We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite and food so fresh a good vet could get it back on its feet/fins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vento Ariel

Vento Ariel
Calata Porto, Camogli, Italy
0185771080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 77 Restaurants in Camogli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Mediterranean, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite and food so fresh a good vet could get it back on its feet/fins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Superb, unrivalled and yet somehow completely unpretentious. Delightful service. Fish that is so fresh you can see it being brought into the restaurant from the fishing boats berthed immediately outside. Note: the rare (read: raw) baby tuna is not for the faint-hearted. It is like eating the sea.

The best dish I tasted in there was the spaghetti with baby squid. The pasta was firm and the squid was tender. In Britain, you order that dish in most restaurants and it will be the other way around. And twice as expensive.

The wine list is extensive and impressive. But more impressive still, when we asked for advice between two competing bottles, we were recommended to take the one which was half the price of the other. Now THAT'S the test of a trustworthy establishment.

This is high quality dining in a smart but relaxed environment. I honestly can't recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    86
    29
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eysins Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Camogli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Friendly service, excellent food, perfect location. The chef really makes you feel at home. Highly commendable for a wonderful evening " à deux"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great place with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

During our stay in Camogly we had a rental house so we though not mach of the restaurants, yet agreed to try one with local sea food. The choice came to Vento Ariel and it was the hit!

The restaurant is located right in the post of Camogly with the terasse and the inside palces facing the picturesque vies of the fishing boats - as we were a bit late with the lunch we actually saw some fisherman leaving for the afternoon shift ... - while eating the seafood it is actually very touching to see the people who are making you lunch possible!!! Thanks!

The food is great - we took a risote del mare for my wife and a menu (with three courses) for me. Quality was on the top of the standards - you need to be local and understand the fish to be able to cook it this way. Overall - the food was perfect, for the price - with local flavours and typical for the area flavors! Overall you may select fromt he menu (there are two types of fixed menu for 18 and 35 euro - the later one is coming with fresh wish as a main cours - simply great, the former one is simple - small antipasty and some seafood pasta+ coffe). The list of dishes is reasonable - yet you need an extra training in the fish names and the way they look to choose - I relyed on the waiter advise and it was good. The wine list is long and on my view a bit pricely - yet the area is overall not cheapest in Italy, so be ready to pay for the lunch with a wine ca 80 -90 euro for two persons, in our case we got it for 50 - no wine and reduced part for my wife.

The waitor (I assume also an owner or partial owner of the place) -is a charming person, you may address any question to him, speaks English perfect and is a fun of Juventus (not sure you can make a discount if you come in the right black and white jersey!). He explained and advise very polite and makes the stay very confortable.

Would defenetly to recomendd the place if you are in Camogly for lunch or dinner - in weekend seams to be wise to book ahead for the best places!

great place - thanks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the restaurant is run by Davide, who is a knowledgeable local guy, who loves to talk to customers and can give tips on the surroundings.
The fish is extremely fresh, and so is the pesto.Charmingly located in front of the port , has a very good selections of wine, and even a couple of dishes that were created by Davide.
Probably the best restaurant in Camogli

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great seafood in charming location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Vento Ariel is right on the old harbour's edge, and is great for watching the world go by as well as the food. Best to book ahead at busy periods - it was full up the first time we tried on a Saturday evening. Eccellent baked fish, ligurian style.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vento Ariel also viewed

Camogli, Italian Riviera
 
Camogli, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Vento Ariel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vento Ariel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.