We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing self catering with the bonus of amazing food onsite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Antico Borgo Poggiarello to your Saves list
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing self catering with the bonus of amazing food onsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have recently returned from a week here during a 2.5 week break in northern Italy. Our stay was perfect, the accommodation was simple with everything you needed for your stay. We were surprised that other reviewers complained of no cleaning service or replacement toilet rolls, this is self catering, this is the same in ANY self catering accommodation. Also a complaint of no information is totally unfounded as the reception is FULL of details and information and in fact we were able to take anything for the day and return it when we came back from our site seeing.
As for not choosing to eat here, thinking the place is too expensive, well these people missed some of the best food we tasted in Tuscany with amazing wine and very reasonable prices. The €31 per person is 4 courses and they are happy to made any necessary changes if there is something you don't eat or don't like. They have a full time chef who cooks amazing food and over the 6 nights we ate here we never ate the same thing twice and tasted every type of Tuscan food, pasta, risotto, all meats and beautiful desserts.
The swimming pool is fabulous with great views over the valley and the overall location is perfect for accessing everywhere in Tuscany you would want to visit.
Although there are 13 apartments everything seems very private and peaceful and you are not overlooked or disturbed at any point.
The property is run by an Italian family and you truly feel you are staying in a private part of their home.
We would love to return!

Room Tip: There are some apartments with private terraces overlooking the valley but these views can be seen f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Direttore at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Lindsey
sorry if we respond with some delay but we have been very busy, so, today we decided it was time to say thank you and your husband for the wonderful review you wrote about us.
Your words fill us with pride and encourage us to do more and better for our customers.
We wish you well and hope to have you here as soon as possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    36
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely family, fantastic accomodation and a perfect area for an excellent holiday.
For us, it was already the second time we visited Antico Borgo Poggiarello and it was even better than the first time. The family of Antico Borgo Poggiarello is so friendly and sweet that you get the feeling you're coming home. The dinner was really fantastic, if you want to eat wonderful Italian food, you have to stay for dinner. We stayed every evening for dinner as it was really excellent. The breakfast is also very good, with enough variety and delicious home made cake. There is a nice swimming pool to relax and the view is really amazing. Every night, you can watch the beautiful sunset. The location is very good, as you are very close to Siena, Volterra, San Gimignano,... It was the perfect holiday for us and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Elise and Koen
thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again here for a new amazing holiday.
Poggiarello team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

An absolutly amazing stay! This place is stunning with incredible views of the tuscan countryside. Nino,Roberto and the rest of the staff were very welcoming and really made you feel at home. The restaurant served great food with a nice inexpensive wine selection. The breakfast was equally good. The road to get there is part of the charm,long and winding,going thru vineyards and olive trees...bring a GPS! The rooms are big and very comfortable,although we found the beds a little on the hard side. Definatly take time and enjoy a few nice meals at the villa,but you've got to check out the old fortified town,they have a few great inexpensive restaurants about 10 minutes away. We look forward to returning. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest, many many thanks for your kind review,
we hope to see you and your family asap.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is located in a wonderful location. Despite a long aand twisting driveway to the property, you are rewarded with a inspirational location.
The rooms are basic and simple, with a small kitchenette. Not enough drawer/ storage space really for 4 people. We stayed in the appartment above the restaurant. I thought we were too close for comfort to the diners. It didn't have it's own separate terrace which which was ok -because we had the use of a terrace that overlooked the valley. Lovely to sit up there on a evening and watch the sunset.

The restaurant was offered to us on arrival. 32 euros for the set meal per adult excluding drinks. 15 euros for children. We didn't eat here. We found lovely restaurants elsewhere during the day which suited us. I would imagine our bill for one night would have been 100 euros for 3 people.
We didn't get a friendly vibe off one of the staff/owners during the week. I was spoken to rudely on one occasion when shutting doors/windows to prevent the wind slamming a bedroom door. The lady shouted at me from downstairs to shut the door not the window !! He tone towards me was a shock ( the window was causing the problem!). The same lady was also rude to my wife when asking her to settle the bill. I'm afraid this attitude was disappointing. How a owner/staff member can shout at you is incomprehensible.

