We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow! Like living in a postcard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nicolo Cuneo 34, 16032 Camogli, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Camogli
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“wow! Like living in a postcard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

There are some times you just need to spend the money to get a great hotel in a great location. As you can imagine, a sea-front property on the Ligurian Riveria with its own private beach is not going to come cheaply. However, I have nothing but positives about our four nights at the Cenobio Dei Dogi.

Camogli is a small gem of a town located about 15 miles east of Genova and features a charming small harbor still populated by fishing boats. When combined with the tall classic Ligurian house painted with different colors, you will feel like you are living in a postcard of Italy
.
The Cenobio dei Dogi is a large older hotel with typically small rooms. However, you are not here to spend time in your room, are you? What you really want is that breakfast in the beautiful dinner room with a floor to ceiling view of Camogli and the Mediterranean sea. The breakfast is generous and elegant. They have a private beach plus a swiming pool. However, during our stay in October, the sea was actually warmer than the pool. Did I mention the cocktail bar on the deck overlooking the sea where you can have an aperol spritz , wine, or a cocktail while watching the sunset? We chose to eat in small restaurants in Camogli instead of paying the high prices at the hotel restaurant. There are many excellent options within walking distance

From Camogli, you can catch the train which can take you either into Genova or to the Cinque Terre. The train station is about 100 yards from the hotel, but you must negotiate about 70 steps to reach it. You may encounter business groups having conferences at this hotel because of the location and amenities.

I found everything here to be enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    165
    37
    25
    4
See reviews for
82
237
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giffnock, Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi for two nights whilst attending a medical conference at Hotel Portofino Kulm. The hotel was lovely. Great location in a beautiful coastal town. I stayed in room 28 which was small but well appointed. Comfortable double bed, decent closet space, in room safe, TV, large bathroom with walk in shower (great water pressure). The room was perfect for a single or couple stay. The major upside and highlight of the room was the view of the beach/sea from several windows.

The hotel itself is lovely with outside terraces with beautiful view, several inner sitting rooms, beautiful dining room with a spectacular view of the town/sea. The food at dinner and breakfast was of good standard and varied choice. Free WiFi was also very welcome.

All in all a lovely stay in a lovely hotel with very pleasant staff in a lovely part of the world. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room rather than garden view. The additional room cost is worth if for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cotswolds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The approach from the railway is 78 steps down but this hotel has the most advantageous position on the Sea front in beautiful Camogli. Everything is of a very high standard. Our very comfortable room had a bath (wonderful after a long walk). The dining room was charming and the breakfast very good even though my egg did not cook after 5 minutes. We dined in to a delicious meal and were charmingly served by the head waiter in a separate room whilst wedding guests occupied the dining room. We did not use the pool goodness knows why not!

Room Tip: Sea view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We picked Camogli as an alternative to the hugely expensive Portofino. Having lived in Genova in my Uni years I knew the village of Camogli was really cute and it didn't disappoint. I also knew where the hotel was which is the main reason for picking it. The hotel is at the end of the bay and overlooks the village ( mostly from the common areas) which is beautiful for
Sunset.. The sea view room overlooked the pool and the sea but the village was blocked off by the other parts of the hotel. The room was ok, nothing to complain or write home about.
The pool area is pleasant but needs maintenance. One of the other guests lifted part of the pool deck when he jumped in the pool. They also seem to think that you should be up by 8.30am - time at which they decided to karsher the sun loungers a couple of mornings during our stay.
The common areas inside are looking very old and the indoor bar area looks inside the pool aquarium like! Cool in a 70s James Bond movie but frankly disconcerting for me!
Parking was easy enough in September.
In short, the hotel has a great location but some short comings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St Mary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Cenobio is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful location.It embraces change where change is appropriate but maintains tradition and retains its individuality. The staff is superb;the restaurants and bar staff are particularly welcoming and friendly and provide an excellent service. The atmosphere of the hotel is completely relaxing, which is why we return so frequently. We would also like to mention the attention and friendliness of the chambermaids. See you next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location is amazing - the seafront is car (and almost entirely scooter) free and so there is a beautiful and relaxing quietness. To appreciate how quiet it is, jump on the train to S Marguerite, the next resort down the coast. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - we even got a free lift up the hill to the station when we left.If there was a gripe, it was that the client internet terminal was a rather ancient steam driven affair running on the hotel's intranet - very clunky and selective in the sites that could be accessed. And don't think of taking your car to Camogli - there is a bus from the airport to the Piazza Principe main railway station in Genoa and regular services from there down a spectacular coastline to Camogli. Go there!

Room Tip: Sea views are excellent but carry a very heavy premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tour-de-Peilz, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel offers excellent service and is particularly attractive because of its wonderful location on the terraced cliff overlooking the beautiful seaside village of Camogli. The breakfasts were very good as were the menus offered in the restaurants. The unspoiled village of Camogli is a real pearl which seems to escape hoards of foreign tourists and is popular with Italian families despite the pebble beach. Using Camogli as a quiet base, it was perfect for exploring other resorts along the Golfo Paradiso and the Cinque Terre which are accessible either by train or boat. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi

Address: Via Nicolo Cuneo 34, 16032 Camogli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Camogli
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Camogli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and style at Cenobio dei Dogi for those who can appreciate the charm of one of the most fascinating places in the Ligurian Riviera. Enjoy the seaside in total privacy and peace: today is such a rare occasion, really appreciated by our guests. The possibility to access to our private beach directly from the Hotel avoid any stress, dedicating your spare time to the absolute relax.Who prefers to sunbathe on the terrace can lay at the poolside near the palms, flowers facing the wonderful panorama on the “Golfo Paradiso”.103 no smoking rooms within standard and classic, connecting rooms for families, some of them with balcony, others with a poolside terrace or on a sheer drop to the sea; all rooms equipped with WI-FI connection, air conditioner/heating, phone, minibar, flat screen TV, satellite channels, safe, hairdryer, courtesy set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cenobio Dei Dogi Hotel
Cenobio Dei Dogi Camogli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.