We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Borgo Poggiarello to your Saves list
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rijswijk
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our second stay at Poggiarello, and what a stay it was. Wonderful admosphere and great hospitality by Roberto and family. Good swinging pool, opportunity to have a authentic dinner, prepared by a enthousiastic cook, with a passion for his proffesion. The best view ever on Tuscan landscape with view on a San Gimignano on the horizon.
Accomodation what you can expect, good bed, good shower and own cooking facilities.
From Poggiarello the Tuscan towns San Gimignano, Siena and even Florence are nearby and, ofcourse, well worth a dayvisit. Also a ride through the Chianti wine area and a visit to Castellina is wonderful experiance. Sure to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    37
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

First impression - a gypsy camp full of hobos. Awful, just terrible, the place has no A/C but the owner says in a flippant and condescending way, "oh, well, in the night time just open the windows because we are in the mountains and it cools down." OK but what about in the afternoon if you want to relax in your room? No chance, because it's 100 degrees in the room and outside in the summer. Pool area is full of derelicts trying to escape the heat. Dinner options extremely limited and served in an unappealing environment. Breakfast area totally unacceptable. Owner creepy. Rooms stark and no imagination or effort to be attractive. A long and rugged road from the main road to the property. Do yourself a favor and spend a few extra Euros and stay in a nice place, and not this far-flung hobo camp.

Room Tip: There is no best room! Run like hell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poggia, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your review, we point out that despite all that you wrote, you were in my farm only 15 minutes, so you have not had the opportunity to test the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Roberto and his wife were wonderful hosts at this marvelous B and B. Our accommodation was excellent and wished we could have stayed longer. A perfect location for taking in all of the sights in the Tuscany area. Meals at the B and B were outstanding. Both Roberto and his wife produced some of the best suppers and the Tiramasu is to die for. If you ever stay there ask for Roberto's pasta dish made with pumpkin - it is soooo good. The chicken he prepared that night was also fabulous.
I would highly recommend staying here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Had a wonderful stay- 3 nights in late Autumn, walking and driving around the many local hill towns and villages.
The hotel is beautifully located on the brow of a hill, really remote and far away from any passing traffic or noise. The old farm stead is restored as charming suites. We had a double room with a good bathroom and an equipped kitchen/dining room. The views from our room and terrace were spectacular. We were there in late October so could not enjoy the beautiful terraces of which there were many.
The owners were charming, helpful and very thoughtful, providing us with maps and suggestions of places to go.
The food was a set dinner of 4 courses- all home made with local fresh ingredients. The family all contributed to the making of the food and happily shared their culinary secrets with their guests. They ate with us too, which is always encouraging.
The dining room was charming- a converted barn with many original features kept to entertain their guest with- a long trough filled with hay.
Wine was all good and well served with helpful guidance and recommendations.
Well done to our host family for caring so much about their business.
The other guests were good company too, all happy to exchange stories of the days adventures. In all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masai Mara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I think a lot must have changed since many of the other reviews have been written, because our stay at Poggiarello was wonderful. I was traveling with my fiance and my parents, and as my parents had booked the trip, I knew nothing about the place before we arrived. The drive in was a tad complicated (and the directions were somewhat lacking), but the road has recently been paved so it was very smooth the entire way, not to mention gorgeous. We considered finding it just part of the Italian adventure.
The location is simply beautiful. The views over the hillside are breathtaking, especially at sunset, and the terrace area was a great place to sit and enjoy a few drinks while soaking in the view. I should mention that there was only one other group (no kids) staying there the night we stayed, so it was VERY quiet and peaceful. The apartment (2 BR) was great with views from both BRs over the valley, although one of the BRs was a little cramped for a double bed.
After spending all day in the car and taking several tries to find Poggiarello, we opted to eat in the restaurant rather than try to navigate back to town for dinner and try to return home in the dark. We were SO glad we did—it was perhaps the best meal we had in Italy. Four courses: an antipasto, some divine risotto, a very generous helping of lamb, followed by a delicious dessert. Eaten with a bottle of the local chianti which we found to be excellent (although we're hardly wine connoisseurs), and the service and ambience were both great. Certainly one of the most enjoyable meal experiences of our trip.
The staff was warm, welcoming, and helpful. We met every member of the family upon our arrival! They were all so nice, including Cito, the dog.
My fiance and I did opt to rent the Roman bath for an hour, which was everything we had hoped it would be—relaxing, fun, and different. It's not as hot as a hot tub so we sat in it for about 45 minutes before we started to feel a little woozy. However, I really think that it should be included in the room charge—20 Euros for an hour was way too much. The outdoor pool (free) was one of the prettiest I've seen, although we didn't end up using it.
We all had a fantastic time—a great respite from the chaos and business that was our time in Rome and Florence—and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010 via mobile

Bad value for money
place is quiet, too quiet, far from rest of the world - first real village is at least 10km. Food is not bad, but relatively expensive, no a la carte menu. Rooms are old furnished, beds are hard. Swimming pool is ok, but beds and surroundings are poor with no ambiance. €120/night is far too much. You even have to pay an extra €9/person for a poor breakfast. There are a lot Agriturismos in Tuscany with better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poggia, Owner at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Dear Mrs or Mr BriBraopreis,
Thank you for your review.
Just some point that we want to make clear.
Our dinner has composed by 5 courses (each one different day by day) and the price is 29 Euro p.p.,
The apartments are furnished in OLD TUSCANY STYLE and the beds are anatomic the surroundigs
are in national walnut wood.
Our breakfast:
Orange juice, cake hand made,toasted bred,corn flakes,muesli,marmoledes mix,honey,butter,nutella,milk,fresh fruit,cheese,salami,Parma ham.
Espresso,American coffee,tea,Caffellatte,Cappuccino,hot chocolate served as much as one likes.
Regards
Nino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Poggiarello is a great place for those who want to be a little off the beaten track, but not too far from amenities or places of interest..Here you can have your cake and eat it. It's set amongst extensive woods on a hillside with expansive views. From the upper part of the site.Paulo will likely point out the hill towns of Volterra snd San Giminiano which perch on the skyline, as he takes you on the tour on your arrival,He and his brother Roberto run the place with a casual charm and efficiency.They may not volunteer to join you if you elect to go for a days tramping in the greenwoods,but they are very likely to loan you a map ,so that you find your way back .
If you want to talk wine ,Paulo's your man."wine is my passion !" He stands firmly in the traditionalist camp, when it comes to winemaking, and I wasn't going to argue ,especially not as we were in his wine cellar and it may have resulted in magnums at twenty paces!,so if its just advice on local chianti or classy brunello or an impassioned debate ,Paulo like the boy scout will " be prepared"
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was good,four courses of tasty tuscan food. The apartment was very clean ,huge bathroom,a kitchen which did us well enough as we cooked on 3 evenings, a grand patio, a fine pool ,plenty big enough ,even for the early morning lap swimmer,------just a little more bracing then.
All in all the antico borgo is well worth a try ,and we happily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Borgo Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Poggiarello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Borgo Poggiarello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.