The appartment had no travel/ stay information. A simple sheet or folder with residence instructions would have been useful. There were no guides to the local areas for services etc. We stayed for a week, but didn't have one visit from a cleaning service. We ran out of toilet paper ( bought our own!), no change of towels and took the rubbish and recycling down to the bins ourselves each day. Not exactly luxury!

We did have a lovely week in Tuscany. I think our accommodation would have been fine for a few days. But in hindsight we should have moved on elsewhere. In essence, lovely views, but the initial friendly service was lacking somewhat by some staff members. I also think it is over priced!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Customer
Just some questions about what you wrote.
You were 3 people and you didn't buy from us not even a glass of water, how can you say our place is too expensive? If we were so expensive why every night, (in the same period of your) we had 30 people for dinner.
The lady who begged you to close the door or window, as it was windy that day, she spokes kindly to you, just to avoid that shatter a glass and for the respect of privacy from other guests that they had the door of their apartment next to yours.
You wrote that you had any terrace? Sorry but is not correct, infact You had the most beautiful place to admire the view (you write it) 'lovely to sit there every night and watch the sunset'.
When your wife paid the bill our lady said :" Please enter in the office, because my husband; is already there. I think doesn't seems rude. It is not a hotel, but we rent apartments and as you knew from our 1st contact, were not provided the daily cleaning.
Dear sir, if you were looking for some accomodation much more luxurious, perhaps you could have it ,at a different price and maybe in different place!
many thanks for your time and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Antico Borgo is a charming and relaxing place to stay. The self catering apartments with private terrace are very comfortable. Poggiarello is a beautiful place with panoramic views of the Tuscan hills and the large pool is perfect for staying cool. You can choose to eat dinner served at the main farmhouse. There is a set menu each day and the food is exceptional. A great selection of wines too. Paulo and Roberto the hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. A stay here is luxurious, relaxed bliss.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear customer many thanks for your kind review!
We hope to see you and your family asap
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place is beautiful, in the heart of Tuscany. The views are stunning. The atmosphere is family oriented, and the owners wait on you personally. They were very friendly and helpful. The food was divine- dinner was delicious each night. It's a bit of a curvy, dark drive to get to the place so definately stay there to dine. Breakfast was simple, but fine for us. We went with our three children and they really liked the place. There is a huge pool and a play area for kids. Dinner was also adapted for their tastes, so we all were happy!
The villa we stayed in was very nice (though not luxury) and well equipped, but I would suggest updating the bathrooms. The shower was rather small and old looking, no tub, and there wasn't anywhere to put our toiletries away. To accomodate 6 people, it is not a very good bathroom. Ideally there would be two, but if that is not possible then at least make the one bathroom more comfortable. Rooms are not serviced each day so be aware of that.
Overall I would recommend this agriturismo and found it very pleasant. Un posto ideale per le famiglie!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your wonderful review, we will take your precious advice!
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved the place very much,because the location is very nice and quiet. We had one complaine about our bathroom.it is to small for a six persons appartment( douche 70 cm by 70 cm and height of the shower was 190 cm, bathroom 90 cm by 160 cm within one lavabo and the toilet) , we heard that the other apartments had bigger bathrooms. So we were unlucky ? Also the towel chance was supposed to be in the middle of our stay,as it didnt happen we asked it by ourselves 2 days before our departure. The dinners were very nice and with a magnicifent view. The breakfast was good but sober, but we think thats normal for italian. We had a very nice holiday and visit a lot of toscanie. It is a very nice place to relax and enjoy nature and nice views

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom in the appartements of 6 persons!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for the wonderful review.
I want to specify only a few inaccuracies that you have reported.
The bathroom as authorized by the municipality is required by law. Given that your wife was having problems, you could specify to the tour operator from whom you made ​​the reservation, and we would have taken steps to allocate a specific apartment for the disabled.
In addition, as per the contract with your tour operator linen change is expected to once a week, and we have done so, without your request!
As for the breakfast, sober, as you define it, and normal for Italians, it includes: 2 kinds of ham, salami, capicola, cheese, selection of jams and honey, butter, home-made cake (different every day) , corn flakes, muesli, selection, red orange juice, hot bread, coffee, cappuccino, chocolate, milk, different flavors of yogurt, all at will.
We do this in Italy, as well as all our other customers, we call it a good breakfast, maybe we were unlucky in your description?
Thank you for choosing our company and we hope to see you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Borgo Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Poggiarello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Borgo Poggiarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.