We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money place is quiet, too...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Antico Borgo Poggiarello to your Saves list
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad value for money place is quiet, too...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010 via mobile

Bad value for money
place is quiet, too quiet, far from rest of the world - first real village is at least 10km. Food is not bad, but relatively expensive, no a la carte menu. Rooms are old furnished, beds are hard. Swimming pool is ok, but beds and surroundings are poor with no ambiance. €120/night is far too much. You even have to pay an extra €9/person for a poor breakfast. There are a lot Agriturismos in Tuscany with better value for money.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poggia, Owner at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Dear Mrs or Mr BriBraopreis,
Thank you for your review.
Just some point that we want to make clear.
Our dinner has composed by 5 courses (each one different day by day) and the price is 29 Euro p.p.,
The apartments are furnished in OLD TUSCANY STYLE and the beds are anatomic the surroundigs
are in national walnut wood.
Our breakfast:
Orange juice, cake hand made,toasted bred,corn flakes,muesli,marmoledes mix,honey,butter,nutella,milk,fresh fruit,cheese,salami,Parma ham.
Espresso,American coffee,tea,Caffellatte,Cappuccino,hot chocolate served as much as one likes.
Regards
Nino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    35
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Poggiarello is a great place for those who want to be a little off the beaten track, but not too far from amenities or places of interest..Here you can have your cake and eat it. It's set amongst extensive woods on a hillside with expansive views. From the upper part of the site.Paulo will likely point out the hill towns of Volterra snd San Giminiano which perch on the skyline, as he takes you on the tour on your arrival,He and his brother Roberto run the place with a casual charm and efficiency.They may not volunteer to join you if you elect to go for a days tramping in the greenwoods,but they are very likely to loan you a map ,so that you find your way back .
If you want to talk wine ,Paulo's your man."wine is my passion !" He stands firmly in the traditionalist camp, when it comes to winemaking, and I wasn't going to argue ,especially not as we were in his wine cellar and it may have resulted in magnums at twenty paces!,so if its just advice on local chianti or classy brunello or an impassioned debate ,Paulo like the boy scout will " be prepared"
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was good,four courses of tasty tuscan food. The apartment was very clean ,huge bathroom,a kitchen which did us well enough as we cooked on 3 evenings, a grand patio, a fine pool ,plenty big enough ,even for the early morning lap swimmer,------just a little more bracing then.
All in all the antico borgo is well worth a try ,and we happily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

After traveling extensively through southern France and Italy we look for rural and ancient places to stay and Antico Borgo Poggiarello is our favorite. This part of Tuscany is exquisite, with rolling hills and ancient towns, but mainly we love this place because of the family that runs it. It's the closest a foreigner will get to living "under the Tuscan Sun" without buying a house and actually moving there. It is removed, but that's exactly why we go there (our accommodations before this were a castle in Umbria, even more remote). This is Italy as it was meant to be, rustic, beautiful with great food and hosts...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin county
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

this was our 2nd trip to Poggiarello, and we loved it even more than the first time.Our apartment overlooked the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen! We absolutely love the family.. the hospitality couldnt have been better! Grazia, the wife of Nino the owner, gave me some amazing cooking lessons, I came home to San Francisco and bought a pasta machine! the food was fabulous, and Paolo the son in law knows wine like a sommilier... we drank very well, as well as fabulous Tuscan dinners every night. We wanted something rustic, and thats exactly the experience we had.. they even had the road paved since our last visit, so getting there on the longish road was not an issue. Roberto and his beautiful girlfriend Elli were so much fun and couldnt have been more helpful.For us, it was the perfect week ending our 3 week holiday in Italy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with a kitchen (which we didn't use as we were only there one night), small dining area with table. pool was very nice, scenery is spectacular and the hosts were very charming- great with our 10 year old and the teenagers as well. Food was really tasty-perhaps has changed since original revews. the only downside, is that it is down a dirt road and a little out of the way- not for a day excursion,but it would be hard to imagine going out for dinner and being able to come back (unless you have GPS).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

As a couple with a young baby, we recently stayed for a week in Antico Borgo Poggiarello. We've travelled quite extensively in Italy, especially Tuscany, staying in both hotels and self catering properties. This year, after a wonderful week in Puglia, we flew up to stay here.

The 'village' is certainly set in the midst of the most beautiful tuscan countryside, with vineyards, fields of sunflowers and rolling hills all around.

