We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good early dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper

Clipper
Via Leonardo da Vinci 185, 09045 Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy
+39 070 890267
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $56
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Ice Cream, Pizza & Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good early dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here randomly for a pizza on our first evening in Sardinia and had a good meal. Tasty pizza, straightforward service, hit the spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    34
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballinrobe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Have visited a number of times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very good food in a reasonable price range. This restaurant gets very, very busy so booking suggested at the weekend.
As we tended to eat much earlier than the locals, there was usually no problem getting a table e.g. 7.30. By 9 o'clock the restautant would be packed.
The wine was good and the menu catered for most tastes and is available in English. The staff are friendly and a nice children's play area was great for our grandaughter when she finished her meal. Like most Italian restaurants children are very welcome.
One would need a car or taxi to get there; it is not far from the Setar Palace Hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clipper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very large dinning restaurant; great steak prepared with local red wine and peppercorns. Great muscles and clams in red sauce

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“watch the bill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

we had lunch in an empty restaurant and throughout we felt as if we were delaying the personnel's siesta. no smiles. bad service. most of the times we were left on our own and had to go up to the bar to ask whenever we needed anything.

but the worst part came when we asked for the bill. items that had been served without us ordering them (cream cheese) were charged. we were charged the service for the two kids. we were overcharged for an extra portion of prawns.

we'd been there before which made it even worse. never ever again. it's a decent place, the food is alright at reasonable prices, but the tricks in the bill are totally unacceptable.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clipper also viewed

Quartu Sant'Elena, Province of Cagliari
Quartu Sant'Elena, Province of Cagliari
 
Quartu Sant'Elena, Province of Cagliari
Quartu Sant'Elena, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Clipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.