no-show. The attitude of the receptionist you describe is totally inappropriate and unacceptable, and we would like to offer our sincere apologies for this bad behaviour which doesn’t reflect our usual welcome quality. Be sure the front desk staff was made aware of this point.
We asked the other hotel to immediately pay back your room as you shouldn’t have paid it twice, and this will be done today. What about the taxi fares, could you please send us the ticket in order we can pay back?
Once again, we are really sorry for this bad experience and we hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence with another stay at the Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vanves hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Guests intending to stay at this hotel should take their own milk for their coffee in their room. When we requested extra milk we were told by a very snotty staff member on reception that company policy is to only provide two very small milk sachets. This took the edge of an otherwise pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLEBRUN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We carefully read your comments after your recent stay in our hotel.
We agree that the answer one staff member gave to you was totally inappropriate; it doesn’t reflect the hotel policy as the quality of service is our daily priority. Could you please give us more details in order we will be able to investigate on who may behave like that.

We thank you for your feeling we are paying the most attention to and we hope to welcome you soon at the Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The service is fine, the rooms are clean, but feel dated. He breakfast is average.

This was fine for one night as a business stopover, but it is very expensive for what feels like a budget hotel.

The rooms are dated, small as quite dim. The bathrooms also feel quite tired. There is no ironing facilities in the bedroom, which is odd given it very much felt like a business hotel.

The staff seemed to be well trained and the service was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLEBRUN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay in our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the quality of service. What about prices, they are established according to the period. As June is a busy month with lots of trade fairs, prices are higher, but we offer different rates as e.g. the no change and cancellation rate which is the cheapest one.
We guess that our rooms are not small, their surface is 23,45 sq m which widely matches French 4-star standards. The rooms are regularly renovated.
Finally, if you need to iron in the room, we put numerous irons at customers’ disposal at the front desk.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon at the Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo

Address: 36-38 rue du Moulin, 92170 Vanves, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Vanves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vanves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel offers 388 rooms, including 4 suites and 46 Privilege rooms, as well as a restaurant, a bar, meeting rooms for training days or seminars and a 400 vehicle car park. Located just behind Hall 7 of the Porte de Versailles exhibition centre, just 8 minutes walk from the main hall and a metro station. Good public transport links with the centre of Paris less than 30 minutes away by tram, bus or metro. Orly and CDG airports are 15 and 35 km away respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Porte De Versailles Expo Hotel Vanves

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Porte de Versailles Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.