The drive to Poggiarello involves a couple of kilometres of private road, which varies from tarmac to guttered and loose surfaced dusty track, with some steepish climbs and descents. I've had a look on the website and at the emails we received, and they certainly didn't mention the state of the road. It was 'exciting' in a hire car, but I wouldn't have been happy to take my own car up it. Some cars I've owned have had limited ground clearance and simply would not have got down the road. It's understandable that the road is not as well maintained as public highways, but I feel it should be made clear so guests no what to expect if they are driving their own car.

We arrived early on a Sunday evening, after a very long day's travelling. The location certainly is spectacular, with lovely shaded woodland and amazing views of the Tuscan countryside. Our apartment was large, clean and simply furnished. The kitchen was small but well equipped. I imagine it may have been a challenge to self cater in the kitchen, due to the limited space. As requested, a cot had been supplied which was of a high standard. Unfortunately the apartment was situated directly above the restaurant courtyard, and was overlooked by another seated area. With the only windows opening out onto this area, there was quite a lot of noise of music and guests chatting, with children playing until late, although the owners did always offer to turn down the volume of the music. We were left with the option of keeping the shutters closed and having no fresh air, or opening them, increasing the noise and limiting the privacy. I also felt conscious that when our baby was crying (as a did a fair bit, as he was suffering with an ear infection and high temperature) we were disturbing the other guests and diners. Some of the other apartments had private outside dining areas, but ours didn't. This was a great disadvantage as we usually dine outside if we can, or enjoy a quiet bottle of wine.

As no local shops were open, we opted for dinner at the restaurant. I have to agree with the other reviewers who commented on the food. It was average at best, particularly when compared to the high standards set in Italy. The gnocchi were excellent, followed by an average, slightly over-salty pork course and a pretty poor fruit desert. The wine was good, but compared to some of the affordable, yet quaffable local 'table' wines available at many local restaurants, the wine list seemed to be weighted at the more expensive side, which was in stark contrast with the standard of food. Our 8 month old had his supper with us as we dined. All the staff and owners were extremely welcoming of him, and made quite a fuss, which bought us a little time to finish our dinner when he was getting tired! When we discovered the meal was 30 Euros per person excluding drinks we were amazed! We ate in some of the most highly rated restaurants in the region and paid less.

Again, as we had not made it to the shops we arranged to eat breakfast, which was apparently 9-11 in the morning. (one of the latest breakfast start times I've known). OK if you're not planning on heading out for the day, but with so many beautiful sights to visit, it makes it difficult to get an early start. The following morning we went down for breakfast, but all was still locked up by 9.30, so we decided to get breakfast elsewhere. (I think someone overslept and so breakfast was late; OK for a B&B but not ideal when you're marketing yourself at the higher end of the market).

We decided to give the restaurant a second chance, as dining at Poggiarello was always going to be easier. The food was again average, and pork was the served for the main course again!

Poggiarello was ideally situated for the beautiful hill towns of Tuscany, the spectacular Chianti hills and the spectactular cities of Siena and Florence. Our time was spent revisiting these places, and we were able to dine out in the evening without too long a drive home. The Borgo had a 'Eurocamp' feel about it. Lots of families from all over Europe. The pool looked nice, but was very busy with excited children, a little too challenging for our 'learner' swimmer! We didn't take advantage of the other facilities available. The microlite flight was tempting, and seemed good value at 70 Euros.

We found out about Poggiarello in Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay in Italy. It stated that all apartments had patios and great views- ours had neither.

Overall we were disappointed with Poggiarello. The location was certainly spectacular, but prices seemed very expensive (160 Euros per night) for what you got. Whether these are the prices you have to pay now in Tuscany, I don't know, but it is wasn't quite what we were expecting from the website. We won't stay there again and could not recommend it.

  • Liked — Surrounding views were spectacular
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

This beautiful agriturismo was recommended in a book about special places to stay in italy. It certainly was a very special place. It took quite a while to get there from the main road, but worth the trip! This property contains several buildings that make up a beautiful old Italian country estate. The family who runs it is very friendly and we enjoyed seeing their children on the property. The views from our two-bedroom apartment windows provided our own personal sunsets over Tuscany that we just can't match anywhere. The Italian dinner served was great on the stone patio. We paid the extra money to try out the authentic antique roman bath whirlpool that may have been a little stretch, but worth it. The property also had a wonderful pool that our teens couldn't wait to use after a long day of walking in Florence! Some of our favorite views of Italy are right here at this beautiful agriturismo, one of three we chose to stay at on this vacation. We loved them all!

  • Liked — The beautiful property and all of its authentic relics
  • Disliked — Long drive from main road, but worth it! Breakfast cost extra.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Borgo Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Poggiarello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Borgo Poggiarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.