We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfull place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Gallinaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Borgo Gallinaio to your Saves list
Borgo Gallinaio
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Strada del Gallinaio, 5, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderfull place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

If you search for a place to relax, enjoy the quietness, listen to nature, like to take a walk through nature or make a bike trip, you surely have to go to Borgo Gallinaio. It's a beautiful hotel in the middle of nature with a very friendly staff. Alessandro will tell you all you need to know about the area. But it's also not far away from beautiful cities like Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra ..... After a long day you can relax at the swimmingpool. Breakfast is also very good with different kinds of bread, meat, cheese, fresch fruit and so on. The rooms are nice and clean! A nice place to stay among friendly people!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 via mobile

Pleasant welcome and stunning from the outside. Basic rooms. Probably needs a thorough clean as cobwebs not always a welcome sight in a room. Pool is great as lost between the olive trees. TV very dated and only 2 channels. Fine for staying the night and relaxing by the pool but don't expect to want to spend time in the room. Recommend for the region and for a great spot if you want to relax between the vines an olive trees.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed here for three nights with extended family, including children, and the entire experience was wonderful. The rooms were immaculately clean, wonderfully air conditioned and the atmosphere welcoming. The breakfasts were typically Italian: fruit, bread, cheese, meat with freshly made coffee. We ate there one night too and the food was very good indeed. Some of our party were vegetarians and this posed no problem at all. The courtyard where we ate was lovely and on the upstairs terrace there are spectacular veiws over the vineyards. The grounds are beautiful: you apporach Borgo Gallinaio via a long drive and feel you are truely 'away from it all'. A walk through olive groves and gardens takes you to the swimming pool which is far enough away from the sleeping accommodation to allow children to have fun at all hours of the morning and night and not worry about disturbing others. There are a few biting insects though so take insect repellant especially at night.
Overall, I can't fault it and would recommend it wholeheartedly to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Good location with a lovely view at the towers of Monteriggione.
Nice fresh room with an increddible bathroom!
Fantastic service ,breakfast and dinner are delicious....

The only disadvantage.... We could only stay 6 days

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2004

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this villa when driving through Tuscany in June 2004. The villa was beautiful, very clean and and appeared to be newly painted inside. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a porch outside with a view of nearby Monteriggoni.
It wasn't the cheapest place we stayed in Italy (136 Euro), but certainly the nicest. We'd had great difficulty finding a villa that didn't require guests to stay at least several nights. Borgo Gallinaio is a bed and breakfast and they were happy to have us for just one night - and the breakfast was delicious. The owners were very friendly, kind and helpful.
Our only negative comment would be that the swimming pool (which we didn't have time to use) was some distance from the villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Gallinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Gallinaio

Address: Strada del Gallinaio, 5, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borgo Gallinaio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Borgo Gallinaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Gallinaio Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Gallinaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.