We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 2 star hotel, not 4.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Califfo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Califfo to your Saves list
Hotel Califfo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonardo da Vinci 118, 09045 Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Quartu Sant'Elena
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is a 2 star hotel, not 4.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel was really disappointing. It was billed as a 4-star hotel but it was really 2-star. You are in the middle of nowhere. The place smelled like cigarettes in a near-empty beer cup. And the room was furnished with circa-1980 furniture. Clean, yes, but not what we were expecting. The staff was nice.

Even though we had pre-paid the hotel via an easyJet vacation, we decided to pay for a few days in a seaside hotel in order to salvage our vacation. That's how bad it was.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    29
    41
    31
See reviews for
30
64
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I have travelled all around the world, to many third world countries, yet this is the worst experience I have ever had! I checked in the hotel, and they had forgotten to clean it from the person before- I can't describe the state of the room. The cleaners apologised and cleaned my little prison cell; with a shower so small, my size 12 body was squashed against the wall to get into it!

Most of the facilities mentioned was not available. Despite it being a sunny bank holiday weekend, the pool was closed and there was no tourist information as advertised (they seemed generally surprised when i asked about scuba diving/organised tours). In fact, you would be hard pressed to find anyone working at this hotel who could string more than a few words in English together, or had any hospitality skills/charm!

1.5km to the beach? It kind of missed out the treck down a busy public highway, and in 1.5km you get to the sea-which you can see below the highway. it's at least another 1 or 2 km before you get to the beach. The lovely sound of the waves crashing against the shore, oh, and the noise pollution of the highway...

Nothing was open in the immediate area. There were no shops and the 'beautiful cagliari' as the receptionist called it was merely a small cluster of european shops and dodgy pizzerias.

People ST away from this charmless hotel!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quartu Sant'Elena hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed in an apartment for several days with 2 friends, as we could not find anything closer to town at short notice. Room was fine, but shower was broken and sprayed water ALL OVER the floor - we used towels to mop the mess, and requested they fix it and give us new towels, which they wanted to charge us for, and took three phone calls to arrange. Several of the staff were rude, apart from the night shift guy who was very friendly and welcoming each night. Builders and neighbours hammering, drilling, chainsaw-ing etc from 7am EACH morning! 30EUR cleaning fee for the week, only to be made to clean up all dished and dispose of our own rubbish, so not sure what that fee was for! Ugly area, google earth before you go here! Min 25EUR one way from town. Car hire is a must to make the most of it. Public bus (route PH) takes about 30 mins to town. Last bus back to hotel is at 10:50PM. Wasn't too impressed with Cagliari in general, but Chia beach and Pula is a cute little town about an hour away by car.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We got what we expected for £59 a night - a tourist class hotel. Rooms and sea view fine, breakfast adequate and similar to what we were offerred elsewhere on the island. For a 2 night stop over it was adequate, although the photos of pool did flatter the actual scene! Clearly the end of the season and staff were fatigued but friendly and kept them selves to themselves unless you chose to speak to them. Car parking was great and we spoke to people who used buses which were apparently fine. I would have been dissapointed if we had booked a weeks holiday here as it was 'out of town' but the reviews and maps make that clear! Husband didn't like it on first impression but warmed to it on second day - basically you got what you paid for and much better/cheaper than a similar tourist class hotel that you would find in London! Would recommend for a stop over to visit Cagliari.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Do not expect a lot from this hotel. The rooms are not up to 4 star standards and if this is how Europeans rate their hotels, I can only imagine how bad 3 star hotels here are. Be advised there are not adequate amenities in the rooms and rooms are very small. Also, food served is not fresh and caused me to get a stomach ache. Staff was not helpful at all. If I was the owner, I would replace every staff asap!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alhambra
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The staff is beyond imcompetant and they do not bother to help you out when you have a request. I only stayed here for 1 night and encountered so many problems here. When I checked in, there was no one at the front desk and no bell to ring for help. I waited for almost 15 minutes and finally we found someone to help us check in. The lady at the front desk was not friendly at all, but the guy who was working the desk the following morning was 10 times worst. This is the issue that really ticked me off: our bathroom started leaking a lot of water and ended up flooding almost 2 inches of water and when we told the guy, he accused us of causing it because we had 4 guests in the room and we did not know how to use the shower curtain correctly?! So after complaining, he said he would get someone to clean it, but after breakfast, the bathroom was flooded. So I went back downstairs and told him that nothing was ever done and he needed to do something immediately because we were checking out very soon. So after all of this running back downstairs to complain, they finally sent someone to clean the water. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone and would avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had 2 apartments/ residences for a week; they were well presented, clean & comfortable. The kitchen facilities were adequate for cooking a basic meal; as good if not better than other apartments I have stayed in abroad. Other areas of the hotel looked as though they needed a little TLC, although I didn't see a hotel bedroom and we didn't use the restaurant. The staff were friendly & helpful when we asked for advice/ guidance. The pool area was pleasant enough and we spent our last day there, but there's no bar/ cafe by the pool, so we took our own refreshments along (this may be due to early season).
On the whole, the apartment served as a great base for exploring the amazing beaches along the SE coast & Cagliari. A hire car is definately recommended though, as the local facilities are limited.
There is a supermarket across the road & a terrific restaurant 1.5km along the road towards Cagliari & Poetto Beach, called Opus, which we visited twice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Califfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Califfo

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 118, 09045 Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Quartu Sant'Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Quartu Sant'Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Califfo 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Califfo is situated in a quiet panoramic position facing the Gulf of Cagliari at the end of the wonderful Poetto beach, only 9 Km from downtown. The Hotel, recently expanding, is equipped with all comforts. Our hotel has 300 beds, with a restaurant for 350 people and a meeting centre for up to 400 seats. In summertime you may also find a free shuttle service to the nearest beach, animateur, shows, sports facilities, discotheque.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Califfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Califfo Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Califfo Sardinia, Italy - Quartu Sant'Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Califfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.