We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ideal to your Saves list
Hotel Ideal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre, 32, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights Aug 11 in a lake view room with balcony, our views of the lake and mountains were wonderful. I think we were the only english guests virtually all the other guests were german this was no problem and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. All the staff spoke some english and we never had a problem.
This has to be one of the most organised hotels we have ever stayed at the pool, beach area, bars and cafe are immaculate and the service is second to none.
We would not normally have the half board option in hotels but we were happy that we chose to, the quality and freshness of the food was first class as was the menu options.
Our room had everything we needed and was spotless.
A tip, if you want to swim in the lake buy some rubber shoes in local supermarket (10 euro ) because its very rocky and painful to walk on in bare feet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford-in-the-Water, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Located next to Lake Garda, the Hotel Ideal is obviously going to have beautiful views. You can even see the Dolomites from the front of the hotel. The staff was courteous and friendly, particularly in evidence during breakfast and dinner. The food was good and ensured that we did not need to hunt for restaurants in the evenings. Our room felt as comfortable as home and we had no trouble sleeping. Remember those views? Well, the rooms have balconies complete with chairs to appreciate those views when winding down after a day out and about.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Ideal. Whilst the other guests were predominantly German, we didn't find this to be a problem as the waiters in the dining room, bar staff and reception staff could all speak some English and we found them all very polite and friendly. We also met a very nice German couple who made every effort to speak to us in English, making us feel inadequate at our lack of German.

Our room was quite small but adequate and, more importantly, very clean, with a change of towels every day. We didn't get a lake view but could see the mountains.

We only tackled the hill climb to the town once and opted to walk along the beach, which was well lit at night. The town is very pretty but I would recommend staying in a larger resort if you want a bigger choice of bars and restaurants.

The food was ok for a week,but not high quality, and you had to choose your dinner option at breakfast.

Would recommend going to Venice - busy but fabulous.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not being able to eat breakfast or dinner outside on the terrace
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

Have just returned from the Hotel Ideal, Limone and here is our summary of the good the bad and the ugly of our stay at the hotel.

GOOD: the location of the hotel is great, there are not many hotels with a lake front spot, especially with a small private beach and indoor and outdoor pools. The walk into the town takes approx 5-10 mins and is a steep uphill clmb to main road, followed by a steep downhill path to the promenade. A flatter walk can be accessed along the lake front, however, the first half of the walk is along the shingle beach, therefore not suitable for all. (never walked this way of a night therefore unsure of lighting!)

BAD: the hotels decor overall is dated from the reception area to the restaurants and bedrooms, no way what I would describe as four star! the rooms are also very basic and very, very small with just enough room to manouvere yourself around the door to close it in the bathroom! The food was also very basic and for italy, very uninspiring. I am a vegetarian, and was only able to eat in the hotel on two evenings where there was a tomato salad option avaliable. Also, as the hotel only really caters for German guests, then expect all menus, entertainment, TV and signs to be in german!

THE UGLY: the two major problems with a holiday at this hotel is firstly the way that you are made to feel isolated and second class citizens as British travellers, and we are not the only people to say this, others who we met only on departure agreed with our feelings and made a complaint to our holiday company about this. We apprecaiate that the hotel are only catering for the majority of guests, which is their right, but Brits visiting this hotel can expect to be given the worst rooms (ours right next to reception desk, other Brits above the kitchens so very noisy early morning!) and can also to struggle to converse with most of the staff.

The second major gripe is the rudeness of the reception staff. All by one, who was the night porter who spoke excellent english and was very polite and helpful, all the daytime staff were very rude, especially at check out where one lovely young lady (unfortunatley no name badge to name and shame!) was extremely nasty and rude to us when we asked to settle our room bill by credit card. She gave us a dirty look and asked why 'we couldn't pay with cash', to which we replied 'because our cash was running low as it was the end of our holiday', she then proceeded to slag us off in italian to the reception manager right in front of us as though we couldn't understand what she was saying. The reception manager then pulled a face and strugged her shoulders at us in disgust, leaving us very angry and upset. So if like us you want a holiday to be relaxing and comfortable , with friendly customer service and a choice of facilities both day and night......then as a Brit the Hotel Ideal is not the place for you!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around other hotels
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2004

We have recently returned from spending two weeks at the Ideal Hotel on Lake Garda. We booked the holiday through a travel company and although we did not know anything about Limone we were delighted with the place and very pleased with the situation of the hotel and the facilities which were available. The staff were extremely kind and helpful and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2004

We booked this hotel via the internet with fingers crossed, but were not disappointed. Our room in the main building was comfortable and had a balcony and panoramic view over the lake. The staff were very attentive and all spoke English/German/italian. Lovely deep swimming pool and also a slim strip of pebbley beach from which you can swim in the lake - an unexpected highlight, as it was surprisingly warm, clear and fresh water. Meals are simple but fine unless you are a foodie. Singer/keyboard players entertain those who choose to use the lakeside bar every evening. Seemed to be very popular with German families, lots for children to do. Steep climb up the access road but then only 10 minute walk to town centre with good range of shops and eating places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Address: Via IV Novembre, 32, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ideal 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ideal Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ideal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.