We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi to your Saves list
Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nicolo Cuneo 34, 16032 Camogli, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Camogli
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a great hotel in the ligurian coast. It has friendly staff, great breakfast and many other amenities to enjoy the day in front of the ocean. We staye din a small room but it was great for the price and very clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    193
    43
    27
    4
See reviews for
102
289
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel has the most arrogant and unaccomodating staff we have ever seen. We are horrified to see this hotel is ranked second on tripadvisor and feel the need to warn other travellers. To date, this has been our worst experience in any hotel anywhere.

After a long journey we arrived at this hotel. We indicated to them on arrival that we are on our honeymoon and had requested a room facing the sea through our travel agent. We had a documented email from our agent that indicates the hotel was notified. On arrival, two of the front service staff spent over 15 minutes arguing with us on never receiving a call from the travel agent. At this point they had given us a tiny room that smelled which overlooked their parking lot. It was the most uncomfortable bed - two single beds attached together. After 15 minutes of being told we are stuck with this room, another lady, the reservation manager, admitted a call had been made by our travel agent (she had it as a note on her computer system) but that the call was too late to accommodate the request. When we indicated that perhaps we should look at another hotel for a room that suits our needs since it is our honeymoon, the reservation manager's arrogant and inconsiderate response was, too bad you have to pay for three nights anyways. On top of it they provided us with no information on the breakfast or services at hotel. They just wanted to get rid of us. The reservation manager committed to looking into other rooms for the following days but she never followed up with us and obviously did not. It was clear they did not care that we had travelled a long way to celebrate an important milestone in our life. They made their money and that is all that mattered.

Poor customer service continued at this hotel. The same evening we asked someone to come and help us with ironing our clothes (there is a "rule" in Italy that doesn't allow for Iron in the rooms, they said). No one arrived. The house keeping does the bare minimum and only makes your bed. Towels or bath robes were not replaced even if left on the floor. Instead, they were hung back. Everything else is left unclean and the room smells horrible. As a example, we left a glass a wine almost emptied overnight and the next day, figuring they would pick it up when they cleaned the room. To our great surprise, the glass was still there, half emptied when we came back from our day trip. My partner ended up cleaning it in the bathroom since they also hadn't left any additional glass and we needed it for water for the night).

As a traveller you should know that this hotel is run like a timeshare or something of the sort. They have occupants who have have rooms and chairs on the beach, reserved rooms, table at restaurants, etc... . They call them seasonal customers (one of the nicer staff explained to us how it actually worked). As a result, be prepared to get the worst seats on the beach or pool or no seats at all. If you get a crappy room that smells be prepared to be stuck in it. We were also removed from unoccupied seats outside their restaurant (were there was a nice view) in the process of getting coffee. According to them it was reserved but no one arrived during the 2 hours we were there (we stayed 2 hours and no one ever sat there). During the whole 2 hours (and please remember they only serve lunch from 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm, we arrive at 11:45), the entire "reserved" front row remained emptied. What a waste and how insulting to paying customers.

It is clear this hotel survives on its location. We do not recommend travelers stay at this hotel. Instead we would recommend finding a hotel in some of the other beautiful towns such as Santa margarita that provide a great ambience and superior customer service for the cost of rooms in these towns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCENOBIODEIDOGI, Direttore at Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We would like to point out that a reservation is a contract stipulated with a traveler (frequently represented by a travel agency) and the hotel.
The hotel staff cooperates in order to honor the commitments, according to the info given by the Guest or the travel agency upon booking.

With reference to your personal event - as we explained upon your arrival – please note that the travel agency booked for you a classic room without sea view through an automatic reservation system; they just called us a few days before the arrival asking for a free upgrade to a sea view room but no one confirmed it.
As you can imagine an upgrade is a complimentary service that we can offer only if possible, not during the peak of the season when the hotel is fully booked.

Probably it was a mistake made by your travel agency, as you told us it was the second time such a thing happened to you; we think that a travel agency should pay more attention while booking, especially for special occasions like honeymoons.

You have been told we would have done our best to give you another room from the following day, even if it was not so easy because the hotel was complete.
When you told us you would have probably looked for another hotel, we replied you should have paid for the whole stay, anyway: in fact when you withdraw in advance from a contract you must anyway adhere existing rules.

