We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close to shops, bars, resturants, and Ferries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Marconi, 36, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, close to shops, bars, resturants, and Ferries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel only does B&B, but it is clean, close to amenities, unless you go by car, there is a short walk from the bus park to the hotel about a hundred meters or so, but it's on the level, so no hill to climb. The staff are friendly and helpful, if not enthusiastic, pay the extra for a room with a balcony, as the views are stunning. If you like a hot English breakfast then this hotel is not for you, the breakfast was the only down side of an otherwise great little hotel, plenty choice, but the same every day, and not the best quality. The restaurant next door is good, and the staff are really friendly, the strange thing I found was that all the restaurants offered virtually the same menu, but with slight variance in price, around 90 - 110 Euros for dinner for four people with drinks. If it is your first time, take the tours, and get to know the place, the Thomson Lake tour was good. The ferry outside the hotel front door goes to Malcesine every half hour, and only costs 8 Euros return, ferries to other resorts, are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We booked at Hotel Sole after having read the different reviews on tripadvisor and reading them we asked ourself how can the same hotel having so opposite comments, so we took the risk based upon the beautiful pictures on their website and a promotion that was proposed at the time.

This hotel is ideally located close to the lake and to the beach. Parking is in a modern garage just 2 minutes walk from hotel. Breakfast was very good, with large choice, good cakes and very good coffee served directly at the table. Staff was always very kind and I found them very italians.... smiling and spontaneous....not usual in many hotels.
The little things like going to get your car because it was raining or giving you maps of small villages you would have never seen.
Many excellent restaurants within walking distance.
We only can recommed you this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We arrived at the hotel at 8pm and the lady on reception was a little brisk,( I was worried after reading 1 or 2 of the other reviews). However I needn't have worried. We had booked a room with a balcony and view of the lake, it was situated on the 1st floor and, although we could hear music from the restaurant in the evening it was quiet and stopped by 10pm. The views were outstanding from our balcony although my photos don't do it justice. The rooms were clean and well maintained and staff plesant, and we had no problems during our weeks stay. The hotel is ideally situated for the centre of Limone and the ferry services to the other places round the Lake. The Room had no frills as expected from a 3 star hotel but a safe and fridge ticked our boxes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in early June as part of a late-deal Thomson's package. We didn't want half-board and this is one of the few hotels offering B & B. After some initial confusion as to which 'Hotel Sole' was involved (there's a Hotel Sole in nearby Riva del Garda) we realised we were destined to be staying in what some reviewers appeared to regard as an Italian Fawlty Towers with an ever-present Basil ready to pounce on any misdemeanor. We approached the hotel with some dread. In fact it was fine. Our room at the front was large enough, the bed was comfortable and it was helpful to have a fridge for our own use. After my initial dismay at the lack of a hairdryer (to be fair the Thomson's brochure didn't mention one) we accepted that this was a 3 star hotel and no 'frills' could be expected. There was no air-conditioning but apparently even hotels with air conditioning don't switch it on until slightly later in the season. We had a first floor room with balcony. It's a shame the view of the lake was interrupted by the flat roof that projected below. Second floor rooms undoubtedly would offer the best views. After the first couple of days we relaxed and realised nothing terrible was going to happen to us. We had nothing to complain about in any case. The location was ideal - particularly compared to hotels perched up the hillside . It was close to the lake and to restaurants and shops. The hotel is non-smoking and my husband appreciated the benches along the front where he could sit and smoke his pipe. There is nothing fancy about this hotel but the accommodation is clean and comfortable. Just remember to bring your hairdryer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We like to return to the places where we feel like home and enjoyed Limone and this hotel so much last year that we went again this year. I cannot fault the hotel in any way. It has a real professional run feel about the place with a pleasant and helpful staff. The whole hotel is immaculate, the food is really good and the view is spectacular.
Make sure you pay the extra for a superior room with a view of the lake, you will not regret it.
We may well yet become one of the many "regulars" they have, as we certainly met many people who have been there 5 to 10 times!!! Much of them are from Germany and only some from England....but Germany is not so far like United Kingdom.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Sole Hotel in Limone, Lake Garda is in an excellent location as its situated on the front of a beautiful harbour with picturesque views of the lake itself. The Hotel is in the heart of Limone with a short walk to the beach and the shops. Restaurants and bars neighbour the hotel and the ferry to Malcesine and other resorts on the lake are a stone's throw away.

The room we were given was wonderful as it had a fantastic view of the lake. The downside of this was that it was directly above the bar, however, the music did stop playing at 11pm. The hotel, and much of the resort, generally caters for Germans meaning much of the food is "ham and cheese" on a variety of different breads with the beer also being of a German brand, as opposed to Peroni.

The breakfast was lovely and is a typical med breakfast. Ham and cheese is available again but with sweet bread, croissants and cake. Cereal is also on offer with lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt. The best thing about the breakfast was the coffee. Latte Machiatto became a favourite and the breakfast waiter remembered the type of coffee you had ordered from day one. This is as far as the friendliness went in that many waiters were quite abrupt and could barely be bothered to say morning.

The Hotel does not have the benefit of a pool but does have a nice roof terrace, again overlooking the lake. The rooms and general cleanliness of the hotel were excellent and I found it was the general attitude of the staff that blotted this lovely hotel's rep.

In all the hotel is in a wonderful location, offering a good breakfast and fantastic view of the beautiful Lake Garda. Enjoy! x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Having already stayed at Malcesine on a previous holiday, I was looking forward to my trip across the lake to Limone.

Limone is very pretty and the hotel Sole occupies a beautiful lakeside spot. The rooms are indeed very clean and although my room was one facing the rear I did not mind too much. Breakfast is very nice too. A good range of cereals etc

Unfortunately, on the fourth day of my stay, an influx of new guests during the day led to some very late night noise until 2am and then starting again at 5am.

Whilst the manager initially agreed to move me to a new room. When it became apparent the alternative was even more noisy the manager became beligerent, rude and very curt. I was told 'if I did not like the hotel, Thomson could move me'. They would but only for 200 euros for the remaining three nights (!) Thomson by the way were pretty useless even the young lady rep confessed to not knowing how to handle the manager. I think Thomson are more inclined to fob you off with sympathetic soundbites than to take any genuine action to remedy the situation. They have been going there for 15 years so I doubt any complaint to them makes a jot of difference.

The rep informed me that the mother and son who run the hotel are not the most hospitable hosts in fact the son is apparently bitter about having to run dear mama's business! I can warn you not to go there and expect smiles and great customer service from them. Quite the opposite. Any requests will be greeted with a brusque response.

They are also a bit on the mercenary side when it comes to making money charging a couple who were staying at the hotel who asked to take their bottle drinks from the bar an extra 1 euro each for glass and ice!!

So yes if you have no requests or need no assistance from the Hotel management then one might be inclined to agree with the more favourable reviews.

Otherwise I recommend to stay away

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Sole

Address: Via G. Marconi, 36, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 70 beds the Hotel offers different type of rooms, all with shower, toilette, phone, safe, freeze, TV-satellite. Treatement: bed & breakfast with a breakfast-buffet; buffet is rich and complete, including marmelades, italian cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, eggs, juices and hot drinks. Enclosed to the Hotel is a spacious and lively open-air cafe with music (every evening) where you can spend on the lakeshore pleasant moments enjoying the many touristic events (fireworks, musical events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Sole Hotel
Hotel Garni Sole Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.