We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Tuscan Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Save Saved
You added Antico Borgo Poggiarello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Tuscan Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Antico Borgo is a charming and relaxing place to stay. The self catering apartments with private terrace are very comfortable. Poggiarello is a beautiful place with panoramic views of the Tuscan hills and the large pool is perfect for staying cool. You can choose to eat dinner served at the main farmhouse. There is a set menu each day and the food is exceptional. A great selection of wines too. Paulo and Roberto the hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. A stay here is luxurious, relaxed bliss.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear customer many thanks for your kind review!
We hope to see you and your family asap
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    32
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place is beautiful, in the heart of Tuscany. The views are stunning. The atmosphere is family oriented, and the owners wait on you personally. They were very friendly and helpful. The food was divine- dinner was delicious each night. It's a bit of a curvy, dark drive to get to the place so definately stay there to dine. Breakfast was simple, but fine for us. We went with our three children and they really liked the place. There is a huge pool and a play area for kids. Dinner was also adapted for their tastes, so we all were happy!
The villa we stayed in was very nice (though not luxury) and well equipped, but I would suggest updating the bathrooms. The shower was rather small and old looking, no tub, and there wasn't anywhere to put our toiletries away. To accomodate 6 people, it is not a very good bathroom. Ideally there would be two, but if that is not possible then at least make the one bathroom more comfortable. Rooms are not serviced each day so be aware of that.
Overall I would recommend this agriturismo and found it very pleasant. Un posto ideale per le famiglie!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your wonderful review, we will take your precious advice!
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved the place very much,because the location is very nice and quiet. We had one complaine about our bathroom.it is to small for a six persons appartment( douche 70 cm by 70 cm and height of the shower was 190 cm, bathroom 90 cm by 160 cm within one lavabo and the toilet) , we heard that the other apartments had bigger bathrooms. So we were unlucky ? Also the towel chance was supposed to be in the middle of our stay,as it didnt happen we asked it by ourselves 2 days before our departure. The dinners were very nice and with a magnicifent view. The breakfast was good but sober, but we think thats normal for italian. We had a very nice holiday and visit a lot of toscanie. It is a very nice place to relax and enjoy nature and nice views

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom in the appartements of 6 persons!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for the wonderful review.
I want to specify only a few inaccuracies that you have reported.
The bathroom as authorized by the municipality is required by law. Given that your wife was having problems, you could specify to the tour operator from whom you made ​​the reservation, and we would have taken steps to allocate a specific apartment for the disabled.
In addition, as per the contract with your tour operator linen change is expected to once a week, and we have done so, without your request!
As for the breakfast, sober, as you define it, and normal for Italians, it includes: 2 kinds of ham, salami, capicola, cheese, selection of jams and honey, butter, home-made cake (different every day) , corn flakes, muesli, selection, red orange juice, hot bread, coffee, cappuccino, chocolate, milk, different flavors of yogurt, all at will.
We do this in Italy, as well as all our other customers, we call it a good breakfast, maybe we were unlucky in your description?
Thank you for choosing our company and we hope to see you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I came to Italy with some friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversaries, and hands down, our stay at the Antico Borgo Poggiarello was the highlight of our trip. From the warm welcome, to the great dinners, excellent accomodations, and the family feel that Nino and Roberto provided - it was absolutely perfect. We booked this stay based solely on pictures from their website and reviews on Trip Advisor and Agriturismo, and our expectations were greatly exceeded! As we made the drive up through the woods along their narrow road, there was great anticipation ... but once we saw the Poggiarello and met Nino and Roberto, any concerns we might have had were instantly melted away. We highly recommend the Poggiarello!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Torre - and it has a breathtaking view of the valley and San Gimignano from its pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Many thanks for choosing us and thanks for the wonderful review.
The time spent together was precious also for us!
Come back soon and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is renovated old village placed among forests growing on the hill. There is great panoramical view of neiberhood up to 20 km. The owner will give you at the begenning quick tour with historical background of that place which builds up great atmosphere. The have resteurant with good food, pool and some pool with hot water. Apartments are spacy and clean. I will come back here if i will be next time in Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.
Come back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friends and I spent 2 nights at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, and we wish we could have stayed longer! Nino and Roberto were very nice and welcoming!

We made the mistake of using the GPS instead of the instructions Nino gave us, and the GPS took us through small, unpaved roads which was a bit unnerving since we arrived late in the evening, so make sure to use the instructions he sends! The location is great, because its only 20-30 minutes from Siena, and basically in the middle of Tuscany so its a good base for exploring the region. Since its a bit outside Siena, it means you are right in the middle of the hills, so the view is INCREDIBLE!

We booked the house for 6-8 which had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a pull out couch in the living room. The pictures on the website are accurate! It was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The kitchen was also well equipped. Since we went in winter it was cold, but the house was nice and warm. The hot water though seems to be a bit limited, after a few people had showered the water wasn't that hot anymore. We had dinner there one night, and for 35 eur we were full and satisfied! The risotto was delicious!

The place accepts credit cards, which was helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto g, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear customer,
thanks for your kind review, your satisfaction is the best recognition for the work We do with big passion day by day. We hope to have You and your friends as soon as possible to delight you with our goodies! best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was one of the highlights of our trip! The location was absolutely stunning! It was nice to stay outside of a city where it was quiet at night but the location is close to may small cities and easy driving distance from Siena so it was convenient for day trips. The apartment was clean and comfortable and the grounds were well kept, and they have a beautiful Roman Bath and pool to relax in. The family who owns the apartments are very nice and welcoming and helpful. They offer home cooked food every evening and it was delicious! We would definitely go back there again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Borgo Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Poggiarello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Borgo Poggiarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.