As far as ironing is concerned, please note that there are strict fire-prevention rules which do not allow a Guest to use irons in their rooms; you have been given the opportunity to let the chambermaid press your clothes during the 2nd check of the room (after 7.00 pm) and you were told it wouldn’t have been a complimentary service. Anyway when they came to your room you had left no clothes.

Furthermore we have 3 internal restaurants:
- “Il Doge” and “Terrazza Giulia” (main restaurant) opening lunchtime 12.30 – 14.30
- “La Playa” (beach restaurant) opening lunchtime 12.30 – 16.00
- Bar terrace (snack bar and light lunch) opening lunchtime 12.30 – 16.00
You can just ask to the maître or to the waiter which seats are free, as during high season we have a lot of bookings.

The same principle applies to the pool and beach areas: you can ask to the lifeguards for free seats or, if you prefer, you can book a specific place (reservation costs 15 €).

We are sorry you were so upset and especially that you were not satisfied from your stay in hour hotel for a so important occasion such as your honeymoon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is now the 5th or 6th time we visit Camogli and always we stay at Cenobio dei Dogi, an exceptional hotel.
We particularly appreciate the atmosphere - here we find pleasant guests, pleasant staff and impeccable hotel facilities which the staff maintain with pride and delight....this is a place with amazing views of the sea, you hear the waves and the cicada whose chant is the rythym of the waves and the seaside....
of course there are several restaurants, and there is a salt-water pool but there is also the amazing beach....there we can have a pleasant view and we can go to swim very very far, either to the town and the port, or just beyond to the infinity of the sea.
What a treat!

Room Tip: we always choose room 144 or 145 since a few years....with view of ocean but private balcony.... alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Traveled with another couple and really enjoyed ourselves at this hotel! Not too many small children, the tourist/guests were very local and low-key, the pool is phenomenally salt-water and the private beach is very relaxing. The only point of note was that our room on the top floor seemed very run-down and not as clean as we would have hoped. The tall sloped ceiling sported some cobwebs in the corners. Additionally the sloped ceiling over the bathtub and "shower" made both myself and my husband have to squat like Gollum in the tub to wash - and I'm only 5'6" so there really is no excuse for that shower situation at a beach. I know one needs to maximize space and all but really… However - the rest of the hotel made up for this and I would absolutely return so long as I could be 100% guaranteed another room! PS: They really should modify that room :-/

Room Tip: Not the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muri, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

location, parking plus staff, breakfast, swimming pool, privat beach(without charges on the chairs and umbrellas :-)) excellent. Also the cleaning staff very friendly and helpfull. The room was below standards for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spectacular views. Friendly and excellent service. Great pool , accessible beaches with confortable lounge chairs and parasols, diverse choice of restaurants , good food and friendly service - our waiter made some excellent suggestions for wine and meal . All in all a very pleasant experience. We would definitely go back and for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is ideally located at the entrance of the beautiful village of Camogli. The service is excellent and we enjoyed a nice dinner at the Playa restaurant at sunset. During high season, it is a bit difficult to find a place by the pool so you should get there early enough in the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi

Address: Via Nicolo Cuneo 34, 16032 Camogli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Camogli
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Camogli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and style at Cenobio dei Dogi for those who can appreciate the charm of one of the most fascinating places in the Ligurian Riviera. Enjoy the seaside in total privacy and peace: today is such a rare occasion, really appreciated by our guests. The possibility to access to our private beach directly from the Hotel avoid any stress, dedicating your spare time to the absolute relax.Who prefers to sunbathe on the terrace can lay at the poolside near the palms, flowers facing the wonderful panorama on the “Golfo Paradiso”.103 no smoking rooms within standard and classic, connecting rooms for families, some of them with balcony, others with a poolside terrace or on a sheer drop to the sea; all rooms equipped with WI-FI connection, air conditioner/heating, phone, minibar, flat screen TV, satellite channels, safe, hairdryer, courtesy set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cenobio Dei Dogi Hotel
Cenobio Dei Dogi Camogli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.